OCZ or Chieftec - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 10-08-2006, 02:25 PM - Thread Starter
Audiophile
 
gvlada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nis, Serbia
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have to choose between OCZ PowerStream 520w (with green fan) and Chieftec GPS550 550w AB-A, what is your opinion? Both are some 75eur here.
Chieftec: max out - 550w; +5V - 26A; +3.3V - 28A; +12V1 - 18A; +12V2 - 18A; +12V3 - 18A; -12V - 0.5A; +5Vsb - 2A; PFC - Active; 1x12cm fan
OCZ: max out - 520w (620w for 60sec); +5V - 40A; +3.3V - 28A; +12V - 33A; -12V - 0.5A; -5V - 0.5A; +5Vsb - 2A; PFC - Active; 2x8cm fan
OCZ have only one 12V reil but have adjustable volts, what now? Which one and why? Please explain to me, thanks.

gvlada is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 10-08-2006, 02:44 PM
Old School
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 14,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1522
For $98 u can get a Thermaltake 600w with 4 +12v lines, 48A. That's what I'm probably going for.
Acoma_Andy is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 10-08-2006, 02:45 PM
Back From The Dead
 
Namrac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 10,796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 701
Send a message via MSN to Namrac
Thermaltake does not make good power supplies. Not bad, just... not good. I would go with the OCZ, the PowerStreams are proven performers.

20110813 - RIP

Take me out into the black, tell them I ain't coming back.
Burn the land and boil the sea, you can't take the sky from me.
Namrac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 10-08-2006, 02:46 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Earth
Posts: 7,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 715
Get the OCZ GameXStream, its much better then any Chieftec or Thermaltake PSU.

JacKz5o is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 10-08-2006, 03:38 PM
Old School
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 14,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1522
How come the Thermaltake has a 85% efficiency rate then?
Acoma_Andy is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 10-08-2006, 07:03 PM
4.0ghz
 
Nasgul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 6,776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 670
OCZ PowerStream 520W, single 33A +12V rail.........can't beat that for its price.

Nasgul is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 10-09-2006, 02:03 AM - Thread Starter
Audiophile
 
gvlada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nis, Serbia
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
What I wana ask is that OCZ has only one 12V reil 33A, is that good enough or better to go with Chieftec with 3x12V reils 18A. OCZ has volt modulation...

gvlada is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 10-09-2006, 08:26 AM
They've Killed Fritz!!!
 
Mr Pink57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: a van down by the river
Posts: 4,041
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Send a message via MSN to Mr Pink57
The OCZ is proven a better PSU then a Chieftec PSU (they should just stick to cases). Are you only planning on powering the GPU in your rig now? The OCZ should be enough also Active PFC will lower that electrical bill on the rig as it auto adjust the volts depending on what you are using.

EDIT: I thought Active PFC was a requirment overseas?

pink

Vicki Vale: You're insane!
Joker: I thought I was a Pisces!
Mr Pink57 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 10-09-2006, 03:54 PM - Thread Starter
Audiophile
 
gvlada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nis, Serbia
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Here is what happens, we do have passive pfc psu, like better models are active, you know what I mean, now I bought Chieftec, cause non OCZ remain in shops, wont be here for couple of weeks and my only choise was GPS 550w. It looks good, I can't even hear it and it is cold on touch, realy. I only hope it is good choise and it is made by Delta.

gvlada is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off