[Official] Corsair Hydro Series Club - Page 367 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3661 of 28473 Old 02-13-2010, 03:29 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Go h50...


Please read and follow the TOS

sneaky.gif: : The Official Corsair H50 Hydro Series Club : : sneaky.gif

00Smurf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3662 of 28473 Old 02-13-2010, 03:30 PM
Overclocker in Training
 
mike.dp.05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hi. I just oced my i7 920 to 3.6 using h50. oced good?

these are my settings:

bclk: 183
cpu multi: 20x
cpu vcore: 1.20(bios), 1.184(cpu-z)
dram voltage: 1.5v (rated voltage of pi series 1600)

all other settings on auto.

ran stable for 4 hrs of prime95 and 1hr of auto on occt.

1. asus turboV registered qpi/dram of 1.25000 ... - is this ok? or should it be lower?
2. cpu pll left auto - is this ok too? or should be upped quite a bit?
3. i'm having a max temp of 70,69,70,69 on coretemp after all stress test. ambient temp=29-30 degrees - are these good temps?
4. dram settings were on auto and it won't automatically enter the products advertised settings, what should i do?
5. last question, is there a way i could lower vcore while maintaning stability?
---> like playing with qpi/dram, cpu pll, ioh, ich?

thanks!

mike.dp.05 is offline  
post #3663 of 28473 Old 02-13-2010, 03:41 PM
4.0ghz
 
R00ST3R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 2,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by flightsimnerd View Post
how do these things work with the i7 860? Any results?
Quote:
Originally Posted by leppie View Post
My H50 is good till 3.8 in summer. Hopefully winter will make my life easier.
I can second this. I can push it up to about 4.1Ghz before the temps get just too much for me to consider acceptable. 3.850Ghz is what I've settled on for a 24/7 OC.

My loop = FrozenQ Liquid Fusion 250ml reservoir>MCP655-B>HW BI SR1 360 rad>Apogee XT>EK FC 480GTX-3 San Ace H1011's, 7/16's Primochill Black

Chimp Challenge Participant 

R00ST3R is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3664 of 28473 Old 02-13-2010, 03:47 PM
4.0ghz
 
xmisery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike.dp.05 View Post
Hi. I just oced my i7 920 to 3.6 using h50. oced good?

these are my settings:

bclk: 183
cpu multi: 20x
cpu vcore: 1.20(bios), 1.184(cpu-z)
dram voltage: 1.5v (rated voltage of pi series 1600)

all other settings on auto.

ran stable for 4 hrs of prime95 and 1hr of auto on occt.

1. asus turboV registered qpi/dram of 1.25000 ... - is this ok? or should it be lower?
2. cpu pll left auto - is this ok too? or should be upped quite a bit?
3. i'm having a max temp of 70,69,70,69 on coretemp after all stress test. ambient temp=29-30 degrees - are these good temps?
4. dram settings were on auto and it won't automatically enter the products advertised settings, what should i do?
5. last question, is there a way i could lower vcore while maintaning stability?
---> like playing with qpi/dram, cpu pll, ioh, ich?

thanks!
I bet you can get better temps than that. I'd like to try and get you into the low to mid 50's for an i7 920 @ 3.6GHz.

These are the settings I used on my Asus board when I OC'd it @ 3.6. You might want to give these a try and see how you do.

Ai Overclock Tuner [Manual]
CPU Ratio Setting [21.0]
BCLK Frequency [172]
PCIE Frequency [100]
QPI Link Data Rate [Auto]

CPU Voltage Control [Manual]
CPU Voltage [1.0625]
CPU PLL Voltage [1.80]
QPI/DRAM Core Voltage [1.20000]
IOH Voltage [1.20]
IOH PCIE Voltage [Auto]
ICH Voltage [1.30]
ICH PCIE Voltage [Auto]
DRAM Bus Voltage [1.64]

Load-Line Calibration [Enabled]
CPU Differential Amplitude [800mV]
CPU Clock Skew [Delay 300ps]
CPU Spread Spectrum [Disabled]
IOH Clock Skew [Auto]
PCIE Spread Spectrum [Disabled]

C1E Support [Disabled]
Hardware Prefetcher [Enabled]
Adjacent Cache Line Prefetch [Enabled]
Intel(r) Virtualization Tech [Enabled]
CPU TM Function [Enabled]
Execute Disable Bit [Enabled]
Intel(r) HT Technology [Disabled]
Active Processor Cores [All]
A20M [Disabled]
Intel(r) SpeedStep(tm) Tech [Disabled]
Intel(r) C-STATE Tech [Disabled]
xmisery is offline  
post #3665 of 28473 Old 02-13-2010, 04:21 PM
Overclocker in Training
 
mike.dp.05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by xmisery View Post
I bet you can get better temps than that. I'd like to try and get you into the low to mid 50's for an i7 920 @ 3.6GHz.

These are the settings I used on my Asus board when I OC'd it @ 3.6. You might want to give these a try and see how you do.

Ai Overclock Tuner [Manual]
CPU Ratio Setting [21.0]
BCLK Frequency [172]
PCIE Frequency [100]
QPI Link Data Rate [Auto]

CPU Voltage Control [Manual]
CPU Voltage [1.0625]
CPU PLL Voltage [1.80]
QPI/DRAM Core Voltage [1.20000]
IOH Voltage [1.20]
IOH PCIE Voltage [Auto]
ICH Voltage [1.30]
ICH PCIE Voltage [Auto]
DRAM Bus Voltage [1.64]

Load-Line Calibration [Enabled]
CPU Differential Amplitude [800mV]
CPU Clock Skew [Delay 300ps]
CPU Spread Spectrum [Disabled]
IOH Clock Skew [Auto]
PCIE Spread Spectrum [Disabled]

C1E Support [Disabled]
Hardware Prefetcher [Enabled]
Adjacent Cache Line Prefetch [Enabled]
Intel(r) Virtualization Tech [Enabled]
CPU TM Function [Enabled]
Execute Disable Bit [Enabled]
Intel(r) HT Technology [Disabled]
Active Processor Cores [All]
A20M [Disabled]
Intel(r) SpeedStep(tm) Tech [Disabled]
Intel(r) C-STATE Tech [Disabled]
Thanks for the help! glad for it!

