[Official] OCN Headphones and Earphones Club - Page 830 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8291 of 38805 Old 05-14-2010, 08:48 PM
 
Tator Tot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: St Charles, Missouri;U.S.
Posts: 36,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2154
Quote:
Originally Posted by theCanadian View Post
RX700's require no less amping than the HD555's... And the HD555's should be fine without amping as well. Both are ~50 ohms.
RX700's do not require an amp, but the HD555's definitely require an amp to be at their premium.
Tator Tot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8292 of 38805 Old 05-14-2010, 09:17 PM
Maple Syrup?
 
theCanadian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 4,713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 303
The same could be said for the RX700's. Maybe not quite as much, but they're both quite respectable whilst unamped.

Its gonna be like perana on a rotting cow in there when it happens...I'm looking forward to it. - DIRTYDUCK
Socket 939 is legendary - Choggs396
You sir, are a true badass. - meticadpa
how does hand beat wood? - crywin
> here, let me show you.... - sirlagalot

theCanadian is offline  
post #8293 of 38805 Old 05-14-2010, 09:39 PM
 
Tator Tot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: St Charles, Missouri;U.S.
Posts: 36,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2154
Quote:
Originally Posted by theCanadian View Post
The same could be said for the RX700's. Maybe not quite as much, but they're both quite respectable whilst unamped.
Nah, I've used my LittleDot MKII with both, and the RX700's & RX 900's have almost no change at all. But the HD555's sound a whole level better.
Takendown2 likes this.
Tator Tot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8294 of 38805 Old 05-14-2010, 09:45 PM
Maple Syrup?
 
theCanadian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 4,713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 303
We'll, I've always heard that they both do better while amped. But I'll let the voice of experience take the cake this time; I've never used the 555's.
Takendown2 likes this.

Its gonna be like perana on a rotting cow in there when it happens...I'm looking forward to it. - DIRTYDUCK
Socket 939 is legendary - Choggs396
You sir, are a true badass. - meticadpa
how does hand beat wood? - crywin
> here, let me show you.... - sirlagalot

theCanadian is offline  
post #8295 of 38805 Old 05-14-2010, 09:56 PM
 
hli53194's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New England
Posts: 2,333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxicrimsonixx View Post
Fiio E5?
The E5 actually is a great budget amp.

Count me in too

Home Setup: X-Fi Elite Pro w/LM4562 HardMod / Fiio E7 -> Denon UD-M50 + Mission MS-50 Speakers + Boston Accoustics Subwoofer / Philips HP910 / Ultimate Ears Triple.Fi 10 Pro
Portable Audio: Meizu M6/iPod Touch 4G -> Fiio E7 -> Bose QC-15 / Ultimate Ears Triple.Fi 10 Pro
hli53194 is offline  
post #8296 of 38805 Old 05-15-2010, 05:53 AM
333mhz
 
Ninjaposum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: US
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Yello I'm in, have question I'll ask in forum below.

Still Dodging Traffic after all these years.

DD-WRT Firmware Club

Ninjaposum is offline  
post #8297 of 38805 Old 05-15-2010, 05:54 AM
King of World's Bestest City
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 8,183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 504
Anything more than a Fiio E5 = a waste of money for amping the HD555.
Anything more = ya better off upgrading your headphones or the source as that'll give you more benefit for the money sound quality wise than amping the HD555.

Tbh though, the Fiio E5 is more intended for portable use. ya better off upgrading your source or the headphones than amping the HD555.
Takendown2 likes this.

* 4th September 2010 4:35 am [local time] - Mag 7.1 earthquake
* 22nd February 2011 12:51 pm - Mag 6.3 earthquake
* 13th June 2011 2:20 pm - Mag 6.3 earthquake

heart.gifLife goes on! RIP the ones Mother Nature has claimed. heart.gif
post-flame-small.gifRequesting Audio Advice? Read This First! post-flame-small.gif
post-flame-small.gifGot some recommendations for OCN's Most Recommended Audio Products? PM me. post-flame-small.gif
chinesekiwi is offline  
post #8298 of 38805 Old 05-15-2010, 06:51 AM
4.0ghz
 
.Sup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 1,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by chinesekiwi View Post
Anything more than a Fiio E5 = a waste of money for amping the HD555.
Anything more = ya better off upgrading your headphones or the source as that'll give you more benefit for the money sound quality wise than amping the HD555.

Tbh though, the Fiio E5 is more intended for portable use. ya better off upgrading your source or the headphones than amping the HD555.
A better amp now, better headphones latter? Or an average amp now(Fiio5) and a good amp+headphones later? I find my HD555s a lot more enjoyable from a good amp than straight from a soundcard. The receiver's head-out will do nicely as well.


Onkyo ND-S1/Yamaha CD-S1000 →Reference 5 DSP/Opus → SPL Auditor/SSMH

Cans: Sennheiser HD800, Hifiman HE-4, HE-300, HE-500

.Sup is offline  
post #8299 of 38805 Old 05-16-2010, 02:33 AM
4.0ghz
 
Takendown2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 1,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Source as in Music Source? or like the sound card, right now i have it connected to my Asus Xonar, if i traded it for a Essence STX will it help? Thanks! Repped

Canon 600D. EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8, EF 28-135 f/3.5-5.6, Super Takumar m42 135mm f/3.5 (with EF adapter)

Sorry for my bad english redface.gif I am not a native english speaker.

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidmoore go_quote.gif
Aren't Macintosh's un-hackable? It was probably a software error.

Aren't Macintosh's resilient to software errors? It was probably a hacker.

We have reached a paradox.
Takendown2 is offline  
post #8300 of 38805 Old 05-16-2010, 02:50 AM
1.3ghz
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Argentina
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Sennheiser PC-350 G4ME here

($249, talk about overpriced, gotta hate Argentina )
Beelzeboss is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off