Q re WC v Air noise - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 02-28-2008, 05:58 AM - Thread Starter
AXP
333mhz
 
AXP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
OK I am preparing for new build and initially I was going air cooling but I am finding difficult to resist temptation to go WC.
Hence my question to those who made the move.

First the scenario.
I am trying to achieve lowest possible noise from ocd Q6600 + 2 x Nvidia 8/9xxx series + 780i. I plan to wc CPU,2xGPU and possibly NB.

My case will be the older CM stacker 810.
This box comes with 4 fans standard (3 x 120 + 80)
With air solution I will have TRUE with scythe low dba fan + 2 x DuOrb + fanless HR-05 for nb
I would also replace the 80mm blowhole case fan with scythe 120 (mod ). I may end up replacing the other 3 case fans with scythe low dba units if necessary.

So to sum up:
Air solution = at least 7 fans (not taking PSU into consideration at this time)

Now water cooling:
I will loose CPU + 2 x GPU fans but will gain at least 4 x 120 fan for 2 x 240 rads. And I will add 2 pumps (2 loops).
I intend to use low dba scythes for rads.
Will I end up with much louder setup at similar OC?

Please share you experiences
AXP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 02-28-2008, 07:55 AM
1.7ghz
 
mikester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I think in general my PC is quieter since I watercooled it. In fact, that's the only reason I WC'd the graphics card - because I couldn't stand the noise from the default cooler.

To keep the noise down, I run all my fans on a fan controller, on the lowest settings. I just split my loop into 2 loops and added a second pump (both are MCP-655v) and now I have a little vibration noise from the pump, but that's nothing a neoprene pad won't fix (cut up old mouse pads work great).

As for performance - on my CPU loop, I have a DTek fuzion with the quad nozzle, and am using a Swiftech MCR320 rad with YL medium speed fans (undervolted). I can't hear the fans at all (rad is mounted inside a TT Armor, in the front drive bays). My Q6600 is overclocked to 3.6 GHz running 1.475v vcore. Last night the ambient temp was 20C and I ran some quick tests - idle temp was 21C, load was 31C.

mikester is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 02-28-2008, 08:00 AM
 
Gollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 2,727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 140
I personally think watercooling is way to expensive and takes way to much time. If it yielded MUCH better temps for the MUCH bigger price tag and effort required then it might be worth considering. Since it does niether, get a Tuniq Tower or for WC'ish temps lap a TRUE.

10 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Gollie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 Old 02-28-2008, 08:02 AM
51° 31' 0 N 0° -6' 0 E
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winebar
Posts: 4,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikester View Post
load was 31C.


The world is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page.--Augustine (354-430)



1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

cognoscenti is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 02-28-2008, 08:29 AM
1.3ghz
 
biftek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gollie View Post
I personally think watercooling is way to expensive and takes way to much time. If it yielded MUCH better temps for the MUCH bigger price tag and effort required then it might be worth considering. Since it does niether, get a Tuniq Tower or for WC'ish temps lap a TRUE.
Thanks for contributing to the thread!

biftek is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 02-28-2008, 09:34 AM
51° 31' 0 N 0° -6' 0 E
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winebar
Posts: 4,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikester View Post
I think in general my PC is quieter since I watercooled it. In fact, that's the only reason I WC'd the graphics card - because I couldn't stand the noise from the default cooler.

To keep the noise down, I run all my fans on a fan controller, on the lowest settings. I just split my loop into 2 loops and added a second pump (both are MCP-655v) and now I have a little vibration noise from the pump, but that's nothing a neoprene pad won't fix (cut up old mouse pads work great).

As for performance - on my CPU loop, I have a DTek fuzion with the quad nozzle, and am using a Swiftech MCR320 rad with YL medium speed fans (undervolted). I can't hear the fans at all (rad is mounted inside a TT Armor, in the front drive bays). My Q6600 is overclocked to 3.6 GHz running 1.475v vcore. Last night the ambient temp was 20C and I ran some quick tests - idle temp was 21C, load was 31C.

Can we see some screens of this 31c 3.6ghz Quad on load?

Small ffts please.

The world is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page.--Augustine (354-430)



1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

cognoscenti is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 02-28-2008, 09:37 AM
 
Gollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 2,727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikester View Post
idle temp was 21C, load was 31C.

Dry Ice in the loop?!

10 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Gollie is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 02-28-2008, 09:37 AM
1.7ghz
 
mikester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by cognoscenti View Post
Can we see some screens of this 31c 3.6ghz Quad on load?

Small ffts please.
Yeah, I was surprised as well. I think that was on blend, not small ffts, so that will make a few degrees difference. Usually I get low 40's load - I figured it was a combination of the low ambient temp and splitting the loops so I don't have the heat dump from the video card in there.

I'll try again tonight and post screenshots.

mikester is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 02-28-2008, 02:27 PM
3.5ghz
 
cleverchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
was that on a cold boot?

*thread hijacked* sorry man

cleverchris is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 02-28-2008, 05:43 PM - Thread Starter
AXP
333mhz
 
AXP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by cleverchris View Post
was that on a cold boot?

*thread hijacked* sorry man
Its OK, I guess it does add to the discussion.
I think I need to do some cost comparison to help me decide.

If I go wc then I intend to have 2 x 240 rads. One for CPU + NB(maybe) and one for SLI. I would fit them internally in the top and rear top where the exhaust fans normally would be.
I would use 2 x 15mm low dba scythe fans with each rad in pull config with shrouds. I think having low CFM and low noise would still give much better cooling then when going completely passive on rads
AXP is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off