I'm really new to ocing i7 920. i'm afraid of playing with the settings. is it safe to go with the settings you just posted?

1. with the ich voltage of 1.3?
2. i disabled turbo mode, can i get 21x multiplier even without turbo mode?
3. my ram is rated at 1.5v, is it ok to raise it to 1.64? link: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231335
4. should i really disable ht?
5. last, is it safe playing with the differential amplitude, cpu clock skew?

mike.dp.05 is offline  
post #3666 of 28473 Old 02-13-2010, 04:25 PM
333mhz
 
Philippkthx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by masustic View Post
a few pics of my rig with my H50. nothing fancy but it was my first build! since this pic ive worked on my cable management and added a second 5770
Picked up one of these last night at my local bestbuy but haven't installed it yet since I'm waiting for my new case to arrive. Oh hey I have that same exact mother board and its my first build too!
Philippkthx is offline  
post #3667 of 28473 Old 02-13-2010, 04:33 PM
4.0ghz
 
xmisery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike.dp.05 View Post
Thanks for the help! glad for it!

I'm really new to ocing i7 920. i'm afraid of playing with the settings. is it safe to go with the settings you just posted?

1. with the ich voltage of 1.3?
2. i disabled turbo mode, can i get 21x multiplier even without turbo mode?
3. my ram is rated at 1.5v, is it ok to raise it to 1.64? link: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231335
4. should i really disable ht?
5. last, is it safe playing with the differential amplitude, cpu clock skew?
Yep, you should be good with those settings. I tried to find the lowest voltage settings for that OC. If anything, you might have to bump it up a little higher, depending on how good of a chip you got. (each chip is slightly different)

1. Yep, dont go any higher than 1.3
2. 21x I believe automatically runs it in Turbo mode.
3. If your ram is rated at 1.5, drop it to that level or "Auto".
4. When finding your stable OC, I temporarily disable HT. Re-enable it once you are stable.
5. Yep, I've only went as high as 1000mV and 300ps. I've seen others too, seems pretty safe.

Also, FYI - Taken from one of the threads on this forum.
---
Q: What are safe voltages?
A: According to intel or common knowledge the following are the safe air temperatures:

Vcore: ~1.4
qpi/uncore (VTT): 1.35
PLL: 1.88
Vdimm:~1.65 (Some will say that you are safe within .5 of your qpi/uncore allowing for a max of 1.85 on vdimm. See the link to the xtreme systems forum below on this subject for a long thread).
IOH: Less than 1.3
ICH: Less than 1.3
---
xmisery is offline  
post #3668 of 28473 Old 02-13-2010, 04:38 PM
Overclocker in Training
 
mike.dp.05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by xmisery View Post
Yep, you should be good with those settings. If your ram is rated at 1.5, drop it to that level or "Auto". I tried to find the lowest voltage settings for that OC. If anything, you might have to bump it up a little higher.

Also, FYI - Taken from one of the threads on this forum.
---
Q: What are safe voltages?
A: According to intel or common knowledge the following are the safe air temperatures:

Vcore: ~1.4
qpi/uncore (VTT): 1.35
PLL: 1.88
Vdimm:~1.65 (Some will say that you are safe within .5 of your qpi/uncore allowing for a max of 1.85 on vdimm. See the link to the xtreme systems forum below on this subject for a long thread).
IOH: Less than 1.3
ICH: Less than 1.3
---
what about turning ht off? i read from another site that 3.6 oc is the best in a performance/power consumption. going to 3.8/4.0 has a big leap in power consumption. is it good to just stay with 3.6?

how about my temps of 66-68 with ht on? is it good enough with ht on? ambient of 28-29...

mike.dp.05 is offline  
post #3669 of 28473 Old 02-13-2010, 04:46 PM
4.0ghz
 
xmisery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike.dp.05 View Post
what about turning ht off? i read from another site that 3.6 oc is the best in a performance/power consumption. going to 3.8/4.0 has a big leap in power consumption. is it good to just stay with 3.6?

how about my temps of 66-68 with ht on? is it good enough with ht on? ambient of 28-29...
I updated my post, hopefully that helped answer some of the other questions. With an ambient of 28-29c, you should be in the high 50's to low 60's. Lowering your vcore will probably help you out with this a bit. Yes, 3.6 is probably the best performance/power consumption ratio for this chip. It really just depends on what you want out of it personally. Staying at 3.6 would be fine, and plenty of processing power!
xmisery is offline  
post #3670 of 28473 Old 02-13-2010, 05:06 PM
Overclocker in Training
 
mike.dp.05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by xmisery View Post
I updated my post, hopefully that helped answer some of the other questions. With an ambient of 28-29c, you should be in the high 50's to low 60's. Lowering your vcore will probably help you out with this a bit. Yes, 3.6 is probably the best performance/power consumption ratio for this chip. It really just depends on what you want out of it personally. Staying at 3.6 would be fine, and plenty of processing power!
i thought of going with 4.0 ghz with ht off. can you give me settings please? and also, with 20x multiplier. is there a huge drawback with turning ht off? thanks!

mike.dp.05 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off