AS SSD Benchmark thread - Page 7 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 3822 Old 06-17-2010, 09:17 PM
PSU Buff
 
Phaedrus2129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chino Hills, CA
Posts: 16,520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1730
Send a message via Skype™ to Phaedrus2129
When I get my laptop and Indilinx 60GB SSD, would it be helpful to test it on both the AMD SB in my laptop and ICH10R in my desktop?

Burning books is like burning bras; after the adrenaline rush of the symbolic moment wears off all you're left with is a pile of ashes and unsupported boobs.
Phaedrus2129 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 3822 Old 06-17-2010, 09:19 PM
 
Limes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 3,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 125
If I had the time, I would post up some benchmarks of all the Vertexs, Samsungs, etc. We got a lot of SSDs to mess with.

mario.gif Got any 8 or 12 Core Opty Engineering Samples? Shoot me a PM. mario.gif
Limes is offline  
post #63 of 3822 Old 06-17-2010, 09:23 PM - Thread Starter
Solid State
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Waiheke Island, NZ
Posts: 3,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 383
Send a message via MSN to TheDreadedGMan Send a message via Yahoo to TheDreadedGMan Send a message via Skype™ to TheDreadedGMan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phaedrus2129 View Post
When I get my laptop and Indilinx 60GB SSD, would it be helpful to test it on both the AMD SB in my laptop and ICH10R in my desktop?
If you have the time that would be awesome, a same drive comparison of both controllers! Imagine that

Not SATA III it's SATA 6Gbit/s
SATA cables are SATA cables, no such thing as a "SATA 6Gbit/s cable"

TheDreadedGMan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 3822 Old 06-17-2010, 09:25 PM
PSU Buff
 
Phaedrus2129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chino Hills, CA
Posts: 16,520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1730
Send a message via Skype™ to Phaedrus2129
Only hiccup is that Windows would need a reinstall between each, since the chipsets are different. Linux might work better. Is the benchmark compatible with Linux?

Burning books is like burning bras; after the adrenaline rush of the symbolic moment wears off all you're left with is a pile of ashes and unsupported boobs.
Phaedrus2129 is offline  
post #65 of 3822 Old 06-17-2010, 09:25 PM - Thread Starter
Solid State
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Waiheke Island, NZ
Posts: 3,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 383
Send a message via MSN to TheDreadedGMan Send a message via Yahoo to TheDreadedGMan Send a message via Skype™ to TheDreadedGMan
Quote:
Originally Posted by dude120 View Post
I have an A-Data 32gb SSD. When I get a chance to (in the next 24 hours or so, I'll post benchmarks for it). Also should I post a benchmark of my 1tb Samsung F3 HDD as a comparison?
My guess is that it would be pointless, I think the scores are pretty much capped, but it would be interesting to see if there is any difference from my F1

However, note that HDD runs of AS SSD take a REALLY LONG TIME.

Not SATA III it's SATA 6Gbit/s
SATA cables are SATA cables, no such thing as a "SATA 6Gbit/s cable"

TheDreadedGMan is offline  
post #66 of 3822 Old 06-17-2010, 09:27 PM - Thread Starter
Solid State
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Waiheke Island, NZ
Posts: 3,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 383
Send a message via MSN to TheDreadedGMan Send a message via Yahoo to TheDreadedGMan Send a message via Skype™ to TheDreadedGMan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Limes View Post
If I had the time, I would post up some benchmarks of all the Vertexs, Samsungs, etc. We got a lot of SSDs to mess with.
I know what you mean, spare time is a premium... If you post up some Screenshots, and drive controller names, I can fill in the form for you... (saves you a bit of time)

Not SATA III it's SATA 6Gbit/s
SATA cables are SATA cables, no such thing as a "SATA 6Gbit/s cable"

TheDreadedGMan is offline  
post #67 of 3822 Old 06-17-2010, 09:29 PM - Thread Starter
Solid State
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Waiheke Island, NZ
Posts: 3,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 383
Send a message via MSN to TheDreadedGMan Send a message via Yahoo to TheDreadedGMan Send a message via Skype™ to TheDreadedGMan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phaedrus2129 View Post
Only hiccup is that Windows would need a reinstall between each, since the chipsets are different. Linux might work better. Is the benchmark compatible with Linux?
Sadly no, it is only a Windows-based benchmark at this time, not to mention the results wouldn't compare between the different driver stack/filesystem/io schedulers etc

But yeah only do it if you really have the time, I think Win7 takes around 30 minutes to install... but probably a bit more if you count the time to rip the drive out and plug it in etc...

Not SATA III it's SATA 6Gbit/s
SATA cables are SATA cables, no such thing as a "SATA 6Gbit/s cable"

TheDreadedGMan is offline  
post #68 of 3822 Old 06-17-2010, 09:29 PM
PSU Buff
 
Phaedrus2129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chino Hills, CA
Posts: 16,520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1730
Send a message via Skype™ to Phaedrus2129
Yeah yeah, just a pain is all.

Burning books is like burning bras; after the adrenaline rush of the symbolic moment wears off all you're left with is a pile of ashes and unsupported boobs.
Phaedrus2129 is offline  
post #69 of 3822 Old 06-17-2010, 09:33 PM - Thread Starter
Solid State
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Waiheke Island, NZ
Posts: 3,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 383
Send a message via MSN to TheDreadedGMan Send a message via Yahoo to TheDreadedGMan Send a message via Skype™ to TheDreadedGMan
Quote:
Originally Posted by H969 View Post
Here is my new intel 80Gb......
You got the offset color wrong again, I've fixed it.

Just wondering what did you create the partition with?

BTW: you're in the top 4 now

Not SATA III it's SATA 6Gbit/s
SATA cables are SATA cables, no such thing as a "SATA 6Gbit/s cable"

TheDreadedGMan is offline  
post #70 of 3822 Old 06-18-2010, 10:19 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDreadedGMan View Post
You got the offset color wrong again, I've fixed it.

Just wondering what did you create the partition with?

BTW: you're in the top 4 now
Hmm top 4, not bad, see how long it last there. Oh the 32K bad color now I get it, sheesh...Thx for the fix..Again

I did not create the partion because I don't know how.
Just did a win7 image and transfered it to the new drive,so it just kept the 32K Bad, can you or anybody tell me where to get the info for doing the partition? Or what software to use, I am asuming that I will have to do a fresh install, and then lose all my data? settings?,I do have backups, but how to get them onto the drive and keep it from doing the 32K bad again?
But I did a fresh install on the 40GB when I went from XP to W7 and W7 did not create the partions.
It would be intresting to see if it would speed up the 80GB drive, and the 40GB also.
I was looking at the spreedsheet and now I see why the 40GB drive seems Faster than the 80gb. The 40GB drive is faster in the 4K read, and also the access times, it is a small diffrence, but real world usage, I can feel it! I don't do much with large files, but when I do the 80GB Rocks!
H969 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off