Looking to replace my current headphones - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 11-22-2013, 07:39 AM - Thread Starter
 
GeorgeStorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Hey,
I'm about to (probably) buy a digital piano, and sadly my current headphones won't work with it due to their high impedance, so I'm thinking of replacing them smile.gif

My current setup:
Fiio E7/9 combo, DT770 pros 250ohm.

So I'm looking for something relatively low impedance to replace them, ideally the cost of which is mainly covered by the sale of my current set.
On that note, how much would I be able to get for my current set?

I've also got a pair of Q701s in green, but I found the headband really uncomfortable, so I'll most likely be selling them as well. I like the feel of over rather than on ear, although I don't mind trying something new (I love the look of grados for instance).

I'm based in the UK, so to give people an idea I was thinking maybe £100-150.

I'll be using them for games, films, the piano and a wide range of music.

Thanks
GeorgeStorm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 11-22-2013, 07:59 AM
333mhz
 
wevsspot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 160
If your DT770 cans are in good condition you might be able to get $100USD for them. They are selling new here in the States for $168 give or take.

Battlefield = RazorbackAR
wevsspot is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 11-22-2013, 02:53 PM
333mhz
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 121
I don't know anything about pianos, but if you're going to have it next to a computer you can buy an audio interface with MIDI input for the piano. That would let you continue to use your DT770 (plug your headphone amp into the RCA output from the interface, or just plug the headphones into the headphone jack directly on the interface), and also record the piano.

I've been very happy with my Focusrite 2i4, which has midi input.

DrGroove is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 Old 11-22-2013, 06:57 PM
 
pilgrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Are you looking to stay with the flat reference closed can sound? Is there something your looking for that your current Beyers are producing? Would you consider an open can? The Headphones I use for hifi and gaming are the sennheiser HD595/598s they sound amazing (great staging) especially with an amp which you already have and you are going to be able to use them for longer periods of due to to their comfort level and breath-ability. I don't know why but most dj/studio headsets tend to be very tight and heavy I have no experience with the beyers but I will tell you the HD595/598s are very light for their size. The only thing I will mention is they are open you can hear everything in the room while you are using them I personally prefer this style and so do most hifi enthusiasts. 199.99 on newegg
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA1D914D3041
pilgrum is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 11-23-2013, 01:07 PM
Retired Staff
 
WhiteWulfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: C-YXD (aka Edmonton, Canada)
Posts: 10,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrGroove View Post

I don't know anything about pianos, but if you're going to have it next to a computer you can buy an audio interface with MIDI input for the piano. That would let you continue to use your DT770 (plug your headphone amp into the RCA output from the interface, or just plug the headphones into the headphone jack directly on the interface), and also record the piano.

I've been very happy with my Focusrite 2i4, which has midi input.

As a note, you can't record audio through a MIDI port, only raw MIDI data. MIDI out from a digital piano into an audio interface's MIDI in could however be used to control VST/VSTi instruments. He would have to take the audio out from the digital piano and plug that into the applicable inputs on an audio interface if he wanted to use the sounds that were on board the digital piano.

Trying to get ahold of me via Skype? I won't get the message as I don't use Skype ~_^
I <3 Mechanical Keyboards | Member of OCN's Headphone club
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxbassplayerxx 
Don't mind Wulfe. He's writing his book one post at a time.
WhiteWulfe is online now  
post #6 of 8 Old 11-23-2013, 01:37 PM
333mhz
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteWulfe View Post

As a note, you can't record audio through a MIDI port, only raw MIDI data. MIDI out from a digital piano into an audio interface's MIDI in could however be used to control VST/VSTi instruments. He would have to take the audio out from the digital piano and plug that into the applicable inputs on an audio interface if he wanted to use the sounds that were on board the digital piano.

Ah I see, so you would be recording the MIDI signal and then it would be translated to piano sounds through software, is this right? This enables you to use different piano sounds, like emulating a grand piano with your keyboard? Can this be done in real time, or only after it's recorded?

I actually have an old Yamaha keyboard laying around, this is making me want to test it out.

DrGroove is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 11-23-2013, 07:21 PM
Retired Staff
 
WhiteWulfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: C-YXD (aka Edmonton, Canada)
Posts: 10,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrGroove View Post

Ah I see, so you would be recording the MIDI signal and then it would be translated to piano sounds through software, is this right? This enables you to use different piano sounds, like emulating a grand piano with your keyboard? Can this be done in real time, or only after it's recorded?

I actually have an old Yamaha keyboard laying around, this is making me want to test it out.

