Build me a watercooling setup - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 03-27-2008, 09:24 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
fencefeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: West LA, California
Posts: 1,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Hey guys I recently got some extra cash to spend on my comp and I am finally considering making the jump to watercooling. I have about 450 to spend give or take about 50 bucks. I have absolutely zilch experience with it, all that I am somewhat familiar with is how it works and what you need. Any recommendations for a watercooling "kit" that has everything ready to go aside from the water blocks would probably be ideal for me. But I am pretty open to learning about how to build a setup if that is what you recommend.

Ok so with that said, here is what I plan on cooling: A Q9450 and one for sure or possibly even two 3870X2s. Any recommendations on everything that I need from the water blocks to the radiator to even the tubing would be awesome.

Thanks in advance

Quote:
Originally Posted by tha d0ctor go_quote.gif
If it doesn't promote camping and sprinting around with a knife I'm sold.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazyNikel go_quote.gif
This thread is about to get tag team'd harder then Jenna Jameson's 3-in-1 movies.

I'm human and sometimes I'm wrong--just tell me, I can take it smile.gif
fencefeet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 03-27-2008, 09:29 PM
Programmer
 
Wasting Away's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Send a message via AIM to Wasting Away
with around 450, you would be a lot better off building your own setup, rather than buying a "kit". I'll post you the link to another thread that i'm helping someone with so you can get some ideas as far as where you can start off.

Edit: Heres the link http://www.overclock.net/water-cooli...ml#post3618187

Also, check out these threads and get to know your surroundings in the water cooling area, so you know what everything is and what you're doing

http://www.overclock.net/water-cooli...ing-guide.html
http://www.overclock.net/water-cooli...g-english.html
http://www.overclock.net/water-cooli...ing-setup.html
fencefeet likes this.

Days can fade, and lives can slip away.
Any song can be silenced. It's time that we start this over.


MICHIGAN OVERCLOCKERS rolleyes.gif

Member of the OCN Diablo III Club
Wasting Away is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 03-27-2008, 09:29 PM
 
Lt.JD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 3,933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Ira-k recommended me this http://www.overclock.net/water-cooli...ding-case.html
fencefeet likes this.

Laptop: MacBookPro 2.4Ghz T8300, 8600GT 256MB, 200GB 5400RPM HDD, 4GB RAM, 15.4" 1440x900
Lt.JD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 Old 03-27-2008, 11:02 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
fencefeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: West LA, California
Posts: 1,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 120
alright cool thanks for the threads they helped a lot. Just a couple of things though, I read from a couple of places that it isn't usually a good idea to put 2 cards in Crossfire in the same loop. Is that true? And if so how would I go about making a separate loop? Does that mean that I would have to make essentially 2 different water cooling setups altogether? One for the gpus and one for the cpu?

thanks guys.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tha d0ctor go_quote.gif
If it doesn't promote camping and sprinting around with a knife I'm sold.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazyNikel go_quote.gif
This thread is about to get tag team'd harder then Jenna Jameson's 3-in-1 movies.

I'm human and sometimes I'm wrong--just tell me, I can take it smile.gif
fencefeet is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 03-27-2008, 11:05 PM
I Tek things...
 
bluedevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mi
Posts: 16,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 651
No just be sure to get a big rad. The heat dump from ATI cards is pretty bad.....but doable with WCing. You can make 1 good loop with a Quad rad and a vario pump....or a Liang DDC -3.2.
fencefeet likes this.

Check out my Sponsored build Project BLUEDEVIL! Project BLUEDEVIL
bluedevil is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 03-27-2008, 11:08 PM
Programmer
 
Wasting Away's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Send a message via AIM to Wasting Away
If you have the money I would get two separate loops, or as BlueDevil said, just see if you can run it all with a big rad such as the GTX480

Days can fade, and lives can slip away.
Any song can be silenced. It's time that we start this over.


MICHIGAN OVERCLOCKERS rolleyes.gif

Member of the OCN Diablo III Club
Wasting Away is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 03-27-2008, 11:34 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
fencefeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: West LA, California
Posts: 1,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 120
hmm yeah im thinking i will just get the 480GTX its "cheap enough" to where I think it will be a reasonable buy. I'd end up spending more to get a seperate loop anyways so I might as well just get a kick ass radiator. I was holding my breath while scrolling down that page and 150 plus the cost for 8 120mm fans isn't that bad. Plus I am just starting with this so I think it would be a little hard for me to start off with making two different loops haha.

Is it possible to mount a rad that big on the back of my thermaltake armor case?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tha d0ctor go_quote.gif
If it doesn't promote camping and sprinting around with a knife I'm sold.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazyNikel go_quote.gif
This thread is about to get tag team'd harder then Jenna Jameson's 3-in-1 movies.

I'm human and sometimes I'm wrong--just tell me, I can take it smile.gif
fencefeet is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 03-28-2008, 12:13 AM
Programmer
 
Wasting Away's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Send a message via AIM to Wasting Away
im not entirely sure that you'll be able to mount it on the back, due to the fact that there isnt really a "middle" of the rad to mount it on. If Ira-K pops in here sometime, he might show you his 480 setup, but i don't really know how you could mount the 480 on your case other than on the top, but i see with the armor case.. there is that panel thing on it.

Days can fade, and lives can slip away.
Any song can be silenced. It's time that we start this over.


MICHIGAN OVERCLOCKERS rolleyes.gif

Member of the OCN Diablo III Club
Wasting Away is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 03-28-2008, 02:13 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
fencefeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: West LA, California
Posts: 1,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 120
yeah on the top wouldn't work out so well....haha

i suppose I could make a stand for it and just sit it upright beside the outside of my case. but the clutter from the wires belonging to all of the fans attached to the rad would bug me. That would be sort of a pain if I had to connect all of those to my psu(and I'm a neat freak ) Is there such a thing that can connect/convert multiple molex connectors to a wall outlet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tha d0ctor go_quote.gif
If it doesn't promote camping and sprinting around with a knife I'm sold.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazyNikel go_quote.gif
This thread is about to get tag team'd harder then Jenna Jameson's 3-in-1 movies.

I'm human and sometimes I'm wrong--just tell me, I can take it smile.gif
fencefeet is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 03-28-2008, 03:39 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
fencefeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: West LA, California
Posts: 1,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 120
crap forgot to ask, also what do you guys think about the 3870X2 water blocks? they are kind of on the more expensive side.....

like this http://www.frozencpu.com/products/70...-_3870_X2.html

that on top of the 480 GTX starts to put things a little pricey. I might have to wait till later to put in a block for a 3870X2

Quote:
Originally Posted by tha d0ctor go_quote.gif
If it doesn't promote camping and sprinting around with a knife I'm sold.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazyNikel go_quote.gif
This thread is about to get tag team'd harder then Jenna Jameson's 3-in-1 movies.

I'm human and sometimes I'm wrong--just tell me, I can take it smile.gif
fencefeet is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off