Psu looks like its gonna arrive late - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 12-14-2005, 02:32 PM - Thread Starter
3.5ghz
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Well I have already got my 7800gt and new board but I need to wait until christmas day to use it. The only problem is that my new fortron psu hasn't been shipped yet and I called them and they weren't sure when it would. So I was wondering if my 350 would even be able to boot up with the gt in it. Just to suffice until I get my fortron.

Come on Louis I've got lives to save.

sheidow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 12-14-2005, 02:42 PM
Never Fast Enough!
 
OC Newbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Well there's no other way to find out other than to try it. Give it a shot, if stability is an issue then it's a power problem. You shouldn't overclock till you get the new PSU though.

If you have questions about Overclock.net, first read the ToS!
I'm not really a newbie btw. Retired from overclocking and this time I mean it! wink.gif
OC Newbie is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 12-14-2005, 02:48 PM
4.0ghz
 
tuchan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 3,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheidow
Well I have already got my 7800gt and new board but I need to wait until christmas day to use it. The only problem is that my new fortron psu hasn't been shipped yet and I called them and they weren't sure when it would. So I was wondering if my 350 would even be able to boot up with the gt in it. Just to suffice until I get my fortron.
my brother has his 7800gt system running off an ordinary 300 watt psu and seems to be able to even oc well, i spose he just got lucky, he didnt even realise that he didnt put his good psu in when he changed cases about 4 months ago!!! on the other hand my rig wont even boot with a 300 w psu. as mentioneed just give it a crack and fingers crossed!!!

tuchan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 12-14-2005, 02:51 PM
4.9ghz
 
SoaDMTGguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 4,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 312
I would think it should run since you arent loading a lot of other stuff in there. If you look at Dell's they will offten have 250w supplys in them, and they are very reliable.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulTa go_quote.gif
I'm like Obi wan. I just pop in and out, offer vague comments and advice, and then tell you to use the force.
SoaDMTGguy is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 12-14-2005, 03:09 PM - Thread Starter
3.5ghz
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Ya Im just praying that it works because if I get it all installed and it won't boot christmas isn't gonna be very fun. WHen I called them today the damn guy could barely speak english and understand me. God that makes me mad why can't they not be cheap and not higher foriegners for those kind of jobs. Not saying anything bad about foriengers or anything but it would probably make better customer service if you could understand them.
Wow im screwed it 20 pin my mobo is 24 unless it has an adapter or something and it has no pci-e connector I don't think.

Come on Louis I've got lives to save.

sheidow is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 12-15-2005, 04:56 AM - Thread Starter
3.5ghz
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Could anyone reccomened me a new psu because I need it to be here for christmas day. Im ordering off ncix canada and need to make a decision.

Come on Louis I've got lives to save.

sheidow is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off