since when did dell start using good psu's? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 06-08-2010, 05:27 PM - Thread Starter
Networking Nut
 
redhat_ownage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 241
my aunts comp died, i check it out the psu is gone, i swap in a known good 200w psu and it dies in 20 minutes REALLY??
i check the label on the original, 350watt dual 18amp 12v rails!!!
WHAT IS THIS??
i pop in a 350watt Ultra with dual rails and it works fine now
i gotta go to frys and pick up a new psu for it now
what should i get?
do you really think it needs a 350 watt?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoko Littner go_quote.gif
i have Elpida Hyper IMC's laying around
Quote:
Originally Posted by JE Nightmare go_quote.gif
redhat wins.
redhat_ownage is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 06-08-2010, 05:32 PM
Windows Wrangler
 
Fooxz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: BD, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 128
more info on the hardware might help


3 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Fooxz is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 06-08-2010, 05:34 PM
Spartan 117
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 14,315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 929
350w is pretty much a standard for crummy computer built in the past 10 years.
The Master Chief is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 19 Old 06-08-2010, 05:35 PM
PSU Buff
 
Phaedrus2129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chino Hills, CA
Posts: 16,520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1730
Dell uses everything under the sun. Delta, Lite-On, HEC, Hipro, Bestec, they've even used a few PC Power & Cooling (SeaSonic) units. They vary widely in quality, but are rarely what I'd call "terrible". They don't use generics or anything. The worst they use are a few low-end HEC units, but while HEC are terrible they actually have a low failure rate; they just have ****ty ripple suppression and can rarely do their rated wattage. Their QC is fairly decent.



So... Insufficient information?

Burning books is like burning bras; after the adrenaline rush of the symbolic moment wears off all you're left with is a pile of ashes and unsupported boobs.
Phaedrus2129 is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 06-08-2010, 05:38 PM - Thread Starter
Networking Nut
 
redhat_ownage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 241
service tag b9pyp61
some intel 775 cpu it might be a dual core im not sure
a hard drive and 2 disk drives

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoko Littner go_quote.gif
i have Elpida Hyper IMC's laying around
Quote:
Originally Posted by JE Nightmare go_quote.gif
redhat wins.
redhat_ownage is offline  
post #6 of 19 Old 06-08-2010, 07:26 PM
AMD Enthusiast
 
Behemoth777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 8,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by redhat_ownage View Post
service tag b9pyp61
some intel 775 cpu it might be a dual core im not sure
a hard drive and 2 disk drives
I'm not sure why it won't work with that 200w. If it needs more than that, I would say only by a small amount. Maybe an extra 50w?


Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant  1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Behemoth777 is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 06-08-2010, 07:28 PM
3.5ghz
 
aCe_eXtreME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: $0meplACE some$pACE
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Master Chief View Post
350w is pretty much a standard for crummy computer built in the past 10 years.
lol this is true,

should stick a 375-425watt decent brand, you can get one for like 20-30$ that is just fine

aCe_eXtreME is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 06-08-2010, 07:30 PM
AMD Enthusiast
 
Behemoth777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 8,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by aCe_eXtreME View Post
lol this is true,

should stick a 375-425watt decent brand, you can get one for like 20-30$ that is just fine
Tell me where you can get a decent brand psu for 20 bucks? I would have to call you a liar there. Good psu's start at 40-50 bucks, like the seasonic s12II's


Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant  1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Behemoth777 is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 06-08-2010, 07:31 PM
4.0ghz
 
wumpus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 4,913
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Behemoth777 View Post
I'm not sure why it won't work with that 200w. If it needs more than that, I would say only by a small amount. Maybe an extra 50w?
thats what Im thinking...

that 200W must have been BAD to go out in 20 mins...

I like overclocking more than actually playing video games.
i7 930 5.3GHz!!!!!---->proof.gifQ6600 4.7GHz!!!!!---->proof.gif
E8500 5.8GHz!!!!!---->proof.gif
Core i5 660 ES 5.9GHz!!!!!---->proof.gif

Chimp Challenge Participant 

wumpus is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 06-08-2010, 07:32 PM
3.5ghz
 
aCe_eXtreME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: $0meplACE some$pACE
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Behemoth777 View Post
Tell me where .... I would have to call you a liar there. ....s
for a crap dell , foo....

i just got combo deal today for a 15$ 750 watt decent p/s with a case. saved 95$
i have seen a couple nice basic desktop power supply for 20-30$ on special this week

aCe_eXtreME is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off