H80 / H80i / H90 / H100 / H100i / H110 Case Compatibility Thread (Page 1 for full listings) - Page 102 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1011 of 1516 Old 08-17-2013, 03:19 AM
2.4ghz
 
senna89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by maneil99 View Post

What frequency are you ruuning at and what vcore?
Default but my Tamb was 29°
This cheap AIO need many CFM to run correctly, otherwise its not competitive.

Try to :

- put your H80i in intake air mode
- set the fans at least in push or pull / push ( better )
- set the fans in the radiator to max ( disable Qfan )

and will see.
senna89 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1012 of 1516 Old 08-17-2013, 05:23 AM
Intel Overclocker
 
maneil99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by senna89 View Post

Default but my Tamb was 29°
This cheap AIO need many CFM to run correctly, otherwise its not competitive.

Try to :

- put your H80i in intake air mode
- set the fans at least in push or pull / push ( better )
- set the fans in the radiator to max ( disable Qfan )

and will see.
I figured it out, took it off to see the TIM, seems like it wasn;t making contact with the middle of the CPU, what do I do?
maneil99 is offline  
post #1013 of 1516 Old 08-17-2013, 07:51 AM
Programmer
 
DUpgrade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by maneil99 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by senna89 View Post

Default but my Tamb was 29°
This cheap AIO need many CFM to run correctly, otherwise its not competitive.

Try to :

- put your H80i in intake air mode
- set the fans at least in push or pull / push ( better )
- set the fans in the radiator to max ( disable Qfan )

and will see.
I figured it out, took it off to see the TIM, seems like it wasn;t making contact with the middle of the CPU, what do I do?

Some mobos have caps that hit the tubes on the right side of the block causing improper contact. The only way I have seen people fix it is to rotate it 90 degrees clockwise so the tubes are coming out the bottom. The Corsair logo will of course also be sideways too however the block should make proper contact with your IHS. Don't reuse the stock thermal paste make sure you clean it off the block and IHS with 90%+ isopropyl alcohol and reapply TIM on the IHS. With TIM less is more and let the block itself spread it for you too.

"People willing to trade their freedom for temporary security deserve neither and will lose both." ~ Ben Franklin

Chimp Challenge Participant  9 Million+ Folding at Home points 

DUpgrade is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1014 of 1516 Old 08-17-2013, 07:51 AM
2.4ghz
 
senna89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by maneil99 View Post

I figured it out, took it off to see the TIM, seems like it wasn;t making contact with the middle of the CPU, what do I do?
how do you know it ?
have you see the thermal compound imprint in the IHS and WB base ?
senna89 is offline  
post #1015 of 1516 Old 08-17-2013, 12:45 PM
Overclocker in Training
 
NotAnotherHong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Yakima, Wa
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 5
How about the Rosewill mid tower Blackhawk case? Trying to look it up for a friend.
NotAnotherHong is offline  
post #1016 of 1516 Old 08-17-2013, 01:33 PM
Programmer
 
DUpgrade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by NotAnotherHong View Post

How about the Rosewill mid tower Blackhawk case? Trying to look it up for a friend.

How about some specifics on which cooler they're looking at putting in it? Too many possible answers without knowing the question.

"People willing to trade their freedom for temporary security deserve neither and will lose both." ~ Ben Franklin

Chimp Challenge Participant  9 Million+ Folding at Home points 

DUpgrade is offline  
post #1017 of 1516 Old 08-17-2013, 02:00 PM
Intel Overclocker
 
maneil99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by senna89 View Post

how do you know it ?
have you see the thermal compound imprint in the IHS and WB base ?
I took off the waterblock and saw a big circle in the middle of the CPU with no paste whereas the rest was covered. the WB itself had a matching circle of paste left on it. I got them to remount it but temps are the same so I assume its still not making contact. There was about a 3rd of the CPU in the middle with no TIM. Should I get them to mount the WB first this time? Maybe the stiffness of the hose is causing it not to make contact when screwing down?
maneil99 is offline  
post #1018 of 1516 Old 08-17-2013, 03:52 PM
2.4ghz
 
senna89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
what is your mobo ?

if your WB is obstructed or tock some capacitors u can see, generally its evident, not difficult.
senna89 is offline  
post #1019 of 1516 Old 08-17-2013, 04:14 PM
Intel Overclocker
 
maneil99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by senna89 View Post

what is your mobo ?

if your WB is obstructed or tock some capacitors u can see, generally its evident, not difficult.

Asus Gene V
maneil99 is offline  
post #1020 of 1516 Old 08-18-2013, 02:03 AM
2.4ghz
 
senna89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Are u using the hard stock paste ?
Because if the paste is glued a few to WB and few in the IHS is normal.
try to change the thermal compoun with another
senna89 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off