need advice, i'm planning on upgrading my cooling (1090T) - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 31 Old 04-22-2012, 08:29 AM - Thread Starter
733mhz
 
daemon7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
i currently have a Corsair H50 as says in my sig

my chip isn't the greatest in the bunch but it's also not the worst (i think)

i have a cpu oc to 3.7ghz with 1.33v

and cpu/nb 2.4ghz at 1.162v *edited* (just a bit above stock v)

and both oc are quite stable

corsair h50 is only meant for 3.7ghz~ if you ask me, but i want to upgrade

i was messing around a while back with oc up to 4ghz, NOT stable trust me, because the temps were way too high. my cooling isn't good enough BUT (while keeping very close attention to temps) i needed quite high voltages to come near stability.

i forget exactly how much but i remember above1.5v!

that's quite high i believe, anyways

knowing my chip isn't one of the best, i don't want to get too expensive of cooling because my voltages need to be higher than average and well, the higher the frequency, even "more higher" the voltage needs to be, so is real good cooling (above $200) really cost effective?

i would love 4ghz, and of course more, but again i need higher than average voltages

so basically i'm trying to get advice to make a decision on how much i should invest in cooling

so what kind of cooling (and price) do you think i'll need to reach 4-4.2ghz with the type of 1090T chip that i have?

daemon7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 31 Old 04-22-2012, 08:39 AM
 
richie_2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: blackpool
Posts: 4,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 175
1.6 v on your cpu nb.
my 1055t runs 1.15v on mine stock.

i think you need to start by reading ellgappos guide to overcloking
http://www.overclock.net/t/777378/official-gappos-little-deneb-thuban-overclocking-guide-with-too-many-smileys

as for a cooler the h50 is good but what are you looking to spend on a new one and where are you from?
richie_2010 is offline  
post #3 of 31 Old 04-22-2012, 08:42 AM - Thread Starter
733mhz
 
daemon7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
ok thanks, yea i thought stock because i went a couple notches above "auto" on cpu/nb v

is that not the same thing "near" stock?

i live in BC Canada

and i can spend max $200 but money is tight i'm gonna have to save up for a while but i would much rather pay less, all i want is 4ghz and hopefully 4.2ghz

daemon7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 31 Old 04-22-2012, 08:47 AM - Thread Starter
733mhz
 
daemon7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
oh sorry.. i made a mistake

it's not at 1.62v (my cpu/nb v)

it's at 1.162v

sorry! i am very tired

daemon7 is offline  
post #5 of 31 Old 04-22-2012, 08:49 AM
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 17,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 844
i agree with richie. that cpu/nb voltage should below your cpu vcore or close to it. for 2400MHz it should still be at stock.

use el gappo's guide as suggested. imo, a H100 with add'l fans will be your best option. no need to spend too much on our chips. get a good quality paste like the mx-4 or something.

edit: saw your edit. here's the club . . .

http://www.overclock.net/t/751576/1090t-owners-club

may i add, in case you don't know and if you have two sticks of RAM, make sure they are on the black dimm slots. better for oc'ing.
rdr09 is offline  
post #6 of 31 Old 04-22-2012, 08:49 AM
 
richie_2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: blackpool
Posts: 4,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 175
that sort of money is custom wc territory which if youi want you can go for but a air cooler would suffice.
could you link websites where you buy computer stuff from as im not fimiliar with stores in canada.

leaving the voltages on auto will mean that your board will decide what it thinks is best for your system now while at stock that maybe ok but when ocing that is a problem and i bet the 1.6 is causing your temp issues. revert all oc bact to stock for now.
as i said read that guide 1st and get all the software ready, we wont use amd overdrive just the bios as its easier.

( k voltage is ok then for nb)
richie_2010 is offline  
post #7 of 31 Old 04-22-2012, 08:52 AM - Thread Starter
733mhz
 
daemon7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
sorry i caused so much confusion heh

i don't really buy from sites i buy my computer stuff from a local guy that owns his own small shop but websites like www.newegg.ca is accurate

daemon7 is offline  
post #8 of 31 Old 04-22-2012, 08:54 AM - Thread Starter
733mhz
 
daemon7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
how are people getting 4ghz with the same cooling i have? what's wrong with my set up? the guy that set up my computer is very educated so i'm sure he used good glue and stuff but wow, if i can get 4ghz i'll be really happy haha, i wouldn't even bother with better cooling

what might be wrong?

daemon7 is offline  
post #9 of 31 Old 04-22-2012, 08:55 AM
 
richie_2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: blackpool
Posts: 4,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by daemon7 View Post

sorry i caused so much confusion heh
i don't really buy from sites i buy my computer stuff from a local guy that owns his own small shop but websites like www.newegg.ca is accurate

sometimes smaller shops can have good deals but online stores can be cheaper especially since small shops have to mark up for their profit.
ah we all get confused sometimes
richie_2010 is offline  
post #10 of 31 Old 04-22-2012, 08:58 AM
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 17,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 844
Quote:
Originally Posted by daemon7 View Post

how are people getting 4ghz with the same cooling i have? what's wrong with my set up? the guy that set up my computer is very educated so i'm sure he used good glue and stuff but wow, if i can get 4ghz i'll be really happy haha, i wouldn't even bother with better cooling
what might be wrong?

the h50. better cooling will allow you to lower your vcore, thus higher oc. i think you answered your own question in the op.
rdr09 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off