[Official] XSPC Rasa 750 RS/RX120/240/360 Kit Club - Page 1030 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10291 of 13773 Old 10-08-2011, 11:38 PM
WaterCooler
 
kdon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skyboss View Post
According to most folks here, it doesn't seem to matter as the water normalizes to an equal temperature in time.

I put mine from rad to cpu block to res/pump. On an i3 2100 it rocks it and loads are around 43-45C using linx. WC took off about 14C from my previous load temps with stock cooler!
temp doesnt normalize throughout the loop...

think about a radiator: will water going in have the same temp as water going out? If yes, it is the world's worst radiator.

If min/maxing like people here tend to do, the optimal setup would have the CPU block right after the radiator, so it can dissipate some of the heat from the pump.

IMHO, not a huge matter as the radiator can only dissipate so much heat anyway, just make your loop in a way that is functional and aesthetically appealing
Skyboss likes this.


4 Million+ Folding at Home points 

kdon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10292 of 13773 Old 10-09-2011, 01:21 AM
PC Gamer
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 238
chinesethunda is offline  
post #10293 of 13773 Old 10-09-2011, 03:09 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by chinesethunda View Post
how much difference do you think it would make? I will change it to rad then cpu when i move my rad to the top of my case
If you have a gpu before the cpu, I would say it would net a pretty big difference, I can't tell you exactly though. Probably 5c+. If it's just the pump before the cpu I wouldn't expect a large difference.


Chimp Challenge Participant 

Taylorsci is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10294 of 13773 Old 10-09-2011, 09:41 AM
333mhz
 
Skyboss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdon View Post
temp doesnt normalize throughout the loop...

think about a radiator: will water going in have the same temp as water going out? If yes, it is the world's worst radiator.

If min/maxing like people here tend to do, the optimal setup would have the CPU block right after the radiator, so it can dissipate some of the heat from the pump.

IMHO, not a huge matter as the radiator can only dissipate so much heat anyway, just make your loop in a way that is functional and aesthetically appealing
That definitely makes sense kdon. I just have my cpu getting the cold water from rad first. I figured that would be the best solution to keep my meager i3 cool. Lol.

Chimp Challenge Participant 

Skyboss is offline  
post #10295 of 13773 Old 10-09-2011, 10:14 AM
Commodore 64
 
Taboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello guys, I'm new here. I just want to ask you guys if a rx120 rad would be enough to cool an OC'd i7 2600k, lets say 4 to 4.5GHz?

Taboo is offline  
post #10296 of 13773 Old 10-09-2011, 11:41 AM
WaterCooler
 
kdon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skyboss View Post
That definitely makes sense kdon. I just have my cpu getting the cold water from rad first. I figured that would be the best solution to keep my meager i3 cool. Lol.
Haha yeah there's a ton of factors that can affect your temps if you look for them and nitpick, that's why the best choice is to take the big heat-inducing factors and account for them by dissipating their heat imputs before the one that really matters (cpu).

It would be interesting to get some empirical data on pump before or after rad in rasa kits, where the pump is entirely cooled by the water it is immersed in, unlike other pumps that radiate heat into the air


4 Million+ Folding at Home points 

kdon is offline  
post #10297 of 13773 Old 10-09-2011, 11:43 AM
WaterCooler
 
kdon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taboo View Post
Hello guys, I'm new here. I just want to ask you guys if a rx120 rad would be enough to cool an OC'd i7 2600k, lets say 4 to 4.5GHz?
People have done 4.5 on the stock intel cooler so you'll be fine though I would get a larger rad and use the packed external rad mounts to mount it on the back! Good luck


4 Million+ Folding at Home points 

kdon is offline  
post #10298 of 13773 Old 10-09-2011, 11:46 AM
 
boateye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: California
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

Woot! i got my kit the other day and i'm currently running a 24hr leak test. 12 hours in and so far, so good!


Here's a short video of Ruby (my sig rig) in action!


Sorry for lame music. This was the first song i thought of to try the sound detector with

Small problem:I'm trying to connect my HAF932's fillport to the reservoir. Since the reservoir's fillport is on the right, while my case's FP is on the left, i got 2 Danger Den fillports (DD FP) to connect the two with some tubing.

However, the DD FP doesn't fully go into the reservoir (last picture). The tip of it just barely fits into the reservoir's fillport hole.

Is there another fillport i could use/a way to make the DD FP fit down to where the plastic O-ring is?

Is there some tool that i can use to widen the reservoir's FP hole and thread it so that i can use the DD FP?

As you can see, I don't have much experience with tools outside of the basics like screwdrivers, pliers, wrenches and drills.

TL;DR: read the bold



boateye is offline  
post #10299 of 13773 Old 10-09-2011, 01:32 PM
PC Gamer
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 238
chinesethunda is offline  
post #10300 of 13773 Old 10-09-2011, 01:48 PM
4.0 GHz
 
The_ocho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by chinesethunda;15237076 
looks good. I don't have mine hooked up to the GPU, only the cpu, I will try putting the cpu after the rad to see how that affects it.

I run my res/pump, rad, cpu, gpu, res/pump. in a cpu only system it really doesn't matter the order tho because the water will even out over time


Chimp Challenge Participant 

The_ocho is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off