[NordicHardware.se] SAMSUNG Rapid tested - Transforms 840 Evo into a performance monster (impressive 862,60 MB/s write speed) - Page 4 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 40 Old 08-17-2013, 11:02 AM - Thread Starter
Overclocker in Training
 
Oneminde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrGroove View Post

This is a pretty cool idea by Samsung, but who really cares about write speeds on an SSD?

I do agree with you. Read speed is what matters when it comes to demanding softwares and games.

 

Quote:
In reading, the result is almost completely the opposite to what we saw when writing. Here we see that the performance is unchanged up to 64KB, then improves performance significantly.

Over 700MB/s was measured and that is promising, that is one whole 700MB CD per second. Can't really complain .. lol


Tell someone that you love them today, because life is short. But shout it at them in german, because life is also terrifying and confusing.
Oneminde is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 40 Old 08-17-2013, 11:19 AM
Programmer
 
Midgethulk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Belgium
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Midgethulk is offline  
post #33 of 40 Old 08-17-2013, 11:48 AM
Overclocker
 
lacrossewacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 11,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcfoo View Post

Impressive.
That's what HDD manufacturers should be pushing too tho, esp. if they could raise the "limit" of 1GB Samsung has.
Honestly, I wish Windows OS had this sort of feature.... take more advantage of our RAM!!!
lacrossewacker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 40 Old 08-17-2013, 11:54 AM
nVidia Enthusiast
 
Shogon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Joaquin Valley, CA
Posts: 4,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 220
That is nice the 840 Pro's will get Rapid Pro, I have enough memory to utilize that. Awesome stuff from Samsung.

٩(๏̯͡๏)۶

Will shill for Ruger products
heatware
Shogon is offline  
post #35 of 40 Old 08-17-2013, 11:56 AM
 
barcode71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I'll care about write speeds when I can purchase 1TB SSDs for ~$200
barcode71 is offline  
post #36 of 40 Old 08-17-2013, 12:21 PM
First Time Build
 
pilotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Purmerend
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
bah, what if you have 2 EVO, could you use it one 1, and leave the other operating "normal "?
pilotter is offline  
post #37 of 40 Old 08-17-2013, 12:41 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 130
You can use any amount of memory you want for caching any number of any brand of SSDs/HDDs you have with a RAM caching software like PrimoCache.

195242028651d53fdf979aa.gif

·
TELVM is offline  
post #38 of 40 Old 08-17-2013, 12:56 PM - Thread Starter
Overclocker in Training
 
Oneminde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pilotter View Post

bah, what if you have 2 EVO, could you use it one 1, and leave the other operating "normal "?

Yes. (Rapid can only manage one disk per computer)


Tell someone that you love them today, because life is short. But shout it at them in german, because life is also terrifying and confusing.
Oneminde is offline  
post #39 of 40 Old 08-17-2013, 01:13 PM
Gone
 
adridu59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 6,536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by DuckieHo View Post

...but it DOES improve random writes... by a lot.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oneminde View Post

Then I am "obligated" to ask what your advice is or what impress you, ofc, keeping it to desktop computers. 

Honestly I think a regular user doesn't really need to go over a 840 Pro-speeds level I mean it's prettx fast already. But as Duckie said if it improves the random reads that's a tangible speed bump.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TELVM View Post

You can use any amount of memory you want for caching any number of any brand of SSDs/HDDs you have with a RAM caching software like PrimoCache.

True.

OCN's Recommended: Power SuppliesAudio Products

~ Sig now ToS compliant
adridu59 is offline  
post #40 of 40 Old 08-17-2013, 01:16 PM
Overclocker
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42

I tried out Primo Cache, here's my results (The inconsistency in AS SSD worries me though). I'm using a 1024MB Level-1 Cache Size, 4K Block Size, LFU, Read/Write, and Defer-Write with a 60 second latency.

 

 


Fav OCN Quotes (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tator Tot go_quote.gif

Sounds like a dying cat stuck in a 1980's vacuum cleaner.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sabis go_quote.gif

I wonder. Would this machine be effective, if programmed with say the US law library, history, and Constitution, in calling Federal BS? What it would have to say about our government now?

 

Ecstacy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off