Sean's SSD Buyers Guide & Information Thread - Page 43 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #421 of 2376 Old 04-02-2012, 01:52 PM
Audiophile
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevindd992002 View Post

Is Plextor a Chinese-owned company? I'm having second thoughts regarding their warranty based on my experience with other Chinese-owned companies.
Japanese and my guess is that helped them get a good deal on Toshiba Nand...

Sent from my Samsung Epic 4G Touch using Tapatalk

Jocelyn84 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #422 of 2376 Old 04-02-2012, 07:15 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: North East Alabama- USA
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
It's me again. rolleyes.gif

The 128gig Crucial M4 SSD's listed on NewEgg, they show five different models number with slightly different prices but pretty much the same specs.

If I were to choose a Crucial M4 drive which one of these should I choose and why?

I don't know anything about choosing a SSD. redface.gif
Turtley is offline  
post #423 of 2376 Old 04-02-2012, 07:41 PM - Thread Starter
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻ ლ(ಠ益ಠ)ლ
 
Sean Webster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 20,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turtley View Post

It's me again. rolleyes.gif

The 128gig Crucial M4 SSD's listed on NewEgg, they show five different models number with slightly different prices but pretty much the same specs.

If I were to choose a Crucial M4 drive which one of these should I choose and why?

I don't know anything about choosing a SSD. redface.gif

Get the cheapest one, the cheapest is just a bare drive. with no mirroring software or 2.5" - 3.5" adapter, 1 set of the M4s is 7mm, etc.

Get this one: This one has the bracket adapter and is the same $ as the others without the adapter: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148525

I AM THE SSD BENCHMARK GURU
Storage Essentials*Put your Rig in your Signature!*My Build LogsMy Server Build LogflickrSteamDepression and I
How I imagine people wanting help on the forums: "Hi, I just met you and this is crazy! But, here's my issue, so help me maybe?"
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepejovi go_quote.gif

Some say he once took a backup of the entire NSA database. Others say he lays SSDs like chickens lay eggs. All we know is, it's Sean Webster!
! (Click to show)
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━━┻

ლ(ಠ益ಠ)ლ

(ノಠ益ಠ)╯︵ /(.□ . \)

┬─┬ ノ(°-°ノ)

(ノಥ益ಥ)ノ ┻━━┻

(-_-*)

(/ .□.)\ ︵╰(°Д°)╯︵ /(.□. \)

Chimp Challenge Participant 

Sean Webster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #424 of 2376 Old 04-02-2012, 07:42 PM
Audiophile
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turtley View Post

It's me again. rolleyes.gif
The 128gig Crucial M4 SSD's listed on NewEgg, they show five different models number with slightly different prices but pretty much the same specs.
If I were to choose a Crucial M4 drive which one of these should I choose and why?
I don't know anything about choosing a SSD. redface.gif

Other than accessories and varying physical sizes, they're all exactly the same. You should buy the least expensive one lol

Jocelyn84 is offline  
post #425 of 2376 Old 04-03-2012, 05:48 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: North East Alabama- USA
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Webster View Post

Get the cheapest one, the cheapest is just a bare drive. with no mirroring software or 2.5" - 3.5" adapter, 1 set of the M4s is 7mm, etc.
Get this one: This one has the bracket adapter and is the same $ as the others without the adapter: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148525
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jocelyn84 View Post

Other than accessories and varying physical sizes, they're all exactly the same. You should buy the least expensive one lol

Interesting marketing!

I would want the one with the drive bay bracket as I've got plenty of empty bays.

It would be ok if imaging software came with it though. From what I gather my True Image version 11 doesn't work with SSD's.

I looked at windows 7 imaging and I don't like doing a "hot" image which it does.

I'll pick up a new copy of True Image.


Thanks for your help!
Turtley is offline  
post #426 of 2376 Old 04-03-2012, 06:56 AM - Thread Starter
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻ ლ(ಠ益ಠ)ლ
 
Sean Webster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 20,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turtley View Post


Interesting marketing!

I would want the one with the drive bay bracket as I've got plenty of empty bays.

It would be ok if imaging software came with it though. From what I gather my True Image version 11 doesn't work with SSD's.

I looked at windows 7 imaging and I don't like doing a "hot" image which it does.

I'll pick up a new copy of True Image.

Thanks for your help!
Can you explain to me what a hot image is? Not the dirty kind. tongue.gif

I AM THE SSD BENCHMARK GURU
Storage Essentials*Put your Rig in your Signature!*My Build LogsMy Server Build LogflickrSteamDepression and I
How I imagine people wanting help on the forums: "Hi, I just met you and this is crazy! But, here's my issue, so help me maybe?"
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepejovi go_quote.gif

Some say he once took a backup of the entire NSA database. Others say he lays SSDs like chickens lay eggs. All we know is, it's Sean Webster!
! (Click to show)
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━━┻

ლ(ಠ益ಠ)ლ

(ノಠ益ಠ)╯︵ /(.□ . \)

┬─┬ ノ(°-°ノ)

(ノಥ益ಥ)ノ ┻━━┻

(-_-*)

(/ .□.)\ ︵╰(°Д°)╯︵ /(.□. \)

Chimp Challenge Participant 

Sean Webster is offline  
post #427 of 2376 Old 04-03-2012, 07:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: North East Alabama- USA
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hot image! Lol! Several come to mind! thumb.gif

It's an old term I use to describe something that is on or hot for example the burner on your stove is hot when it is on and cold when off.

In the past one couldn't make a disk image while windows is hot or running due to locked files being used by windows at the time.

