[LR] LucidLogix offers Virtu GPU as a free trial - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 38 Old 03-11-2011, 01:33 PM
Retired Staff
 
Crazy9000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 22,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loodakid;12695697 
Ok, im about to sound like an idiot, but then why do we need CPUs? if GPU are muchhh better at proccessing, then why not use them instead?

GPU's are better at a specific kind of processing. CPU's are better at general purpose.

Crazy9000 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 38 Old 03-11-2011, 01:45 PM
4.0ghz
 
wcdolphin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 192.168.1.1
Posts: 2,575
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by assaulth3ro911;12695561 
So how does a GPU and CPU differ, it's rather confusing right?
GPU's can perform a very small subset of operations very rapidly, CPUs are more general purpose. More technically, the instruction sets are very different, and GPUS are better at highly parallel operations, i.e. 338 shader cores in a gpu vs 4 cores on a CPU.
In example, massive matrix operations can be done very rapidly on GPU's, as I know from Matlab smile.gif
Also, GPUS have bidirectional RAM, it can be written to and read from at the same time!
EDIT: Crazy9000 sniped it!
Klinkey likes this.


3 Million+ Folding at Home points 

wcdolphin is offline  
post #13 of 38 Old 03-11-2011, 02:16 PM
AMD Overclocker
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Area 51 Testing Facility
Posts: 3,802
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 115
CPU's are like integrated graphics vs dedicated graphics, cept without the slowness of integrated, just they are not dedicated to doing a task.

SIMPLIFIED:

A specialist is good at what he does.

I proudly oppose all legislation to destroy our freedoms and support anything to protect our privacy online and off.
Hope I've added something to the conversation!

gunner2.gifgunner.gifsniper.gif
(Click to show)Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
AMD is not better than Intel in some ways and is better in other ways. Intel is better than AMD in some ways and worse than AMD in others. --
(This was directed at me)
Quote:
Originally Posted by meticadpa go_quote.gif
Can you remember when you were PMing random people asking for computer parts because you were young? I do... This is worse.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalteezy go_quote.gif
I am new to overclock.net. I am from States United and I can has info on computers
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toonshorty go_quote.gif

What's next, tweeting the fire brigade?

@LocalFireDep My house is on fire LOL #yolo
assaulth3ro911 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 38 Old 03-11-2011, 02:29 PM
4387 point(s) total
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 65,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4426
Quote:
Originally Posted by assaulth3ro911;12695561 
So how does a GPU and CPU differ, it's rather confusing right?

GPUs are good at relatively simple tasks running in parallel.
CPUs are good at complex tasks running near serial. Even a hexcore CPU has nothing on a 512 core GPU.

i.e. Four math professors vs 500 high schoolers. The professors can solve complex problems that the high schoolers can't but the high schoolers are faster at solving lots of easier problems.

To answer most of your questions: (1) a fridge cannot cool a PC (2) 64-bit OS for over 3.4GB (3) If a PCIe card fits, it should work (4) Resolution, not screen size (5) Report, not respond to Spam (6) Single-Rail/Non-Modular PSUs are not always better than Multi-Rail/Modular (7) Sequential does not matter as much as random for OS drives (8) Requirements come before hardware for servers

DuckieHo is offline  
post #15 of 38 Old 03-11-2011, 02:32 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: BOS
Posts: 1,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 79
So basically, if I have a H67 or H55 mobo, I can use the video card to game on my monitor, and then plug the TV into the mobo and run videos using the onboard video?

And so basically, for P67, P55, and X58, this is worthless?
ebolamonkey3 is offline  
post #16 of 38 Old 03-12-2011, 08:25 PM
Commodore 64
 
PoopaScoopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by DuckieHo View Post
No... it allows users to use the IGP to do encoding even if the user has a discrete video card.
Also have to wait for Z68 chipset to use it. Unless you're using the H67, in which case you shouldn't be on OCN anyways, right?
PoopaScoopa is offline  
post #17 of 38 Old 03-12-2011, 09:02 PM
4.0ghz
 
SIMPSONATOR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: The Grid
Posts: 2,116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Folding@home, anyone?
SIMPSONATOR is offline  
post #18 of 38 Old 03-12-2011, 09:18 PM
News Fiend
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Oregon's Wild Rivers Coast
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 209

My favorite explanation of all time.


The JEEP club O||||O

The Web puts all of the world's knowledge at our fingertips; unfortunately it's mixed up with all of the world's crap.
Mjolnir is offline  
post #19 of 38 Old 03-12-2011, 09:25 PM
4.4Ghz for Netflix
 
Brutuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ballarat, Australia
Posts: 17,190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirby1 View Post
This would never work. CPUs are way way slower at graphics processing.

It took a 1000 core intel CPU to render a game without a GPU.
It depends on the FPU performance and the architecture, Cell is pretty good at graphics processing for example.

And I bet some instructions could be offloaded from the GPU onto the unused CPU cores to increase FPS at least.

This seems fairly good, I should try it on my laptop. (HD545v Dedcated, Intel HD GPU R2 integrated)


Foldathon Folder - 2011 Participant  Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant  2 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Brutuz is offline  
post #20 of 38 Old 03-12-2011, 09:37 PM
 
geoxile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Wait, so if this allows the discrete GPU to offload onto the integrated GPU then how much energy will that safe? Will it be actually worthwhile for laptops with power hungry GPUs?

geoxile is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off