[IGN/WC] Blizzard Planning to Remaster and Re-release Warcraft 3, Diablo 2, and Starcraft - Page 13 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 136 Old 11-06-2015, 10:39 PM
 
Assirra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oubadah View Post

It can be an influence. Just look at all the games that have that distinctive UE3 look.
I assume you mean the plastic looking models with all the shine?

While that is true for some games, a quick list at all the games made by the engine shows there are clearly games without that look.







All 3 from the same engine and i would say they look vastly different. It all depends on what the developer does with it.

Assirra is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 136 Old 11-06-2015, 10:47 PM
 
Oubadah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Assirra View Post

I assume you mean the plastic looking models with all the shine?

While that is true for some games, a quick list at all the games made by the engine shows there are clearly games without that look.
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)





All 3 from the same engine and i would say they look vastly different. It all depends on what the developer does with it.

I didn't mean to suggest that it was an inevitability, but it is a risk. Like Batman AA and GOW - completely different devs, but they have that look. Yes, it is largely dependent on the devs.

Oubadah is offline  
post #123 of 136 Old 11-07-2015, 02:29 AM
Dark Themes Matter
 
TFL Replica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 14,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 539
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoloCamo View Post


I keep hearing this talk of WC3 not supporting more recent resolutions.. Meanwhile I just installed it on my 4k rig, and with a standard battle.net update that required a reboot of the game it perfectly scaled and supported full 4k fine..

 

The last time I fired it up, everything was stretched sideways on my 1080p screen. Might need to try it out again it seems.


Migration_Sherpa  Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant  1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

TFL Replica is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #124 of 136 Old 11-07-2015, 10:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ZealotKi11er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 44,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1787
Quote:
Originally Posted by zealord View Post

I'd rather have Warcraft 4, but from the looks of it they aren't remaking anything. I am a little bit surprised that they haven't announced a new Diablo 3 addon at Blizzcon. Maybe next year?

If they would do remakes then I'd love Diablo 2 or Warcraft 2 smile.gif

There is no reason for Warcraft 4 right now because i will look same as Heros of the Storm. I think another 2-3 years before we get Warcraft 4 news.

CPU History (Click to show)
CPU -> Sempron 2400+, Athlon 64 3700+, Core 2 Q6600, A8-3870K, Core 2 Q9550, Core 2 QX9770, Core i7 920, Core i5 2500K, Core i5 3570K, Phenom II X4 955, Core i7 3770K.
GPU History (Click to show)
FX 5200 128MB, 9800 Pro 128MB, 6800GS 256MB, 7600GT 256MB, HD 4850 512MB, HD 4870 1GB, 2x HD 4870 1GB, GTX280 1GB, HD 5850 1GB, GTX470 1.25GB, GTX580 1.5GB, HD 6950 2GB, HD 6950 2GB + HD 6970 2GB, HD 6990 2GB, HD 7970 3GB, 2 x HD 7970 3GB,R9 290 4GB, R9 290X 4GB, R9 Fury X 4GB, GTX 1080 8GB, GTX1080 Ti 11GB
MB History (Click to show)
ECS KN1 Extreme -> ASUS P5Q-E -> GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD7 -> GIGABYTE GA-Z68XP-UD4 -> GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H -> ASRock Z77E-ITX

Chimp Challenge Participant  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

ZealotKi11er is offline  
post #125 of 136 Old 11-07-2015, 10:33 AM
PC Gamer
 
Twist86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35




I drool at the idea of having Diablo 2 updated.....for almost 10 years I wished to play it at 1920x1080. Then can you imagine if Median Mod / pluggy updated for the new version as well......I'm swooning like a school girl over this news. I would gladly pay triple digits for this to happen simply because I have spent over a thousand hours playing Diablo 2 / LOD.

Twist86 is offline  
post #126 of 136 Old 11-07-2015, 10:46 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
adamkatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by darealist View Post

They should make new games instead of sitting on the WoW goldmine. I want Diablo 4! Warcraft 4! And no MMOs and MOBAs!


Nope because game developers are like journalists nowadays, lazy.

adamkatt is offline  
post #127 of 136 Old 11-07-2015, 11:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ZealotKi11er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 44,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1787
Quote:
Originally Posted by adamkatt View Post

Nope because game developers are like journalists nowadays, lazy.

Nope because they make new game and people say how much better the ones ones where. In case for Blizzard.

CPU History (Click to show)
CPU -> Sempron 2400+, Athlon 64 3700+, Core 2 Q6600, A8-3870K, Core 2 Q9550, Core 2 QX9770, Core i7 920, Core i5 2500K, Core i5 3570K, Phenom II X4 955, Core i7 3770K.
GPU History (Click to show)
FX 5200 128MB, 9800 Pro 128MB, 6800GS 256MB, 7600GT 256MB, HD 4850 512MB, HD 4870 1GB, 2x HD 4870 1GB, GTX280 1GB, HD 5850 1GB, GTX470 1.25GB, GTX580 1.5GB, HD 6950 2GB, HD 6950 2GB + HD 6970 2GB, HD 6990 2GB, HD 7970 3GB, 2 x HD 7970 3GB,R9 290 4GB, R9 290X 4GB, R9 Fury X 4GB, GTX 1080 8GB, GTX1080 Ti 11GB
MB History (Click to show)
ECS KN1 Extreme -> ASUS P5Q-E -> GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD7 -> GIGABYTE GA-Z68XP-UD4 -> GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H -> ASRock Z77E-ITX

Chimp Challenge Participant  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

ZealotKi11er is offline  
post #128 of 136 Old 11-10-2015, 10:17 AM
PC Gamer
 
ilhe4e12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Scranton PA United States
Posts: 1,234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I would kill for WC1 and WC2 remakes....

WC2 was the game that got me into RTS as I got a demo of WC2 on a PC Gamer disc, it was amazing and I need it back in my life

"Freedom is the right of all sentient beings" - Optimus Prime
ilhe4e12345 is offline  
post #129 of 136 Old 11-10-2015, 10:21 AM
Console Gamer
 
redfroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 105
If they did a remake of Warcraft 2 I'd imagine I'd sell organs if necessary. Maybe my firstborn, and some one eles's if needed. But Warcraft 3 was meh.

Dear mods: Please delete this post for being off topic because reasons

redfroth is offline  
post #130 of 136 Old 11-10-2015, 11:12 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
xenophobe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 6,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 327
WC2 was really awesome because it was one of the first games to come out with CD quality soundtracks. Most games at that time still used midi tracks and along comes WC2 with an amazing soundtrack. It came out 20 years ago and I can still remember a few of the tracks....
xenophobe is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off