1/2 tubing over 3/8 - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 33 Old 01-24-2006, 07:50 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burn
Using 1/2 Primoflex, I was able to route it out the back PCI slots, it didn't scratch or rip or tear at all and still get 1/2" flow. I'd suggest you do that; moving to 3/8" is difficult, try to find a pump.
u wouldnt happen to have a pic?

EDIT: found the tubing on frozencpu
timsvpr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 33 Old 01-24-2006, 07:51 PM
Original OCN Gangsta
 
Burn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 13,843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 520
Unfortunately, no. Tomorrow around 5 EST I may though.
timsvpr likes this.

My CNC Mill Project
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyberDruid
Burn + Electricty + Water =
But the man has the patience of a saint...
We cannot change the cards we are dealt, just how we play the hand.
--Randy Pausch
Current Best Benchmark

1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Burn is offline  
post #13 of 33 Old 01-24-2006, 07:57 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by HatedEnemY
you want to stay away from the modding? i think that modding does give it the look of *Bling**Bling* but how do you plan to get a 3/8 tube out of the case? where are you making it exit? that can help some

im using pci cover slots that have holes for 3/8 tubing to go through.
timsvpr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 33 Old 01-24-2006, 07:58 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burn
Unfortunately, no. Tomorrow around 5 EST I may though.
thats cool - whenever. I dont get my taxes back until about two weeks
timsvpr is offline  
post #15 of 33 Old 01-24-2006, 08:09 PM
4.0ghz
 
shortfuse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: so.caliPORNia
Posts: 1,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 116
looking at ur case there shouldnt be a problem with using a 1/2 tube., ur case has plenty of room to go around specially now ur eliminating a big chunk of HEATSINK. are u using raid or single HDD? cuz if its a single hard drive u can buy those adapters for the HDD to fit the 5.25 bay, u have 4 slots on the 5.25 bay i doubt u will be using all 4. and seeing how everything is inverted in the inside (mother board) u will have enough space / clearance to place the pump or a cylinder reservoir.

timsvpr likes this.

OPTEROwNErs club

Quote:
Originally Posted by muffin
1000 produced? thinking.gif How many RMAs? lachen.gif

shortfuse is offline  
post #16 of 33 Old 01-24-2006, 09:23 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortfuse
looking at ur case there shouldnt be a problem with using a 1/2 tube., ur case has plenty of room to go around specially now ur eliminating a big chunk of HEATSINK. are u using raid or single HDD? cuz if its a single hard drive u can buy those adapters for the HDD to fit the 5.25 bay, u have 4 slots on the 5.25 bay i doubt u will be using all 4. and seeing how everything is inverted in the inside (mother board) u will have enough space / clearance to place the pump or a cylinder reservoir.

thats what i was going to do in the first place. With a 120 sized rad in the front. I had it all planned out with 1/2 tubing then someone suggested to get a larger radiator outside the case for optimum temps.

So whats better a 120 sized rad with 1/2 tubing
or
A 240 or bigger rad with 3/8 tubing??
timsvpr is offline  
post #17 of 33 Old 01-24-2006, 09:50 PM
Overclocker
 
Snerp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ashalnd, OR
Posts: 4,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 385
You can make the 1/2" tubing work with the 2x120 rad outside your case. Take the holes from 3/8" to 5/8" (5/8 will probably be the outter demention of your 1/2) and add 5/8ID grommets. If 5/8 is the exact size of the PCI slot still drill the holes and then epoxy the grommets to the PCI bracket.
timsvpr likes this.

FAQ: Teflon Tape...USE IT!
OSAMT: "Member of OCN Songwriter and Musician Thread"

Proud Member of the OCN Mechanical Keyboad Club!
Snerp is offline  
post #18 of 33 Old 01-24-2006, 10:28 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snerp
You can make the 1/2" tubing work with the 2x120 rad outside your case. Take the holes from 3/8" to 5/8" (5/8 will probably be the outter demention of your 1/2) and add 5/8ID grommets. If 5/8 is the exact size of the PCI slot still drill the holes and then epoxy the grommets to the PCI bracket.




this is what i planned on using. I measured a pci slot cover and its 3/4" wide. If i get the tygon 1/2" tubing that has an outside diameter of 3/4" i might be ok.
timsvpr is offline  
post #19 of 33 Old 01-24-2006, 10:50 PM
Overclocker
 
Snerp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ashalnd, OR
Posts: 4,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 385
I personally would just make my own like I said. Save yourself $10 or however much it cost. Make sure you get grommets so the tubing dosen't end up getting cut.

FAQ: Teflon Tape...USE IT!
OSAMT: "Member of OCN Songwriter and Musician Thread"

Proud Member of the OCN Mechanical Keyboad Club!
Snerp is offline  
post #20 of 33 Old 01-24-2006, 11:00 PM
4.0ghz
 
metalkobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: tx
Posts: 4,794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 234
I have mine through the PCI slots here lemme show ya...I had to mod them a bit for the slot i wouldnt use though, its best to go through the very bottom slot that you wont ever use...

timsvpr likes this.
metalkobra is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off