How-to: EVGA GTX 780 Classified Hydrocopper Installation - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 08-22-2013, 09:27 PM - Thread Starter
 
Lord Odin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Here's a vid for people who may have trouble with adding a Hydrocopper waterblock to their 780 Classified. Hope it helps.
Poursang likes this.
Lord Odin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 08-22-2013, 09:44 PM
 
kimoswabi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Simple and easy. Love the toothpick idea. It would have also been great to see how the video card & Hydrocopper looks like in action. Great tutorial!
kimoswabi is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 08-23-2013, 07:33 AM
PC Gamer
 
clone38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Telford west-mids
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Cant you put the backplate on with the shim first like what you can do with the 680 Classified.

Corsair 900D watercooling build incoming.
clone38 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 08-23-2013, 09:08 AM - Thread Starter
 
Lord Odin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Not exactly because the first long screw needs to go in before the backplate goes on or else it gets covered up. It's wierd they didn't make a hole for it because that would be easier.
Lord Odin is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 08-23-2013, 10:09 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Nice video, although I would have liked to have seen the GPU shim installed.
DarkStarX is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 08-31-2013, 11:28 PM - Thread Starter
 
Lord Odin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStarX View Post

Nice video, although I would have liked to have seen the GPU shim installed.
Actually, the shim was installed. That's where the toothpick trick comes into play and prevents it from slipping around beneath the backplate.
Lord Odin is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 09-03-2013, 05:45 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Odin View Post

Actually, the shim was installed. That's where the toothpick trick comes into play and prevents it from slipping around beneath the backplate.

So the shim is under the backplate or on the front?
DarkStarX is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 09-03-2013, 07:55 AM - Thread Starter
 
Lord Odin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStarX View Post

So the shim is under the backplate or on the front?
It's between the board and the waterblock. It needed to go on first because there is a screw that needs to go in before the backplate is in installed.
Lord Odin is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 09-03-2013, 11:00 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Odin View Post

It's between the board and the waterblock. It needed to go on first because there is a screw that needs to go in before the backplate is in installed.

Okay, thanks.

I'm considering picking up a couple of these, I was planning on waiting until spring and getting them when I get everything for the rig I am going to build then and I had planned on getting the ones with the waterblock already attached, but I've started considering grabbing a one of the air cooled ones now and then buying the waterblock for it when I order a second water cooled for the full build in the spring.

My current rig has a i7-930 @ 3.4GHz and a Radeon HD 5970 2GB. I currently only use a single 24" 1920x1080 monitor in the spring I want to pick up a couple more 24" LCDs to go with it, or maybe a single 27-30 inch monitor with a res higher then 1080p
DarkStarX is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off