I want to transfer bootdrive (SSD) to another (ssd) - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 17 Old 02-21-2013, 07:09 PM
 
texas_nightowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheQookieMonster View Post

I have a game install and a software installed on the 2nd one. Do I have to wipe it clean then clone?

That's usually easiest...but if they are program installs and such that you don't want to have to resinstall, then it will be more work but you may be able to get around it. You will have to end up with 2 partitions on the larger SSD (SSD2) though.

Do you have an extra hard drive of any type where you can temporarily store backups? An external drive even? If so then something along these lines should work.

Create a backup of SSD2 to your extra hard drive.
Do a quick format of SSD2.
Create 2 partitions on SSD2. First one large enough for your OS. Second one the remaining space.
Clone SSD1 to partition 1 of SSD2.
Restore the backup of SSD2 to partition 2 of SSD2.
texas_nightowl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 17 Old 02-21-2013, 07:38 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
TheQookieMonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by texas_nightowl View Post

That's usually easiest...but if they are program installs and such that you don't want to have to resinstall, then it will be more work but you may be able to get around it. You will have to end up with 2 partitions on the larger SSD (SSD2) though.

Do you have an extra hard drive of any type where you can temporarily store backups? An external drive even? If so then something along these lines should work.

Create a backup of SSD2 to your extra hard drive.
Do a quick format of SSD2.
Create 2 partitions on SSD2. First one large enough for your OS. Second one the remaining space.
Clone SSD1 to partition 1 of SSD2.
Restore the backup of SSD2 to partition 2 of SSD2.

Sigh. I'm trying to install 3d max, but something is installing on my C DRIVE, which is my boot drive. I tried changing the regedit so it doesnt but it still does. I don't know whats installing on the c drive, I even changed the direction.

TheQookieMonster is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 03-04-2013, 03:15 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
TheQookieMonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewx12 View Post

I usually use Norton Ghost. But I have been moving toward Acronis lately as it is a little more flexible.

Yes it will work and should boot up just fine too. When your finished you will have to resize the partition to fully use your space.

Resize my partition? Anyone willing to quickly educate me on this lol

TheQookieMonster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 17 Old 03-04-2013, 04:07 PM
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻ ლ(ಠ益ಠ)ლ
 
Sean Webster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 20,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1656
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheQookieMonster View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewx12 View Post

I usually use Norton Ghost. But I have been moving toward Acronis lately as it is a little more flexible.

Yes it will work and should boot up just fine too. When your finished you will have to resize the partition to fully use your space.

Resize my partition? Anyone willing to quickly educate me on this lol
go to disk management > click your drive's partition and click extend volume.

I AM THE SSD BENCHMARK GURU
Storage Essentials*Put your Rig in your Signature!*My Build LogsMy Server Build LogflickrSteamDepression and I
How I imagine people wanting help on the forums: "Hi, I just met you and this is crazy! But, here's my issue, so help me maybe?"
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepejovi go_quote.gif

Some say he once took a backup of the entire NSA database. Others say he lays SSDs like chickens lay eggs. All we know is, it's Sean Webster!
! (Click to show)
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━━┻

ლ(ಠ益ಠ)ლ

(ノಠ益ಠ)╯︵ /(.□ . \)

┬─┬ ノ(°-°ノ)

(ノಥ益ಥ)ノ ┻━━┻

(-_-*)

(/ .□.)\ ︵╰(°Д°)╯︵ /(.□. \)

Chimp Challenge Participant 

Sean Webster is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 03-04-2013, 04:10 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
TheQookieMonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Webster View Post

go to disk management > click your drive's partition and click extend volume.

YO! Sean! I remember you, oh, you're a big kid on the block now with that giant "storage editor" below your name.

TheQookieMonster is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 03-04-2013, 04:14 PM
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻ ლ(ಠ益ಠ)ლ
 
Sean Webster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 20,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1656
haha, I remember you too. wink.gif

Yea, being editor now is nice. smile.gif

I AM THE SSD BENCHMARK GURU
Storage Essentials*Put your Rig in your Signature!*My Build LogsMy Server Build LogflickrSteamDepression and I
How I imagine people wanting help on the forums: "Hi, I just met you and this is crazy! But, here's my issue, so help me maybe?"
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepejovi go_quote.gif

Some say he once took a backup of the entire NSA database. Others say he lays SSDs like chickens lay eggs. All we know is, it's Sean Webster!
! (Click to show)
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━━┻

ლ(ಠ益ಠ)ლ

(ノಠ益ಠ)╯︵ /(.□ . \)

┬─┬ ノ(°-°ノ)

(ノಥ益ಥ)ノ ┻━━┻

(-_-*)

(/ .□.)\ ︵╰(°Д°)╯︵ /(.□. \)

Chimp Challenge Participant 

Sean Webster is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 03-04-2013, 10:07 PM
Android / iOS Developer
 
jakethesnake438's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Noo Zolond
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheQookieMonster View Post

Awesome pic lol

biggrin.gif

New Zealand Overclock.net Club

Where's my Sig rig?
jakethesnake438 is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off