With MIDI, you can either use it "live" or recorded. Live would entail using a keyboard (my example would be the Akai MAX 49, as I own one), and as you play it sends applicable MIDI information (what note you've played, how hard you pressed, and with my particular setup, something called aftertouch (which is typically used to add effects to or modify the sound)) to whatever you have it linked to. This information would only be saved if you recorded it using appropriate software (in my case, I use Ableton Live Lite 8, which oddly enough, I got free copies of with both my keyboard as well as my audio card (I have a Focusrite Scarlett 18i20).

So, as a short answer, you can do it either way. ^_^

I do have to say this though, just as disclosure - I don't regularly use the USB-MIDI functionality of my keyboard though, as I originally purchased it for use with Cerberus, my modular synthesizer. That picture's a bit old, but apparently I don't have any of my new setup >.>;;; I also tend to use the "keyboard" mode of my Maschine because it's just too much fun to mash pads

Trying to get ahold of me via Skype? I won't get the message as I don't use Skype ~_^
I <3 Mechanical Keyboards | Member of OCN's Headphone club
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxbassplayerxx 
Don't mind Wulfe. He's writing his book one post at a time.
WhiteWulfe is online now  
post #8 of 8 Old 11-25-2013, 04:56 AM - Thread Starter
 
GeorgeStorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by wevsspot View Post

If your DT770 cans are in good condition you might be able to get $100USD for them. They are selling new here in the States for $168 give or take.
Fair enough, need to work out what I might replace them with before committing to sell them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrGroove View Post

I don't know anything about pianos, but if you're going to have it next to a computer you can buy an audio interface with MIDI input for the piano. That would let you continue to use your DT770 (plug your headphone amp into the RCA output from the interface, or just plug the headphones into the headphone jack directly on the interface), and also record the piano.

I've been very happy with my Focusrite 2i4, which has midi input.
I will be playing it near a PC, and in fact I'm now looking at the ES7 which I think has USB out, so I may be able to use my current setup with it, haven't checked yet.
Quote:
Originally Posted by pilgrum View Post

Are you looking to stay with the flat reference closed can sound? Is there something your looking for that your current Beyers are producing? Would you consider an open can? The Headphones I use for hifi and gaming are the sennheiser HD595/598s they sound amazing (great staging) especially with an amp which you already have and you are going to be able to use them for longer periods of due to to their comfort level and breath-ability. I don't know why but most dj/studio headsets tend to be very tight and heavy I have no experience with the beyers but I will tell you the HD595/598s are very light for their size. The only thing I will mention is they are open you can hear everything in the room while you are using them I personally prefer this style and so do most hifi enthusiasts. 199.99 on newegg
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA1D914D3041
I'm not really sure what I'm after, I'm partially just using this as an excuse to try something new! I have heard good things about the Sennheisers, I'm in the UK so they probably aren't quite as good a deal (nothing ever is in the UK when it comes to electronics it seems) but thanks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteWulfe View Post

As a note, you can't record audio through a MIDI port, only raw MIDI data. MIDI out from a digital piano into an audio interface's MIDI in could however be used to control VST/VSTi instruments. He would have to take the audio out from the digital piano and plug that into the applicable inputs on an audio interface if he wanted to use the sounds that were on board the digital piano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrGroove View Post

Ah I see, so you would be recording the MIDI signal and then it would be translated to piano sounds through software, is this right? This enables you to use different piano sounds, like emulating a grand piano with your keyboard? Can this be done in real time, or only after it's recorded?

I actually have an old Yamaha keyboard laying around, this is making me want to test it out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteWulfe View Post

With MIDI, you can either use it "live" or recorded. Live would entail using a keyboard (my example would be the Akai MAX 49, as I own one), and as you play it sends applicable MIDI information (what note you've played, how hard you pressed, and with my particular setup, something called aftertouch (which is typically used to add effects to or modify the sound)) to whatever you have it linked to. This information would only be saved if you recorded it using appropriate software (in my case, I use Ableton Live Lite 8, which oddly enough, I got free copies of with both my keyboard as well as my audio card (I have a Focusrite Scarlett 18i20).

So, as a short answer, you can do it either way. ^_^

I do have to say this though, just as disclosure - I don't regularly use the USB-MIDI functionality of my keyboard though, as I originally purchased it for use with Cerberus, my modular synthesizer. That picture's a bit old, but apparently I don't have any of my new setup >.>;;; I also tend to use the "keyboard" mode of my Maschine because it's just too much fun to mash pads
Interesting to know, recording isn't a priority right now, but being able to would certainly not be a bad thing!
GeorgeStorm is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off