Does my power supply look weak - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 03-01-2006, 08:09 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
PGT96AJT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Using speed fan I was able to get the graph of the 12V rail during the test. The voltage seemed to drop real low and be all over the place (and I wan't overclocking). Its an aspire concord 420W with at least 30A on the 12 v rail (I can't remember exactly)


8 Million+ Folding at Home points 

PGT96AJT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 03-01-2006, 09:12 AM
Retired Staff
 
ncsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 657
Look in BIOS and se what that reports but the best way is to check using a multimeter ... do this when the system is Posting, OS Idel and OS Load.

If it drops alot then the PSU needs to be changed out.

11.4v is low and on the lower limit of the ATX12V design spec. Aspire PSUs are not known to be true to their rating --- unlikely to deliver 30A on the 12V rail.

ncsa is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 03-01-2006, 09:14 AM
PC Gamer
 
Renegade5399's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: North Rose, NY
Posts: 2,045
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 224
It looks as weak as the one I am running in one of my folding rigs. All other voltages are ok, but the 3.3 is 3.1 and the 12 is ~11.5. I am stable, but I fear it is limiting the OC. 11.4 is kinda low though.

My Sauce Is Much 13373|2 Than Yours
I am made of Win.
Renegade5399 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 Old 03-01-2006, 12:10 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
PGT96AJT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 79
well at idle speedfan is saying around 11.6 volts...but they bios says 11.4. so that means my load voltages my even be lower then 11.4 volts. i guess having 4 hard drives, 2 optical drives and a 6800gs finally took its toll on it.

i think i'll replace it with this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103459

8 Million+ Folding at Home points 

PGT96AJT is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 03-01-2006, 12:35 PM
PC Gamer
 
Renegade5399's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: North Rose, NY
Posts: 2,045
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 224
Why not go with this for just a few dollars more? It more powerful, SLi approved, and best of all, modular!

EDIT: Just noticed it's out of stock. Try this.

My Sauce Is Much 13373|2 Than Yours
I am made of Win.
Renegade5399 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 03-01-2006, 12:44 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
PGT96AJT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 79
those look like possibilities but I dont plan on running SLI anytime in the near future.

i noticed you have a rosewill psu in your profile. are the voltages stable on them because they seem to be good deals.

8 Million+ Folding at Home points 

PGT96AJT is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 03-01-2006, 12:58 PM
PC Gamer
 
Renegade5399's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: North Rose, NY
Posts: 2,045
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 224
They are an excellent buy if you're not going to be running SLi! I purchased this PSU due to it's price and power ratings. Let me say I could not be happier. I have all the equip you see in my specs plus 2x 10,000 RPM 36GB SCSI Barracudas, and 2 optical drives. Lump that in with all my case fans and me being OC'ed and you can see it's a good supply. It's heavy too, not some flimsy little POS.

And finally, here's some


My Sauce Is Much 13373|2 Than Yours
I am made of Win.
Renegade5399 is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 03-01-2006, 01:12 PM
4.0ghz
 
NOS---'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Never trust Software.

Pull out a volt metter and check the voltages yourself, the yellow is +12v and the Blacks are grounds.

NOS--- is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 03-01-2006, 01:52 PM
PC Gamer
 
Renegade5399's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: North Rose, NY
Posts: 2,045
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 224
NOS - The voltages you see there are almost the same as in my BIOS. Using a voltmeter and checking the voltages in the BIOS are almost the same. Not to mention, I'm not about to open my case to check voltages on a supply that has been 100% stable for me for like 8 months now. If I had just got this PSU, I would agree, but there's no need when the track record backs up the readings.

My Sauce Is Much 13373|2 Than Yours
I am made of Win.
Renegade5399 is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 03-01-2006, 02:45 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
PGT96AJT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 79
are rosewills loud? some of the reviews on newegg people complain about them being loud

8 Million+ Folding at Home points 

PGT96AJT is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off