[Build Log] H U L K S M A S H - Page 9 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #81 of 114 Old 04-19-2013, 11:08 PM - Thread Starter
 
INCREDIBLEHULK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 113
thanks for the response mate wink.gif
wasn't expecting any untill tomorrow!

Sadly, looking at the way I'm going to do the loop, that top's outlet might make me use more tubing than I want and the outlets both being on one end make it a bit more difficult

Guess i'll take some extra time searching and planning as I don't want to order anything on the weekend anyhow

Edit
dumb question of the night tongue.gif Would putting a right angle fitting right at the outlet of the top cut more pressure than a right angle anywhere in the loop?
INCREDIBLEHULK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #82 of 114 Old 04-20-2013, 12:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Stickeelion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 64
A right angle is fine on the outlet just make sure the inlet has a straight fitting otherwise the balance of the impeller will be affected.

Don't be worried about pressure unless every single one of your fittings is a right angle. You'll be fine mate thumb.gif
Stickeelion is offline  
post #83 of 114 Old 04-20-2013, 01:48 AM
 
Jakusonfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Newcastle, NSW, Australia
Posts: 4,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 552
Many pump tops have a 90 degree turn leading to the impeller and they work fine.

Jakusonfire is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #84 of 114 Old 04-20-2013, 03:05 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Stickeelion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Jakusonfire, I learn't that from martin, If you don't take it from the man himself I don't know who you can believe, His post saying that is here
Stickeelion is offline  
post #85 of 114 Old 04-20-2013, 03:29 AM
Magoo made me do it.
 
B NEGATIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Yes.
Posts: 9,767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 777
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stickeelion View Post

Jakusonfire, I learn't that from martin, If you don't take it from the man himself I don't know who you can believe, His post saying that is here



Laing stock DDC.

I also have a 90 inlet on my D5 strongs in series and it makes no measurable difference in performance,however you can get airlocks easier and it can get noisy during the bleeding process.
B NEGATIVE is offline  
post #86 of 114 Old 04-20-2013, 04:11 AM
 
Jakusonfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Newcastle, NSW, Australia
Posts: 4,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 552
I didn't say there was no truth to it, just pointing out that its not uncommon to be arranged that way



On the bitspower D5 top water can come in the top inlet, turn 90 deg and hit the impeller. I had my EK D5 top set up with a 90 feeding into the front inlet and didn't notice any problems.

Jakusonfire is offline  
post #87 of 114 Old 04-20-2013, 10:15 PM - Thread Starter
 
INCREDIBLEHULK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 113
INCREDIBLEHULK is offline  
post #88 of 114 Old 04-21-2013, 12:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Stickeelion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 64
First choice I would go for the EK one, Looks good and is the best performing top out there. BTW that thing on the top is a stop covering an alternative outlet.

Second choice, Bitspower, not quite as much performance improvement, doesn't look as good but It has 4 ports, (one more than the EK) which makes it more versatile. You can also use the bitspower mod kit with it to make your pump with bling. (you can't use that kit with any other tops)

Third Alphacool

All tops will still give you a significant power increase though
Stickeelion is offline  
post #89 of 114 Old 04-21-2013, 01:41 AM
 
sakerfalcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
The Bitspower top has 5 ports, with an inlet at the bottom also.
sakerfalcon is offline  
post #90 of 114 Old 04-21-2013, 06:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Stickeelion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by sakerfalcon View Post

The Bitspower top has 5 ports, with an inlet at the bottom also.

My mistake, Thanks for correcting me sakerfalcon
Stickeelion is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off