General Questions, Perc 6/i - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 02-24-2011, 09:12 AM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi, I have a few questions as I'm new to RAID.

I'm currently looking at buying a machine with a PERC 6/i SAS internal RAID adapterfor Hot Plug Configuration from Dell.

1. How good is this controller? This page has specs on it. It has 256MB cache and write back cache with BBU.

2. I'm looking to configure this setup: RAID 0 for single OS drive, RAID 1 for for my data drive (2x500GB). 3 SATA 7.2k rpm drives in the machine. Is this setup possible?

3. Migration questions: I already have my system installed in a machine now and therefore need to migrate it to the new setup. I suspect moving the current operating system drive and putting it into RAID 0 won't be possible without a reinstall, but what about my 500GB data drive for RAID 1? Will I be able to just put it in, throw another 500GB disk in there and then have it "build" the array or do I need to completely start over?

4. Let's say something happens and I need to pop out the 500GB drive or the drive in raid 0 and read them via an enclosure. Possible? I've read you can break a RAID 1 and plug the drive in and view all the data as normal. Then plug it back in and rebuild the array.

That's all I can think of for now.

Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 02-24-2011, 09:49 AM
Windows Wrangler

Liked: 185
Quote:
1. How good is this controller? This page has specs on it. It has 256MB cache and write back cache with BBU.

The Perc 6/i which im using is excellent for all my needs. Very stable and good.
Quote:
2. I'm looking to configure this setup: RAID 0 for single OS drive, RAID 1 for for my data drive (2x500GB). 3 SATA 7.2k rpm drives in the machine. Is this setup possible?

You need 2+ drives for RAID 0. The rest will work, provided you have the required cables.
Quote: