Which SSD to buy for OS? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 06-09-2010, 06:53 PM - Thread Starter
3.5ghz
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hey guys, I want to get a SSD just to install Windows 7 on it. I have a few questions though. I will have my OS on the SSD only, everything will be installed on normal SATA II/III 7200 RPM HDD's. Will things still run faster for me, or should I just not get an SSD at all?

If I should get one, which one should I get. I want one with TRIM support right out of the box, should I get Intel, Kingston or something else? And which size should I get just for an OS if so?

Thanks in advance?
Grim Reaper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3 of 22 Old 06-09-2010, 07:01 PM
4.0ghz
 
Willage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 70
a solid state drive will make the operating system load faster

I would highly recommend getting a solid state drive for applications as well
or a larger SSD for both OS + Applications

there isn't much of a point to a SSD if you are only running your OS on it and run your PC 24/7 how ever if u turn your computer on/off allot then a SSD is worth it for the OS

Willage is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 22 Old 06-09-2010, 07:05 PM - Thread Starter
3.5ghz
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hmm if it won't help the OS much alone, then maybe I shouldn't get it. I can't afford an SSD big enough to store all applications and games... >.<
Grim Reaper is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 06-09-2010, 07:11 PM - Thread Starter
3.5ghz
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Yeah but if I won't be turning by System on and off much then it will be useless. Just having OS on the SSD and everything else of HDD's won't make anything faster while I'm using the computer will it?
Grim Reaper is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 06-09-2010, 07:12 PM
Commodore 64
 
amtbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: the cloud.
Posts: 1,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 53
I went with a 60gb one, I tend to only play 1-2 games at a time, so for me it works fine. Ive got W7, small apps, and BFBC2 and Dragon Age on it. Was it worth the $$$? HELL YES. I love my SSD.

The Anti My Little Pony: Fruitcake Fanclub!
amtbr is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 06-09-2010, 07:12 PM
3.5ghz
 
pieisgood2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboHertz View Post
Get an Intel X25-M, it's 80GB, the random writes are best of the crowd and you can put your games on it, trust me, they will load like lighting.
i think intel's ssd's are all overpriced.
OCZ is the way to go
pieisgood2 is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 06-09-2010, 07:14 PM - Thread Starter
3.5ghz
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I heard SSD's need TRIM in order to not degrade performance. Which one comes with that and will work like that right out of the box?
Grim Reaper is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off