[MEGA/Uploaded] AMD Catalyst 14.4 - Press Driver - Page 15 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #141 of 187 Old 04-22-2014, 09:34 PM
 
Forceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10,855
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 792
Quote:
Originally Posted by VulgarDisplay View Post

I seem to have fixed this problem on my computer in control panel. My computer was in power saving mode. I set it to high performance and haven't had this issue in over 50 wakes from sleep. It used to happen every time.

I don't know why that worked, but it seemed to fix it for me as well. Or at least greatly reduce the rate of occurrence.

Forceman's Law: Any AMD/Nvidia GPU thread, no matter what the topic, will eventually include a post referencing the GTX 970.
Forceman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #142 of 187 Old 04-22-2014, 10:12 PM
 
jb0nez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forceman View Post

I don't know why that worked, but it seemed to fix it for me as well. Or at least greatly reduce the rate of occurrence.

I was already on high performance...so didn't work for me.

But I wonder if there's something in the advanced settings that changed when you guys changed modes that would affect this...
jb0nez is offline  
post #143 of 187 Old 04-22-2014, 10:15 PM
 
jb0nez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
But I've just gone back to 13.12. I've had nothing but trouble with all of the 14.4's. I'll wait for a proper driver, no more betas for me. DX11 on BF4 was just as fast as Mantle on my R9 280X anyway.
jb0nez is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #144 of 187 Old 04-22-2014, 11:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
bmgjet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by jb0nez View Post

But I've just gone back to 13.12. I've had nothing but trouble with all of the 14.4's. I'll wait for a proper driver, no more betas for me. DX11 on BF4 was just as fast as Mantle on my R9 280X anyway.


Change the frame pacing method for mantle to 1 instead of the default 2.
Setting 2 gains you 5-8fps over DX11 on 79XX cards but gets you perfectly smooth frame timing.
Setting one gains you 20-25fps over DX11 and frame timing is between DX11 and setting 2.

SLI Voodoo 2 - > GeForce4 MX 420 -> GF 6600GT -> GF 6800GT -> GF 8800Ultra -> AMD 4870 -> AMD 4890 -> CF AMD 5820 -> CF AMD 6850 -> CF AMD 7970 -> SLI GF 680 -> SLI GF 780 -> CF AMD 290X -> GF 980ti -> SLI GF 980ti -> GF 1080ti

Chimp Challenge Participant 

bmgjet is online now  
post #145 of 187 Old 04-23-2014, 01:39 AM
 
jb0nez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
That sounds intriguing how do you set it?
Edit: mantle also causes bad lag spikesv every 10-15 seconds (both noticeable in gameplay and huge spikes on the perfoverlay graph)

Regardless I won't use 4.x beta, all of them crash bf4 within 20 minutes in addition to the new 14.4 video playback bsod's and not waking from sleep.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmgjet View Post

Change the frame pacing method for mantle to 1 instead of the default 2.
Setting 2 gains you 5-8fps over DX11 on 79XX cards but gets you perfectly smooth frame timing.
Setting one gains you 20-25fps over DX11 and frame timing is between DX11 and setting 2.
jb0nez is offline  
post #146 of 187 Old 04-23-2014, 02:08 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Dargonplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmgjet View Post

Change the frame pacing method for mantle to 1 instead of the default 2.
Setting 2 gains you 5-8fps over DX11 on 79XX cards but gets you perfectly smooth frame timing.
Setting one gains you 20-25fps over DX11 and frame timing is between DX11 and setting 2.

How can we manually change Mantle Frame Pacing?
Quote:
Originally Posted by ladcrooks View Post

Is mantle beginning to show more of its benefits and so worth considering what card you buy Amd or Nvidia ?

For me, it matters so much that I will consider to buy every single game with mantle and think twice before buying one that doesn't support it.

I got a FX 8350 OCed to 4.3GHz and despite everyone saying Mantle doesn't gran you more performance if you got a decent processor, in Battlefield 4 my R9 290 OCed to 1120/1500 has gained a constant 25 FPS more in average FPS, while the Minimum on DirectX 11 in Paracel's Storm was 32 FPS, with Mantle it never dropped below 53 FPS, very Huge difference on gameplay experience for me.

Although, for some reason campaign mode didn't really gained a lot from mantle, 5-8 FPS I'd say, the real gains were at 64 Players modes, even when DirectX 11 was nowhere near to Bottleneck my processor, I believe it's got much to do with the drawcalls limit.
Dargonplay is offline  
post #147 of 187 Old 04-23-2014, 02:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Blameless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 29,122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forceman View Post

I don't know why that worked, but it seemed to fix it for me as well. Or at least greatly reduce the rate of occurrence.

The GPU won't enter it's deepest sleep states in the high performance profile.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jb0nez View Post

But I've just gone back to 13.12. I've had nothing but trouble with all of the 14.4's. I'll wait for a proper driver, no more betas for me. DX11 on BF4 was just as fast as Mantle on my R9 280X anyway.

Have you tried the actual 14.4 release candidate that came out two days ago?

It's solved all of the problems I've been having with the 14.3 and 14.4 drivers, relative to the 13.12s.

...rightful liberty is unobstructed action according to our will within limits drawn around us by the equal rights of others. I do not add 'within the limits of the law,' because law is often but the tyrant's will, and always so when it violates the right of an individual. -- Thomas Jefferson
Blameless is online now  
post #148 of 187 Old 04-23-2014, 03:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
98uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Munich
Posts: 18,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 823
Quote:
Originally Posted by jb0nez View Post

That sounds intriguing how do you set it?
Edit: mantle also causes bad lag spikesv every 10-15 seconds (both noticeable in gameplay and huge spikes on the perfoverlay graph)

I had this on Win7 with 14.4 drivers. However, after I did a clean install of Windows 8.1, the stutter has gone (again with 14.4).

I don't put it down to going from 7 to 8.1, more having a fresh/clean install.

My current mantle issue is a GPU memory leak in BF4. I can monitor it in BF4 and see it constantly climb from 1.7gb usage to 2.7gb usage and then it throws a Mantle memory error. I know the GPU driver doesn't crash as only the app dies, not anything else.

Just take a poo on his lawn, that'll sort it. Then say his slutty daughter did it. - ace8uk (2017)

Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

98uk is offline  
post #149 of 187 Old 04-23-2014, 03:49 AM
 
Forceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10,855
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 792
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blameless View Post

The GPU won't enter it's deepest sleep states in the high performance profile.

Makes sense then, since it seems to be a low-power-state issue. Power use seems to be about the same both ways so looks like no real downside, for me anyway - the GPU and VRAM still downclock at idle.

Forceman's Law: Any AMD/Nvidia GPU thread, no matter what the topic, will eventually include a post referencing the GTX 970.
Forceman is offline  
post #150 of 187 Old 04-23-2014, 06:30 AM
*cough* Stock *cough*
 
zGunBLADEz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 95
think my issues are gone on the new drivers RC .

No audio or video problems so far..

zGunBLADEz is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off