Headphone volume very low, should I get a sound car? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 12-11-2012, 09:25 PM - Thread Starter
Programmer
 
SAFX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Long Island,New York
Posts: 1,149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I just picked up a pair of Sennheiser HD201's, a decent pair of headphones for the price. I plugged them into the speakers' desktop volume control. I don't have a sound card because I never really needed one, but I started playing Far Cry 3 this week and, while the headphone are ok, the volume is at 70% just get decent sound. All Windows sound controls are on max.

Should I invest in a SB or Asus 7.1 sound card and plug the head phones directly into the card to improve the volume issue, or is the problem the headphones themselves?

SAFX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 12-11-2012, 10:02 PM
Commodore 64
 
strych9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bangladesh
Posts: 1,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 91
I had the same pair of cans and I blue-tac modded it to increase the volume.

strych9 is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 12-11-2012, 10:11 PM
 
All3n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Ya the amp in your desktop speakers won't be too good.

Get a sound card or try plugging the phones straight into your computer.
All3n is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 Old 12-11-2012, 10:22 PM
 
FlighterPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
If you need that volumes, buy a headphone amp. That's kind of weird though, aren't 201's low impedance?

FlighterPilot is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 12-12-2012, 06:29 AM - Thread Starter
Programmer
 
SAFX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Long Island,New York
Posts: 1,149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlighterPilot View Post

...aren't 201's low impedance?

Would Viagra help? Jk

SAFX is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 12-12-2012, 06:31 AM - Thread Starter
Programmer
 
SAFX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Long Island,New York
Posts: 1,149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by All3n View Post

Ya the amp in your desktop speakers won't be too good.
Get a sound card or try plugging the phones straight into your computer.

Not sure why I didn't even think of that, forgot the on board sb had jacks, thx

SAFX is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 12-12-2012, 07:47 AM - Thread Starter
Programmer
 
SAFX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Long Island,New York
Posts: 1,149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by strych9 View Post

I had the same pair of cans and I blue-tac modded it to increase the volume.

Interesting, I'll look into that.....can you recommend good instructions for performing such a mod?

SAFX is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 12-12-2012, 09:10 AM
Commodore 64
 
strych9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bangladesh
Posts: 1,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAFX View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by strych9 View Post

I had the same pair of cans and I blue-tac modded it to increase the volume.

Interesting, I'll look into that.....can you recommend good instructions for performing such a mod?
Here you go: http://www.head-fi.org/t/579623/sennheiser-hd201-bluetack-mod-to-made-headphones-louder-and-better

strych9 is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 12-12-2012, 09:22 AM - Thread Starter
Programmer
 
SAFX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Long Island,New York
Posts: 1,149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
That's it? How much of a difference did it make for you? bass, mids, highs, etc?

Thanks, again

SAFX is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 12-12-2012, 10:22 AM
 
All3n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Oh I see it plugs the holes in the back of the chamber.

Similar to some Sony headphones, which have a switch that opens and closes a port which mainly impacts the bass. I guess you could say it makes it slightly louder in the lower frequencies.
All3n is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off