what is minimum PSU for WC? - Page 3 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 42 Old 01-22-2013, 08:21 PM - Thread Starter
 
daytona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
on old system i dont have any PSU rite now so i am looking for another one

on new rig i use seasonic 620 it should be modular if i am remember rite??? i will upgrade to 7950 soon

daytona is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 42 Old 01-22-2013, 08:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Brooklyn Park, Mini Soda
Posts: 76,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 6212

Can you order from Newegg.com?


 Semi-Classic Firefox Add-ons Manager (CSS script)

 

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.

TwoCables is online now  
post #23 of 42 Old 01-22-2013, 08:24 PM - Thread Starter
 
daytona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoCables View Post

Can you order from Newegg.com?

yes but i dont want to spend too much on old rig tho ,,
and i will need some decent cpu fan up to 20$???

daytona is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 42 Old 01-22-2013, 08:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Brooklyn Park, Mini Soda
Posts: 76,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 6212
Quote:
Originally Posted by daytona View Post


yes but i dont want to spend too much on old rig tho ,,
and i will need some decent cpu fan up to 20$???

 

Oh, did you lose the Intel stock cooler?


 Semi-Classic Firefox Add-ons Manager (CSS script)

 

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.

TwoCables is online now  
post #25 of 42 Old 01-22-2013, 08:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Erick Silver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: STEALIN' YER SAMMICH!!
Posts: 9,805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Send a message via Skype™ to Erick Silver
I'm running a Antec High Current Gamer 620w and running a H60, Phenom II X6 1090t overclocked to 3.8Ghz. 2x 120mm Fans in Push/pull, 2x 200MM fans, GTX560 overclocked to 875Mhz and 100%fan profile, GT240, 3 hard drives, 2x 24" Red LED Light stirps. I have plenty of juice left. You should be in good shape as I don't think the H100 pump uses that much more power than the H60 Pump.

"I REJECT YOUR REALITY, AND SUBSITUTE MY OWN!" - Adam Savage
I FOLD FOR! (Click to show)
MY MOTHER IN LAW. A 2X BREAST CANCER SURVIVOR.~ MY SISTER IN LAW. A LUNG CANCER SURVIVOR
MY SISTER TAKEN AT AGE 25 BY OVARIAN CANCER.~FOR MY MOTHER TAKEN AT AGE 50 BY OVARIAN CANCER
MY GRANDMOTHER TAKEN BY CANCER AND ALZHEIMERS DISEASE
DON'T TRY AND PERSUADE ME NOT TO FOLD, IT WILL FALL ON DEAF EARS
CLICK FOR MY CLUBS!! (Click to show)
Erick Silver is online now  
post #26 of 42 Old 01-22-2013, 08:33 PM - Thread Starter
 
daytona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoCables View Post

Oh, did you lose the Intel stock cooler?
yes i broke pin on old stock one tho and then i bought new cm 212 + was using with old rig and then i upgrade it to new rig with new cpu i2500 and new mobo and rams and using 212+ ;biggrin.gif

daytona is offline  
post #27 of 42 Old 01-22-2013, 08:33 PM
Intel Overclocker
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Send a message via MSN to Stige Send a message via Skype™ to Stige
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoCables View Post

A good 550W power supply would be enough for a system that has two 7950s in it.  wink.gif

I would say it has to be _REALLY_ good to survive that, the HCG-620 I have is pretty good and when playing BF3 the PSU fan goes crazy, propably pushing it near the limits when playing but no crashes or instability so smile.gif

kbab?
Stige is online now  
post #28 of 42 Old 01-22-2013, 08:38 PM - Thread Starter
 
daytona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erick Silver View Post

I'm running a Antec High Current Gamer 620w and running a H60, Phenom II X6 1090t overclocked to 3.8Ghz. 2x 120mm Fans in Push/pull, 2x 200MM fans, GTX560 overclocked to 875Mhz and 100%fan profile, GT240, 3 hard drives, 2x 24" Red LED Light stirps. I have plenty of juice left. You should be in good shape as I don't think the H100 pump uses that much more power than the H60 Pump.

