To be in the case or not to be - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 Old 01-23-2006, 12:54 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Ive been through all of the pictures of everyones water cooling setup pondering how I want to set mine up. Everyone seems to have a big ugly radiator outside the case. I know this means that they want the "optimum performance" with the bigger radiator. But what about keeping it clean? I really would like to build a quality water cooling setup that is able to be self contained inside a case. I have a mid tower - but its gots lots of room. The only thing I will have to sacrafice is the automobile heater core. What kind of performance am I going to lose? If I go to a radiator that is smaller would it still perform better than a high end air cooling system?

I plan on going with the storm water block, maze 4 for the gpu, d5 pump, a small reservoir, and maybe a 160 or 120 size radiator. All to be inside the case. Any sugggestions from the clean cut crew?
timsvpr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 Old 01-23-2006, 01:01 AM
4.0ghz
 
shortfuse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: so.caliPORNia
Posts: 1,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 116
For quite sumtime now i have been considering going w/c too and planning to mod my case. just like u i dont like seing the radiator outside the case so what i have decided was sit the radiator on the bottom of the case and cut some holes for the fan it will serve 3 intake fans to cool the radiator and at the same time it will cool the inside temp. i doubt the radiator will produce that much heat anyways.
timsvpr likes this.

OPTEROwNErs club

Quote:
Originally Posted by muffin
1000 produced? thinking.gif How many RMAs? lachen.gif

shortfuse is offline  
post #3 of 25 Old 01-23-2006, 01:20 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 85
that sounds like a nice idea - but i dont plan on making any modifications to my case except taking out one of the hard drive cages by unscrewing it


this is what more of what im talking about (see attachment). If i put a 120 sized radiator on its side it will enable me to have a neat setup tube wise and since the case is very wide itll fit onto the existing 120mm panaflo fan. Also since the case is "sectional" the radiator would be away from the heat of the system. The reservoir would be one of those micro reservoirs that are square and ill attach it to the side of the 5.25" bay area. The pump would go ontop of the a: drive and also screwed onto the side of the 5.25 bay.
LL
timsvpr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 25 Old 01-23-2006, 01:37 AM
PC Gamer
 
Kindredice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
most ppl who prefer it incase set it up like this tho,



but you can endup like this better have a full tower case

timsvpr likes this.

Kindredice is offline  
post #5 of 25 Old 01-23-2006, 01:41 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 85
see its a midtower so space is a premium. I like how i have it layed out and think it will work. But im worried about the performance side of it.
timsvpr is offline  
post #6 of 25 Old 01-23-2006, 02:35 AM
1.3ghz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
If you make any holes in the bottom of the case, make them air outlets - an inlet there will suck up a rediculous quantity of dust.

Also check for two obvious potential problems. Card slots blocked that maay be needed and, ground clearance - you may need to put bigger feet on.

Goldenpi is offline  
post #7 of 25 Old 01-23-2006, 04:00 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goldenpi
If you make any holes in the bottom of the case, make them air outlets - an inlet there will suck up a rediculous quantity of dust.

Also check for two obvious potential problems. Card slots blocked that maay be needed and, ground clearance - you may need to put bigger feet on.
im not sure who ur talking to - but i have a diffrent type of case so that doesnt quite apply
timsvpr is offline  
post #8 of 25 Old 01-23-2006, 04:06 AM
4.0ghz
 
shortfuse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: so.caliPORNia
Posts: 1,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Are u thinking of using a single rad or dual rad? looking at the pic u attached if ur going for a single rad then mount it on where that rear fan is that should be a good place. tho that bottom idea of urs is not bad either. or what u can do is put the reservoir at the bottom and retro fit the rad on the 5.25 bay.

OPTEROwNErs club

Quote:
Originally Posted by muffin
1000 produced? thinking.gif How many RMAs? lachen.gif

shortfuse is offline  
post #9 of 25 Old 01-23-2006, 04:42 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortfuse
Are u thinking of using a single rad or dual rad? looking at the pic u attached if ur going for a single rad then mount it on where that rear fan is that should be a good place. tho that bottom idea of urs is not bad either. or what u can do is put the reservoir at the bottom and retro fit the rad on the 5.25 bay.

hmmm i was thinking about that - putting the rad somewhere in the 5.25 bay. But i like how it would have its own compartment down at the bottom. So thats probably where it will go. And its definately going to be a single rad. No way im going to fit a double rad in there.

Plus I wanna keep the top portion real clean looking so when i get the windowed side for my case itll look very neat inside instead of seeing a big hunky rad in there. The window for the side doesnt go show the lower compartment

Now how about performance wise....right now (overclocked) cpu load temps peak at 50C with ambient from 25-28. And take into account Abit boards overestimate their temps. so take off 2 or 3.
timsvpr is offline  
post #10 of 25 Old 01-23-2006, 04:59 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NH
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 97
If you need space scrap the res and go for a T line. They are easy to use and don't take up a lot of space. As was said earlyer, punch a hole in the bottom of the case and have it be pushing air out of the case. Some more/better case fans are not a bad idea because a lot of heat will build up in the case.

Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic.

Unofficial post-flame-small.gif.net thread killer

Team ArMaDa member and folder.tongue.gif

dazed and confused is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off