EVGA GTX580 Classified Hydro Copper Watercooling - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 69 Old 11-16-2011, 10:53 AM
WaterCooler
 
Haze_hellivo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Portugal
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 45
447

500
I'm using the first and third slot.
I dont see the difference in the spacing, do you care to ilustrate?.
Haze_hellivo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 69 Old 11-16-2011, 10:58 AM
WaterCooler
 
bulow85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sweden
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
One thing, if you plan on doing paralell... then the restriction of the block should`t matter right? close to even pressure on all cards so no point in doing seperate loops. just get a good pump! thumb.gif

bulow85 is offline  
post #13 of 69 Old 11-16-2011, 11:22 AM - Thread Starter
 
jblanc03's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angrybutcher View Post

The Rampage IV has a single slot spacing between each PCIx slot. It will be further apart than Haze's pictures, but would still run into the same issue. The EVGA block does have ports on both sides of the block though, so you could run the top two cards in parallel, with inlet and outlet on the top side of the top card, then the bottom two cards in parallel with the inlet and outlet on the bottom of the bottom card.
I still think that dual loops for the 4 cards is major overkill, even as restrictive as the blocks are. Dual MCP35x pumps will be more than sufficient if the entire system was one loop.

I was actually planning to use 2 mcp35x pumps in parraell for each loop LOL

I bought 4 in total just for the GPU's lol

i basically wanted the most efficient solution to solve the high restriction problem with those cards. And since i have the Case for it. I said what the hay!

So are you absolutley sure that it wont make any difference if i did it that way?

jblanc03 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 69 Old 11-16-2011, 11:43 AM
WaterCooler
 
Los Hog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 206
hydrodynamics will beat money everyday

thumb.gif
Los Hog is offline  
post #15 of 69 Old 11-17-2011, 01:18 AM
WaterCooler
 
bulow85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sweden
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Sure, when you do serial the retriction of the blocks slows down flow... but not very much. When you run parallel there is no restriction after each card since water enters all cards @ the time. pressure may drop some , thats why its more important to have a good pump when doing paralell, and temps are usually more even on all cards... in serial the temps go up by 1-2 degrees after each cards. or it did for me when i did serial...


bulow85 is offline  
post #16 of 69 Old 11-17-2011, 03:00 AM - Thread Starter
 
jblanc03's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Ok thanks for clearing that up,

Here is what i had in mind:

I have 2 Liquid Fusion V Series "2nd Generation" Reservoir - UV Cathode - UV Green Helix

and 4 mcp35x pumps

I know 4 pumps is overkill for a paraell loop but would it be possible to use them all for the gpus's i have other pumps already in use for the CPU/Ram/Motherboard loop.


I have the TH10 caslabs case and i really wanted to occupy as much space as i could.

Or if it wont work, then how would you connect 2 mcp35x pumps to these reservoirs?

thanks



jblanc03 is offline  
post #17 of 69 Old 11-17-2011, 03:08 AM
WaterCooler
 
bulow85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sweden
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I guess you could run 2 pump in serial before GPU`s and 2 pumps in serial after GPU`s biggrin.gif
or one before GPU, one after Gpu, one after Res, etc... think you could place them in anyway you want thruout your loop...
Still 4 pumps! Massive overkill on a single loop haha! But i love overkill thumb.gif

bulow85 is offline  
post #18 of 69 Old 11-17-2011, 05:32 AM - Thread Starter
 
jblanc03's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angrybutcher View Post

The Rampage IV has a single slot spacing between each PCIx slot. It will be further apart than Haze's pictures, but would still run into the same issue. The EVGA block does have ports on both sides of the block though, so you could run the top two cards in parallel, with inlet and outlet on the top side of the top card, then the bottom two cards in parallel with the inlet and outlet on the bottom of the bottom card.
I still think that dual loops for the 4 cards is major overkill, even as restrictive as the blocks are. Dual MCP35x pumps will be more than sufficient if the entire system was one loop.

This sounds like a great idea!

Could you illustrate this for me? i am trying my best to visualize this in my head, but im having trouble.

Just a simple illustration

I would really appreciate it. Thanks

jblanc03 is offline  
post #19 of 69 Old 11-17-2011, 07:41 AM
Professional Procrastinator
 
Angrybutcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Posts: 4,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Angrybutcher is offline  
post #20 of 69 Old 11-17-2011, 09:52 AM - Thread Starter
 
jblanc03's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angrybutcher View Post

Something like this. For ease of drawing, the pumps are integrated into the reservoirs.
th10.jpg

WOw now i clearly understand how it would work!

Thanks alot! i think this will be exactly how i will do them.

Question: what if i wanted to run each loop with 2 mcp35x pumps each?

Im guessing i will need an extra reservoir for each extra pump.

jblanc03 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off