79C i7 load under water? Help meh - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 06-10-2010, 02:09 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Contagion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 6,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 718
I just got my loop up and running, my video card temps are amazing, but my i7 temps are making me cry a bit.



Loop (Arrow points in flow direction):
DD-CPX1 Pump>Feser 480 Rad>DD MC-TDX CPU Block>MCW60 GPU Block>Micro Res





These temps are just a few degrees under what my Ven X kept it at (which was low 80s).

Contagion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 06-10-2010, 02:11 PM
Intel Overclocker
 
F1ForFrags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Boynton Beach, FL
Posts: 3,748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 170


It looks like a bad spread to me.
F1ForFrags is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 06-10-2010, 02:12 PM
*cough* Stock *cough*
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 45
change inlet outlet tubes on your cpu waterblock. for sure that will help, but dunno how much, it's not so efficient block anyway.

i5 3570k | MSI Z77 MPOWER | 2x4gb 1600 Crucial | ZOTAC GTX 970 | 240gb SSD Crucial BX100 | IN WIN 303 | be quiet! STRAIGHT POWER 10 500W
prznar1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 Old 06-10-2010, 02:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 5,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 473
May need to get a heavier duty block - I always saw the TDX as the perfect Dual core cooler.

But start by swapping your inlet/outlets

Intel:MainRig i7 2600K@4.5/Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H/16GB DDR3@1600/2xHD6990
Intel:Secondary Xeon x5650@4.4 1.35v/X58A-UD3R/12GB DDR3@1600/3xHD6970
AMD:HTPC 2400-BE/A7GM-S 2.0/2GB DDR2@855/HDMI
Server1ell R610 DualQuad/48GB@1333
Server2:HP Proliant DL360 G5 DualQuad/32GB@533

rpm666 is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 06-10-2010, 02:13 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Rad not getting fresh cooler air from the outside?

Chimp Challenge Participant  1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

skatpex99 is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 06-10-2010, 02:29 PM
1.3ghz
 
ltbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 7
did you try to reseat it?

new thermal paste kick old they tiny stuff before you buy a new block
ltbob is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 06-10-2010, 04:39 PM
Intel Overclocker
 
F1ForFrags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Boynton Beach, FL
Posts: 3,748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by ltbob View Post
did you try to reseat it?

new thermal paste kick old they tiny stuff before you buy a new block
wut...
F1ForFrags is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 06-10-2010, 04:43 PM
 
SniperXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 4,413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 269
You have the flow backwards on the cpu block, dunno how much difference it would make.

i5 2550K @ 5.1Ghz proof.gif
i7 920 @ 4.2Ghz proof.gif

Chimp Challenge Championship Team  Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant  5 Million+ Folding at Home points 

SniperXX is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 06-10-2010, 04:50 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Contagion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 6,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 718
Quote:
Originally Posted by SniperXX View Post
You have the flow backwards on the cpu block, dunno how much difference it would make.
I re-did it. It dropped the temps a few degrees.
I suppose this block just isn't strong enough for 8 threads.

Contagion is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 06-10-2010, 05:09 PM
3.0ghz
 
lwesley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Dude, think you switched the tubes the other way round for your CPU block. The incoming tube should hit the middle of the block, not side.

Wes
Blameless likes this.

Core i7 920 @4.31ghz (HK3.0+MCR320Drive) [DT Air/CPU @ 13c idle, 45c IBT]
MSI GTX 295 Single PCB with EK 295 + MCR320 Drive + 1450rpmGT [DT Air/CPU @ 10c idle]
Asus R3E . Corsair TX850 . OCZ 12Gb 1333mhz RAM

lwesley is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off