ok cool thanks!! so in case i want to do crossfire in future will handle my psu 2 7950 or probably no?

daytona is offline  
post #29 of 42 Old 01-22-2013, 08:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Erick Silver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: STEALIN' YER SAMMICH!!
Posts: 9,805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Send a message via Skype™ to Erick Silver
Quote:
Originally Posted by daytona View Post

ok cool thanks!! so in case i want to do crossfire in future will handle my psu 2 7950 or probably no?

Probably, but keep an ear and eye on it. If you start to hear coil whine its time to replace. Also, If you are going to be doing large overclocks I would look into a 750w. Just to be on the safe side. Thats my opinion.

"I REJECT YOUR REALITY, AND SUBSITUTE MY OWN!" - Adam Savage
I FOLD FOR! (Click to show)
MY MOTHER IN LAW. A 2X BREAST CANCER SURVIVOR.~ MY SISTER IN LAW. A LUNG CANCER SURVIVOR
MY SISTER TAKEN AT AGE 25 BY OVARIAN CANCER.~FOR MY MOTHER TAKEN AT AGE 50 BY OVARIAN CANCER
MY GRANDMOTHER TAKEN BY CANCER AND ALZHEIMERS DISEASE
DON'T TRY AND PERSUADE ME NOT TO FOLD, IT WILL FALL ON DEAF EARS
CLICK FOR MY CLUBS!! (Click to show)
Erick Silver is online now  
post #30 of 42 Old 01-22-2013, 08:47 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Brooklyn Park, Mini Soda
Posts: 76,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 6212
Quote:
Originally Posted by daytona View Post


yes i broke pin on old stock one tho and then i bought new cm 212 + was using with old rig and then i upgrade it to new rig with new cpu i2500 and new mobo and rams ;biggrin.gif

 

So then stop upgrading!  :)

 

Anyway, the Corsair CX430 is going for $44.99 shipped at Newegg right now, and then you can get a $20 rebate card in the mail.  If you were able to order it tonight, then you could get it for $39.99 with their promo code EMCYTZT2819:

 

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139026

 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stige View Post


I would say it has to be _REALLY_ good to survive that, the HCG-620 I have is pretty good and when playing BF3 the PSU fan goes crazy, propably pushing it near the limits when playing but no crashes or instability so smile.gif

 

From the reviews below, I come up with a maximum of about 530W being pulled out of the PSU if the 7950s and the 2500K are under full load at the same time - but I don't know how often that happens.

 

http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/his_radeon_hd_7950_review,8.html

 

It shows here that one 7950 pulls 138W.  138 x 2 is 276.  However, they get 279W here, so I'll go with 279W.  The idle wattage was 165W for the single 7950, and it would be about 175W after adding the 2nd 7950W.  So with two 7950s under full load in their system, that would make their PSU at about 85% efficiency pulling about 450W from the wall outlet.  Your CPU under full load overclocked to 5 GHz is probably pulling about 175W at the most.  So just for a worst case scenario where the 7950s and the 2500K @ 5 GHz are under full load at the same time, that would make their PSU at 85% efficiency pulling about 625W from the wall outlet.

 

So if it's 85% efficient while pulling 625W from the wall outlet, then that means the system is pulling about 531W from the PSU.  This means that a quality-made continuous-rated 550W power supply would have no problem with this.  After all, how often would you have the 7950s and the 2500K under maximum load at the same time?  :)

 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by daytona View Post


ok cool thanks!! so in case i want to do crossfire in future will handle my psu 2 7950 or probably no?

The 620W SeaSonic is what Antec used to make the HCG-620.  So, the above applies to you too.  ;)


 Semi-Classic Firefox Add-ons Manager (CSS script)

 

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.

TwoCables is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off