What PSU do I really need? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 12-12-2005, 08:59 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
ok. i plan on getting an A64 mobo with an athlon64 3000 with PCI-E and a 6800 vanilla with my other current hardware

would a 350w PS be sufficient or be safe and go for 400w?

i am looking at antec psu's
Chillaxed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 12-12-2005, 09:00 AM
333mhz
 
newcoreclocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
To be on the safe side and if you are overclocking i would stay over 400w.
newcoreclocker is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 12-12-2005, 09:05 AM
Ste
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 437
The 350W would probably cut it, but if you're overclocking (as I'm sure you will be) then I'd be safe and get the 400W model.

Ste is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 12-12-2005, 09:12 AM
2.4ghz
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ft.lauderdale, FL
Posts: 409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hp_Pavilion
ok. i plan on getting an A64 mobo with an athlon64 3000 with PCI-E and a 6800 vanilla with my other current hardware

would a 350w PS be sufficient or be safe and go for 400w?

i am looking at antec psu's
My vote is for 400W.

2.85 ghz @ 1.6v on Air biggrin.gif
"Inspiration is best defined as a memory never expirenced."
"If pacman had affected us as kids we 'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetetive electronic music."Nintendo made this statement in 1989 to defend the fact that computer games do not affect kids.

How do I see which programs on my computer are trying to connect to the internet? F.A.Q

hadesx82 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 12-12-2005, 09:21 AM
4.0ghz
 
dex100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 129
what's your budget? and the 350w one that came with your hp would be a no go! the 6800 pull a fair bit of power and that thing that came with the hp also probably has really low Amps!
dex100 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 12-12-2005, 09:27 AM
Going Broke Overclocking
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Burbs of Detroit
Posts: 45,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1182
Check out the link... very well reviewed and popular PS.
It has great features even if you don't need an SLI certed PS.
http://www.xoxide.com/sunbeam-nuuo-550w-psu-silver.html

OH, regardless of what you buy...
Check out the specs on the 12v+ rail(s) whether single or multiple the total should be 24a or more for a good stable unit. Don't depend on the misleading "watt" rating alone.

Please DO NOT Cite the TOS, simply REPORT and DO NOT REPLY or quote it.
"Life is Learning, Learning is Sharing, Sharing is Life"
"Overclocking is like a drug addiction, the difference is we go broke improving our brain cells instead of destroying them!"
Where in the world to buy on-line
Dual or Multi Partition and Why
Everyone, GET Folding, it is important no matter how much you contribute smile.gif
Phenom II should be called Ph II, not a P II because it isn't an old Intel teaching.gif

2 Million+ Folding at Home points 

The Duke is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 12-12-2005, 10:15 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Duke
Check out the link... very well reviewed and popular PS.
It has great features even if you don't need an SLI certed PS.
http://www.xoxide.com/sunbeam-nuuo-550w-psu-silver.html

OH, regardless of what you buy...
Check out the specs on the 12v+ rail(s) whether single or multiple the total should be 24a or more for a good stable unit. Don't depend on the misleading "watt" rating alone.
yeah i already know about not paying attention to amps, but usually higher wattages have higher amps...i'll check up on the psu i'm looking at on the +12v rail
Chillaxed is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 12-12-2005, 10:27 AM
Retired Staff
 
ncsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 657
It will also come down to the MB to be used.... if a DFI nF4 then 480W min with 26A on the +12v rails AND a native 24-pin main connector. The PSU is one of the last items that gets chnaged out but is often overlooked at the begining and over a period of time will be expected to deliver with all the add-ons.

I would suggest setting a resonable budget and then getting the best one you can within that budget while tying to stay above MB min requirements.

A good example of a PSU loading is here ... you can see how quickly things can add up.

FOr example PSUs look in the DFI nF4 or Asus A8N FAQ - links in my sig

ncsa is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 12-12-2005, 10:38 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
its going to be a micro atx with a nforce 410 chipset (or maybe 430) with one pci-e slot and 3 other ones...
Chillaxed is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off