Starting water cooling - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 02-21-2006, 08:39 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Lone136's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Pa
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 66
For some time now I have wanting to water and until now I haven't been able to aford to, but do to Waxshop having a child on the way I'm getting some parts from him for a baby bed for his up coming child. He did offer the parts for I was just giving he the bed for free

Now since this will be my first go around with water cooling I was thinking about my past Electrical back ground and how we would control more then one light at a time on one switch.

I don't want to have worry about turning a pump on or fans to cool the water off for my CPU or GPU.

The idea behind this is that when you push your on/off button it would start your computer and the water pump and fans at the same time using 12volts DC supplied from the power supply.

I'm going to use a (single pole/single throw) Relay Coil. That will mean that you will have only one set of contacts. They would be Normally Open with no power to the 12-volt coil.

I will use a power plug from an old AT power supply that no longer works (I think we all have one of those) to bring the power inside the computer to the switch. This way I can use a regular computer power cord to power up the pump and fans. I will use the plug and make a pattern. Then I use that to cut my case. It will be a small hole maybe 1 ½†by ¾†at the bottom rear so I can then bolt power plug to the back.

So, now all I have to do is get the rest of the parts I need and starte the mod. I will still need to get the pumps tubbing and mis parts,but atleast now I have starting point.

Lone136 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 02-21-2006, 08:53 AM
Blocksmith
 
fstfrddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Camden NY
Posts: 3,481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 408
You can also buy relays tha fit in a pci slot, but if you are using a 12 volt pump you do not need it.
fstfrddy is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 02-21-2006, 09:01 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Lone136's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Pa
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 66
I want to use a 120 volt pump, but turn it on with a 12 volt DC coil. I also have 2x 120mm 70 CFM fans that are 120volts. The point to all of this is, I don't want to use the PSU for any thing but turning the coil on.

Lone136 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 Old 02-21-2006, 10:30 AM
Blocksmith
 
fstfrddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Camden NY
Posts: 3,481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Yeah thats what the relays do they don't supply the power, just turn it on and off.
fstfrddy is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 02-21-2006, 10:36 AM
 
Jazino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 139
is this what your looking for? http://cablecrazy.com/Merchant2/merc...Code=DDPWRPLNT


Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

Jazino is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 02-21-2006, 12:53 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Lone136's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Pa
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Ya, something like that, but I plain to build my own

Lone136 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 02-21-2006, 08:31 PM
733mhz
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Hell
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...category=80150

There is a good pump for you. 3/8" fittings.
Lone136 likes this.
Johnnie Walker is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 02-21-2006, 08:36 PM
New rig again :s
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Orinda, California
Posts: 3,951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnnie Walker
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...category=80150

There is a good pump for you. 3/8" fittings.
I wouldn't get a fountain pump for that price, Instead get the DangerDen D5 pump. You can find them new under 70 usually.

Fold For Team 37726!! Get Started Here
Upgrades---> T7200 Core 2 Duo
Guide---> What Core 2 Duo Motherboard is right for me?
Projects---> Waterchiller Build
Rig 2---> P4 640 @ 4GHz, Asus P5P800-SE, 512MB crap, Sunbeam NUUO 550w
My Old Rig --->2.4AE @ 4.15GHz , semi Stable, yes 1.75GHz OC ...
wowza is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 02-21-2006, 09:09 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Lone136's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Pa
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Is 3/8 going to big enough for cooling my cpu and gpu?

Lone136 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 02-21-2006, 09:12 PM
New rig again :s
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Orinda, California
Posts: 3,951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lone136
Is 3/8 going to big enough for cooling my cpu and gpu?
Yep, I am not a big fan of 1/2 due to the big tubing, but 3/8 should work just fine

Fold For Team 37726!! Get Started Here
Upgrades---> T7200 Core 2 Duo
Guide---> What Core 2 Duo Motherboard is right for me?
Projects---> Waterchiller Build
Rig 2---> P4 640 @ 4GHz, Asus P5P800-SE, 512MB crap, Sunbeam NUUO 550w
My Old Rig --->2.4AE @ 4.15GHz , semi Stable, yes 1.75GHz OC ...
wowza is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off