Hence most aftermarket imaging software come on a bootable disk which puts you in a DOS like environment to perform disk imaging among other things. Although newer versions do have a GUI to use like True image for example. With windows not running there's no locked files to contend with.

I imagine that windows 7 has a work around this now but still windows is running from what I've seen on YouTube videos of windows 7 imaging.

With the aftermarket imaging software you have the ability to omit certain files or folders from the image if you want like the pagefile.sys for example.

Granted I don't know enough about windows 7 imaging to appreciate its use as I've been on windows vista until a few months ago.

I am behind the times, a day late and a dollar short. Playing catch up now.
Sean Webster likes this.
Turtley is offline  
post #428 of 2376 Old 04-03-2012, 08:01 AM
PC Gamer
 
raptorxrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: East Coast, USA
Posts: 1,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turtley View Post

Granted I don't know enough about windows 7 imaging to appreciate its use as I've been on windows vista until a few months ago.
I am behind the times, a day late and a dollar short. Playing catch up now.

To true for everyone. Well most people! thumb.gif

If I had the money for the SSD, I would just do a fresh install, and import the stuff I needed. Would be simpler, at least for me.

Battlelog Profile (Add me!)
Heatware
Warning: Quote(s)! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nocturin go_quote.gif

Oh well, least it will be able to run minecraft like a boss.
Blah. Blah. Blah. Who cares?

2 Million+ Folding at Home points 

raptorxrx is offline  
post #429 of 2376 Old 04-03-2012, 08:42 AM - Thread Starter
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻ ლ(ಠ益ಠ)ლ
 
Sean Webster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 20,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turtley View Post

Hot image! Lol! Several come to mind! thumb.gif

It's an old term I use to describe something that is on or hot for example the burner on your stove is hot when it is on and cold when off.

In the past one couldn't make a disk image while windows is hot or running due to locked files being used by windows at the time.

Hence most aftermarket imaging software come on a bootable disk which puts you in a DOS like environment to perform disk imaging among other things. Although newer versions do have a GUI to use like True image for example. With windows not running there's no locked files to contend with.

I imagine that windows 7 has a work around this now but still windows is running from what I've seen on YouTube videos of windows 7 imaging.

With the aftermarket imaging software you have the ability to omit certain files or folders from the image if you want like the pagefile.sys for example.

Granted I don't know enough about windows 7 imaging to appreciate its use as I've been on windows vista until a few months ago.

I am behind the times, a day late and a dollar short. Playing catch up now.

Ah, thank you.

Personally I have had no issue with the Windows imaging tool, tho I am cheap and don't feel like buying software and testing it out so see what it is like lol. So I have no problem using a hot image.

And files like page file and hibernation file, you don't need to back up.

Does Acronis keep the partition offset alignment with the images? Because I set mine to 4k offset when I install and I know windows keeps the alignment properly 4K when I restore, but ToDo Backup does not when I use that. And I haven't tested Macrium Reflect free either.

I AM THE SSD BENCHMARK GURU
Storage Essentials*Put your Rig in your Signature!*My Build LogsMy Server Build LogflickrSteamDepression and I
How I imagine people wanting help on the forums: "Hi, I just met you and this is crazy! But, here's my issue, so help me maybe?"
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepejovi go_quote.gif

Some say he once took a backup of the entire NSA database. Others say he lays SSDs like chickens lay eggs. All we know is, it's Sean Webster!
! (Click to show)
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━━┻

ლ(ಠ益ಠ)ლ

(ノಠ益ಠ)╯︵ /(.□ . \)

┬─┬ ノ(°-°ノ)

(ノಥ益ಥ)ノ ┻━━┻

(-_-*)

(/ .□.)\ ︵╰(°Д°)╯︵ /(.□. \)

Chimp Challenge Participant 

Sean Webster is offline  
post #430 of 2376 Old 04-03-2012, 04:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: North East Alabama- USA
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Webster View Post

Ah, thank you.

Does Acronis keep the partition offset alignment with the images? Because I set mine to 4k offset when I install and I know windows keeps the alignment properly 4K when I restore, but ToDo Backup does not when I use that. And I haven't tested Macrium Reflect free either.

You're welcome!

The aligment with SSD's is presently greek to me but I gathered this info from the Acronis web page.




Solid State Drive Support in Acronis Products

Description:
The following Acronis products have full Solid State Drive (SSD) support:

Acronis Backup & Recovery 11
Acronis True Image Home 2011
Acronis True Image Home 2012
Acronis Disk Director 11 Home
All other Acronis products support Solid State Drives (SSD) with certain limitations:

You can perform all the same operations with SSDs as with regular hard disk drives;
There are no special partition alignment mechanisms required to keep the partitions offset which is optimal for SSD drives. In other words when you restore an image to an SSD drive, it will get the default 63 sectors offset instead of 64kb (or a multiple of 64kb) offset recommended for SSD drives even if this offset was in place when the image had been created. This may result in a drop of performance on certain models of SSD drives after the restore;
Support for SSD drives is also planned for the next version of the Acronis Backup & Recovery product line.


More information:
A multiple of 64kb (most commonly, 1024kb or 2048 sectors) is the recommended offset for SSD disks.


Full support details:
If you restore or clone a disk image to an SSD disk, the offset will be automatically set to the default 1024kb (2048 sectors).
If you restore a partition backup to a target empty partitioned disk (SSD), the target SSD disk will keep its original offset.



Does this information sound correct?

I'm not sure my version of True Image is supported as it's not listed above. But the statement saying all other Acronis products support SSD's.
Turtley is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off