Water cooling components assessment - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 22 Old 04-10-2012, 11:58 AM - Thread Starter
Programmer
 
mvrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I think I'll go for the PMP-450 with a top. I should be able to live without the vibration dampening pad as the PMP-450 seems better and cheaper.

mvrb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 22 Old 04-10-2012, 12:10 PM
WaterCooler
 
mm67's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 259
mm67 is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 04-10-2012, 12:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
GingerJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 7,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 853

True, I missed that on the list. Brain fart.

@OP, this is probably a better deal for you.

Inspiring Quotes (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CorsairGeorge go_quote.gif

All of our new products will be carved out of styrofoam and painted to look like actual parts. And we will be tripling the price on everything. And closing customer service and tech support. Our new corporate motto will be "Too Bad, Jerks."
Quote:
Originally Posted by SIDWULF go_quote.gif

Console? just to play with friends and relax on the couch?
HAH! nice try Microsoft and Sony! I don't have any friends!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fonzie1225 go_quote.gif

I want everyone to know that I kiss every CPU I install before sticking it in the motherboard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alatar go_quote.gif

I'm actually somewhat annoying
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrews2547 go_quote.gif

I'm never sarcastic in the news section.
GingerJohn is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 22 Old 04-10-2012, 12:55 PM - Thread Starter
Programmer
 
mvrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1

Am I right about this:

http://www.highflow.nl/pompen/laing-swiftech/pompen-nl/alphacool-d5-vpp655-single-edition-no-top.html

^That is a pump that will accept the 3/8" tubing

http://www.highflow.nl/pompen/laing-swiftech/tops/ek-d5-x-top-g1-4-rev.2.html
^That is a top for the MCP-655 pump that will accept my 3/8" tubing (It won't fit on the PMP-450, right?)

mvrb is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 04-10-2012, 01:03 PM
WaterCooler
 
mm67's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by mvrb View Post

Am I right about this:
http://www.highflow.nl/pompen/laing-swiftech/pompen-nl/alphacool-d5-vpp655-single-edition-no-top.html
^That is a pump that will accept the 3/8" tubing
http://www.highflow.nl/pompen/laing-swiftech/tops/ek-d5-x-top-g1-4-rev.2.html
^That is a top for the MCP-655 pump that will accept my 3/8" tubing (It won't fit on the PMP-450, right?)

That Alphacool pump by it self will accept no kind of tubing since it comes without a top. Top is where you connect your fittings, one I linked has threads so you can use any kind of fittings with it. MCP655 and PMP450 have integrated 1/2" barbs as fittings, if you get one those you will have to remove stock and replace it with a top like that EK one. Both will work work but you will just pay extra for a stock top that you don't use.


mm67 is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 04-10-2012, 01:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
GingerJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 7,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 853
The VPP655, MCP655 and PMP-450 are all based on the same pump - the Laing D5

The VPP655 does not have a top - you need to buy either a top or a res that will hold it. As such it has no tube connections at all, and will not work as is.

The top that you linked has G1/4 threaded ports - it will work with any G1/4 fittings, like the ones that you linked in your first post. The top will fit all variants of the MCP655, VPP655, PMP-450 and Laing D5.

You can buy the VPP655, the EK top and use your fittings.
mvrb likes this.

Inspiring Quotes (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CorsairGeorge go_quote.gif

All of our new products will be carved out of styrofoam and painted to look like actual parts. And we will be tripling the price on everything. And closing customer service and tech support. Our new corporate motto will be "Too Bad, Jerks."
Quote:
Originally Posted by SIDWULF go_quote.gif

Console? just to play with friends and relax on the couch?
HAH! nice try Microsoft and Sony! I don't have any friends!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fonzie1225 go_quote.gif

I want everyone to know that I kiss every CPU I install before sticking it in the motherboard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alatar go_quote.gif

I'm actually somewhat annoying
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrews2547 go_quote.gif

I'm never sarcastic in the news section.
GingerJohn is online now  
post #17 of 22 Old 04-10-2012, 01:16 PM - Thread Starter
Programmer
 
mvrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hmm, ok. I am pretty sure that I will go with

Pump: http://highflow.nl/pompen/laing-swiftech/pompen-nl/koolance-pump-pmp-450.html
and
Top: http://www.highflow.nl/pompen/laing-swiftech/tops/ek-d5-x-top-g1-4-rev.2.html

and keep the 3/8" ID - 5/8" OD tubing.

Thanks!

mvrb is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 04-10-2012, 01:25 PM
PC Gamer
 
yanks8981's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Get colored tubing and dont spent 23 USD on coolant when you could spent 1 USD on distilled water.

yanks8981 is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 04-10-2012, 04:00 PM
333mhz
 
bmxtom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
The pump top would solve all your problem, but just wanted to ask if you are sure you have enough space to run the tubes without any rotary fittings or adapters?

bmxtom is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 04-10-2012, 06:06 PM
 
CMDPromptX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
First, there is nothing wrong with your parts list in general (after the discussion that has taken place so far), but a quick question:

I know that your case (HAF 932) can fit a 120x3 rad in the top, but the Phobya rad is 60mm thick (which is as thick as a 360 comes), are you sure it will fit with the fans (60+25mm==85mm) in the top of your case? I don't own one so I'm not sure, but I know people that have made that mistake before on other cases.... Not all 360 rads are created equal.

Oh.. and coolant... ick.

Good luck!
CMDPromptX is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off