Xonar DX and Windows 8 not playing nicely. - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 02-06-2013, 01:41 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
McMogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 1,203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 56
I have just upgraded to Windows 8 64bit, and it is pretty nice.. but my soundcard is having issues.
I got the card set up on my previous Win7 64bit install, working fine, so I know the card is fine, and I've tried the Uni Drivers and the official Windows 8 drivers from Asus, no change.

Here's a sound sample to let you know what the issue is, as it's hard to describe:
Voice Sample.zip 163k .zip file

That contains a '.3ga' file of a song played on my system.

Here is what the song should sound like:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3yDkjq1O6iA

It is clearly a bit laggy, and jumpy.. but why?!
McMogg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 02-06-2013, 05:27 PM
Audiophile
 
musicPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Somewhere in the wasteland...
Posts: 1,132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Some folks recommend updating the firmware to the 1.1 version. Have you tried that? do some reading on how to make it.
musicPC is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 02-07-2013, 12:15 AM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
McMogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 1,203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 56
In all my searching, I haven't seen that suggested, but I'll try that tonight
thanks for the reply, clearly it's a tricky and uncommon issue smile.gif
McMogg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 17 Old 02-07-2013, 04:05 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
McMogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 1,203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Update:

Firmware updated, still no improvements.. Any other suggestions, guys? :/
McMogg is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 02-07-2013, 04:08 PM
AMD Overclocker
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Send a message via MSN to Kittencake Send a message via Skype™ to Kittencake
Kittencake is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 02-07-2013, 04:12 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
McMogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 1,203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kittencake View Post

yeah ... lose win 8 tongue.gif lol

So far, I think it's quite nice.. clearly there are some teething issues (this being one.. highly frustrating one) but I probably wont change my OS..

EDIT: if it helps, it appears my video performance is substandard aswell, although having the latest drivers for my GPU..
McMogg is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 02-07-2013, 04:16 PM
PC Gamer
 
ps-gunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boom, Belgium
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 52
I have the DX running great on Win8 Pro x64 on what I believe are the latest Windows 7 drivers, try those.
ps-gunkie is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 02-07-2013, 04:35 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
McMogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 1,203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by ps-gunkie View Post

I have the DX running great on Win8 Pro x64 on what I believe are the latest Windows 7 drivers, try those.

No such luck.. I guess I will do a re-install in the next few days.

Do you know if the same Windows Key is valid? Boy I hope so frown.gif
McMogg is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 02-07-2013, 11:48 PM
PC Gamer
 
ps-gunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boom, Belgium
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Sure, should be fine. smile.gif


If you're gonna reinstall Win7 to upgrade to Win8; install the appropriate Win7 Asus drivers before upgrading, worked for me.
McMogg likes this.
ps-gunkie is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 02-08-2013, 04:36 AM
WaterCooler
 
Evil Genius Jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northen Virginia
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I'm having the same issue in 8 x64. Everything works but the sound is terrible...... Worked fine in 7.
Evil Genius Jr is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off