Advice on mITX office build - Page 3 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 24 Old 10-01-2013, 12:24 PM
Return of the Banned
 
ElementR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 2,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by nepToon View Post


For safety/emergency I'm using a maxdata external drive with a full mirror software, including the OS.
The software is pretty easy so she can do it np.
So in case of an emergency we could still boot up with this drive. I wouldnt do it like this, but its an explicite order :S

Why not use a NAS?


ElementR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 24 Old 10-02-2013, 05:37 AM - Thread Starter
First Time Build
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Basel, Switzerland
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Defintely an option. Do you have experience with NAS? Can u mirror a directory or do you have to change the path to the exterbal hdd?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr357 go_quote.gif

You forgot to hide all of those pics in a spoiler redface.gif
nepToon is offline  
post #23 of 24 Old 10-02-2013, 06:11 AM
Return of the Banned
 
ElementR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 2,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by nepToon View Post

Defintely an option. Do you have experience with NAS? Can u mirror a directory or do you have to change the path to the exterbal hdd?

 

Yes I set one up recently in our office, it was quite easy. You can set them up to mirror any directories you want. I set it up to backup a file as soon as it is saved or modified in any of the directories I selected. I notice no lag when this happens on an i3-3220 but we also do not edit videos, if lag is a problem it can be set up for scheduled backups. If needed the NAS has options for remote access as well.

 

You can even build a NAS on you own with Free NAS OS. I have not tried this but I have seen it mentioned on OCN before.


ElementR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 24 Old 10-02-2013, 06:31 AM
Fan Man
 
tambok2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: none
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Send a message via Yahoo to tambok2012
you can undervolt an APU with stock clock's for lower temps
tambok2012 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off