[Official] Corsair Hydro Series Club - Page 926 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9251 of 28473 Old 05-27-2010, 12:25 PM
Case Modder
 
tlxxxsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 59
I know you can lapp the h50 without modding it, but the way I did by taking the copper block off from the pump would cause you to drain the h50 and you wouldnt be able to get coolant back in without air in the loop.
i did it the same way you did the first time, but after a few weeks of use i didnt see a temp drop. So this time i did it differently and took the block off from the pump. This allowed for less pressure to be pushing against the sandpaper. I didnt take pics but when I redo my loop (hopefully) ill take pics.
i start with 800 then 1000, 1200, 1500 then 2000. making sure i take my time with each grit.

My H50 mod tutorial


My Lian-Li A70F mod worklog "Blaue Liebe"

Check out and subscribe to my youtube channel
https://www.youtube.com/chrispantonstechworld
tlxxxsracer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9252 of 28473 Old 05-27-2010, 01:25 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 234
just wanted to post a pic of my setup.

3.7Ghz Phenom II B50 Quadproof.gif 3.3GHz Athlon X2 7750 proof.gif

i like to edit my posts, cause i keep thinking of other things to type. redface.gif

Developing my DIY/Review Youtube channel, search for "ez12a" on youtube. check it out!thumb.gif
Latest Video(s):
H220 unboxing/install, 600T Water Cooled, How to Use SpeedFan, Installing a home network thumb.gif
ez12a is offline  
post #9253 of 28473 Old 05-27-2010, 01:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bardstown,Kentucky
Posts: 17,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 960
I think i might pick one up bestbuy has them for 59.99 right now and my mega aint performing well can get one for under 65 and no shipping or waiting.

20 Million+ Folding at Home points  Foldathon Folder - 2013 Participant  Chimp Challenge Participant X4  BOINC Pentathlon Participant x2 

Bal3Wolf is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9254 of 28473 Old 05-27-2010, 01:44 PM
Hardline upgrade!
 
Ceadderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: West of the Pecos.
Posts: 18,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 695
I'm not lapping yet, but if things hold true to form from what I've seen you'll want 1400/1600/1800/2000 grit paper.

Do it a number of times on each one looking for hills and valleys and using a bit of water on each piece.

There really hasn't been a definitive way to do this shown. But if you look on YouTube for "lapping" you'll find a number of CPU laps. One of them is REALLY informative and explains in detail how you want the weight of the CPU to do the work. I imaging this is much the same. Soon as I get my setup, I know what I'm gonna be doing.

~Ceadder

Quote:
Originally Posted by zefs View Post
Which sandpaper you guys use to lap it like that? My paper all it did was to leave some marks, no mirror as it should(the paper I used says P150, don't know if that matters).

10 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant  Foldathon Folder - 2013 Participant  Foldathon Participant 2015  Foldathon Participant 2016 

Ceadderman is online now  
post #9255 of 28473 Old 05-27-2010, 01:55 PM
333mhz
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
3 Things that u must to have before to "lap":

1) Time;

2) Patience;

3) Strength in arms.

KurtBR is offline  
post #9256 of 28473 Old 05-27-2010, 02:14 PM
733mhz
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: istanbul
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
hello guys i will buy this cooler but i have a question
my case is very small i have to put outside but this time i cant put in again i mean cpu blok
i have to pull out pipe

are this can easily pull out/in ?

post-flame-small.gifPHENOM II X2 550BE OC CLUBpost-flame-small.gif


Black/White = Die/Live = Besiktas kookoo.gif
sebastianTR is offline  
post #9257 of 28473 Old 05-27-2010, 02:28 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bal3Wolf View Post
I think i might pick one up bestbuy has them for 59.99 right now and my mega aint performing well can get one for under 65 and no shipping or waiting.
yup that's where i got my H50. I wouldnt have bought the H50 at MSRP.

3.7Ghz Phenom II B50 Quadproof.gif 3.3GHz Athlon X2 7750 proof.gif

i like to edit my posts, cause i keep thinking of other things to type. redface.gif

Developing my DIY/Review Youtube channel, search for "ez12a" on youtube. check it out!thumb.gif
Latest Video(s):
H220 unboxing/install, 600T Water Cooled, How to Use SpeedFan, Installing a home network thumb.gif
ez12a is offline  
post #9258 of 28473 Old 05-27-2010, 02:46 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bardstown,Kentucky
Posts: 17,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 960
One ? guys sence i lapped my cpu is their any pressure mods or anything to make sure the h50 sits tight.

20 Million+ Folding at Home points  Foldathon Folder - 2013 Participant  Chimp Challenge Participant X4  BOINC Pentathlon Participant x2 

Bal3Wolf is online now  
post #9259 of 28473 Old 05-27-2010, 03:07 PM
3.5ghz
 
mr-Charles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: ...in the USA, of course
Posts: 656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by KurtBR View Post
3 Things that u must to have before to "lap":

1) Time;

2) Patience;

3) Strength in arms.


......YEPPER's . . . . . . . Exactly ! ! . . . . i'd half to agree with 100%....


mr-Charles .

.
mr-Charles is offline  
post #9260 of 28473 Old 05-27-2010, 03:16 PM
3.5ghz
 
mr-Charles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: ...in the USA, of course
Posts: 656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by zefs View Post
Which sandpaper you guys use to lap it like that? My paper all it did was to leave some marks, no mirror as it should(the paper I used says P150, don't know if that matters).
. . .Man-O-man, zefs; I hope ya didn't "scrape" tooo much copper off that Head/Block of the H50 ! ! !
That (P150) is SOME REALLY COARSE grit scale/rating's there............ I would really hate to SEE
what scratches it left you with...... . . . . . . . . . .


mr-Charles .

.
mr-Charles is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off