A few SSD questions - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 09-03-2013, 12:25 PM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
fiveoh50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
My SSD drive has been doing some funky things(OCZ agility 3 60 gb) lately. When I leave the computer off for an extended amount of time(8 hours + i.e. overnight) it will not recognize the drive when I go to turn it on. I have to unplug the other sata drive, restart with only the ssd plugged in, shut down the pc, plug back in the sata, and then reboot again and it will boot up with both connected. Needless to say a PITA. I've upgraded the firmware on the drive and that didn't help. I'd like to upgrade to a larger drive anyway so I can put sc2 on there.

On to my questions..

1. Can I "clone" my current SSD and the new one will work fine, or are there different drivers for different drives?

2. It seems the Samsung 840 drives are the most favored around here, do I go for the EVO or is the PRO worth the extra $30? I plan on getting the 250gb drive. I mostly use the pc for web browsing/Netflix/office/a little gaming(starcraft 2 currently is the only game I'm playing). I also saw that Samsung might be coming out with a new pro drive in a month or so, should I wait until then and see?

Thanks in advance!

fiveoh50 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 09-03-2013, 03:51 PM
 
Jawswing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I'd suggest you don't clone a drive, as it can cause problems. But, as far as I'm aware you can do it if you like.

I'd personally choose the Pro, the random read and write is much better with them. But in all honesty, it's something you probably wouldn't notice so much.
Oh and you get an extra 6GB!!

Jawswing is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 09-04-2013, 01:57 PM
 
Forceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10,855
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 792
You can clone it just fine, just use an application that is SSD aware (which any reasonably new one should be) so it doesn't mess up the alignment. I've done it several times with no issues.

Forceman's Law: Any AMD/Nvidia GPU thread, no matter what the topic, will eventually include a post referencing the GTX 970.
Forceman is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off