DIY Router and NAS as 1? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 27 Old 03-28-2017, 09:22 AM - Thread Starter
 
madbrayniak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey all,

Looking into the option to build my own Router but I also need to get an NAS for all my media.

Is it possible to have a Router/NAS as a single PC? Wanting to setup RAID 6 for my media on the router so that I can have all my music and movies accessible without having to fuss with discs.

This is a new territory for me so any input would be appreciated.

Best Regards,
Bryan
madbrayniak is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 27 Old 03-28-2017, 09:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
axipher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sudbury, ON, Canada
Posts: 13,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 268

You could use something like FreeNAS or UnRaid to act as the base file host and virtualization server then run a VM with some custom Router Operating system like PfSense inside of that.




Spoiler!

5 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant  Foldathon Folder - 2012 Participant  BOINC Pentathlon Participant   Foldathon Participant 2015  Forum Folding War 2017 

axipher is offline  
post #3 of 27 Old 03-28-2017, 10:03 AM
I crush hopes and dreams.
 
JedixJarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 8,964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 303

If you are solid with linux you could just use any plain jane distro as a router, you won't have the pretty interface like pfsense, then you can manage your raid through the bios, and just run KVM for virtualization. I just don't run my router in a VM in case something like a kernel panic pops or my unraid box goes down etc.


Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant  30 Million+ Folding at Home points  Foldathon Folder - 2013 Participant 

JedixJarf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 27 Old 03-28-2017, 12:26 PM - Thread Starter
 
madbrayniak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
pfsense is what I was looking at.

I am no expert on Linux but I have toyed around with it a bit.

Not sure what you mean by "run a VM" unless you are referring to a Virtual Machine.

Not looking to make something high powered obviously but want to make sure everything runs pretty smooth. Any CPU you guys would recommend? I don't think a quad core is really necessary is it? Intel G3930 is only $50 and that might even be a little overkill.

was thinking I could have a cheap SSD for OS and cache and then some large capacity HDDs for movies.

Best Regards,
Bryan
madbrayniak is offline  
post #5 of 27 Old 03-29-2017, 07:57 AM
Overclocker
 
silvrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Not sure about the RAID setup but what you want is very possible with ESXi.

PFsense in one virtual machine, ubuntu server on another with a SMB or NFS file share setup.

I run a sever for my home automation and wanted to run PFsense so It made sense to have them on one box. I run my with a i5 3570 but it is barely getting utilized. Pick up a intel 4 port gigabit NIC off ebay for ~30 bucks and you will be ready to roll.


Foldathon Folder - 2012 Participant  Chimp Challenge Participant  15 Million+ Folding at Home points 

silvrr is offline  
post #6 of 27 Old 03-30-2017, 12:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
spinFX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 2,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Look at something like this maybe https://www.kogan.com/au/buy/mikrotik-routerboard-rb493-mikrotik/?utm_source=google&utm_medium=product_listing_ads&gclid=CPXskKjT_dICFQcGKgodWpgK0g
there are a few dev boards that are designed for DIY routers and some have enough sata ports on them to double as a server.

Run a linux distro (ubuntu supports zfs - someone else mentioned freeNas, but would that handle the router side of things?) and setup your drive pooling and routing

"Out here, survival is the name of the game. Only it's not a game; it's deadly serious." - R. Coight
spinFX is offline  
post #7 of 27 Old 04-18-2017, 04:56 PM
4.0 GHz
 
doginpants12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
If you can get a system with 2 ethernet ports it should be not too bad to setup a PFSense VM alongside a storage VM. Then you can just have a cheap switch or a manged switch if you want more network segmentation.

doginpants12 is offline  
post #8 of 27 Old 04-19-2017, 08:08 AM - Thread Starter
 
madbrayniak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yea, going to be looking into this more the next few weeks as I just got my bonus.

Unfortunately no returns from taxes this year.

What I would like to do is take the mobo and CPU out of my current PC(AMD 955BE) and use it to make the router. Extreme overkill, I know, but it gives me an excuse to upgrade my current system.

Problem is that this system has to be in the family room and it also needs to be as silent as possible and the 955BE runs a bit warm.

Best Regards,
Bryan
madbrayniak is offline  
post #9 of 27 Old 04-19-2017, 11:08 PM
Tech Junkie
 
mothergoose729's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Posts: 5,556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Of course it is possible.

I build my own router using ubuntu server edition. All you really need is a switch, iptables, and a dns server. You can install samba on the same machine, and then bam you have yourself a NAS. For security reasons, you might separate them out into seperate VMs, but you don't have too.
mothergoose729 is offline  
post #10 of 27 Old 06-01-2017, 09:28 AM - Thread Starter
 
madbrayniak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey guys,

So the building where I rent an office space has some old computers and I asked about buying one to use for an NAS/Router and they said that they would be fine with selling me one for $75.

It has a Pentium 4 in it.

Anyone know if this is going to be good enough router and NAS or should I focus on using it only for router duties?

Best Regards,
Bryan
madbrayniak is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off