[Official] XSPC Rasa 750 RS/RX120/240/360 Kit Club - Page 813 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8121 of 13773 Old 06-18-2011, 11:18 AM
WaterCooler
 
Jobotoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sunny Southern California
Posts: 1,800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vodkacooling;13913281 
So what is the cheapest place to get this system? lol. I want it, but because I bought a H50 I dont want to spend more money frown.gif.

Is 130 the cheapest an RS240 can be found?

The first post in this thread has links to vendors. smile.gif
Jobotoo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8122 of 13773 Old 06-18-2011, 11:21 AM
WaterCooler
 
Jobotoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sunny Southern California
Posts: 1,800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randomocity;13918411 
Sigh. My temperatures got worse with MX-4. Tried the pea application, no dice. Gonna try a full spread application and hope for the best.

EDIT: Oh and I bought a tube of IC7D. 6 bucks? I'll take it.

Have you done the razor test? Checking to see how flat or concave your CPU and Waterblock are?
Jobotoo is offline  
post #8123 of 13773 Old 06-18-2011, 11:37 AM
333mhz
 
Randomocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jobotoo;13918471 
Have you done the razor test? Checking to see how flat or concave your CPU and Waterblock are?

I was really hoping i wouldnt have to do that, but it's looking more an more essential as the day goes on. My block has to be warped in one direction as cores 1&4 stay about 5-10C cooler than 2&3. Anyone know the die layout for the 2600k?
Randomocity is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8124 of 13773 Old 06-18-2011, 11:58 AM
WaterCooler
 
Jobotoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sunny Southern California
Posts: 1,800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Just in-case this helps out with TIM:

http://www.overclock.net/other-cooling-discussions/1026231-tim-consultants-appreciation-thread.html

I might try some of that Quantum and see for myself if it really is that much better.
Jobotoo is offline  
post #8125 of 13773 Old 06-18-2011, 12:00 PM
WaterCooler
 
Jobotoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sunny Southern California
Posts: 1,800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randomocity;13918608 
I was really hoping i wouldnt have to do that, but it's looking more an more essential as the day goes on. My block has to be warped in one direction as cores 1&4 stay about 5-10C cooler than 2&3. Anyone know the die layout for the 2600k?

My cores seems to be further apart in temps, so you might be fine?

EDIT: I was completely WRONG, oops! My cores are about 2C apart, idle.
Jobotoo is offline  
post #8126 of 13773 Old 06-18-2011, 12:15 PM
Commodore 64
 
SLam001's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boyboyd;13916166 
I mean how would I physically connect them all together? Speed reporting isn't important to me.

you can try using something like this

http://www.frozencpu.com/products/12648/ele-785/3-Pin_Power_Distribution_PCB_4xWay_Block_MMT-PCB-4WAY.html?id=piToXxZh&mv_pc=145

SLam001 is offline  
post #8127 of 13773 Old 06-18-2011, 12:28 PM
333mhz
 
Randomocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Unbelievable what a difference a good application makes. Huge shoutout to BoyBoyd for the advice to try the diagonal line. I'm down 10C from the pea application, and my cpu hasn't broken 63C @ load with Prime95and hasn't broken 70C in IBT, down from 73C in Prime and 78C in IBT.

My Idle temps still suck though, I'm still 12C over ambient right now.
Randomocity is offline  
post #8128 of 13773 Old 06-18-2011, 12:29 PM
333mhz
 
Busyhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randomocity;13918608 
I was really hoping i wouldnt have to do that, but it's looking more an more essential as the day goes on. My block has to be warped in one direction as cores 1&4 stay about 5-10C cooler than 2&3. Anyone know the die layout for the 2600k?

I have the exact problem, but its a little worse off than yours. My first core is always 10-15c cooler than the rest of the cores, and it was dead even with my previous Corsair H50 cooler, so I have deduced that my block needs a good lapping. I have reseated it several times with no luck as well. Here is the die layout

I am going to lap my CPU next week or so. I hate lapping, it takes so long frown.gif

I was also thinking of just purchasing a new EK block as they are lapped and polished to +/- 0.0007 mm flatness.



0,1425,i=243264&sz=1,00.jpg

Busyhand is offline  
post #8129 of 13773 Old 06-18-2011, 12:47 PM
WaterCooler
 
Jobotoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sunny Southern California
Posts: 1,800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randomocity;13919017 
Unbelievable what a difference a good application makes. Huge shoutout to BoyBoyd for the advice to try the diagonal line. I'm down 10C from the pea application, and my cpu hasn't broken 63C @ load with Prime95and hasn't broken 70C in IBT, down from 73C in Prime and 78C in IBT.

My Idle temps still suck though, I'm still 12C over ambient right now.

I don't think 12 over ambient is that bad. I am usually 10 or so over.
Randomocity likes this.
Jobotoo is offline  
post #8130 of 13773 Old 06-18-2011, 01:45 PM
Console Gamer
 
fazio93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 912
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
i believe i read that water cooling becomes more effective under load temps. They won't really improve idle temps. I know my idle temps have always sucked with this chip, even with air. Once I went under water, load was drastically better, but idle didn't improve much. i started using PhenomMsrTweaker a couple months ago. At idle I'm at ~32C b/c it downclocks to 800mhz @ ~1v. biggrin.gif


CPU-Z

Lulz (Click to show)Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

Quote:
Originally Posted by enarr go_quote.gif
You sound like a fat kid having a tantrum because he couldn't have seconds.
Quote:
Originally Posted by hollowtek go_quote.gif
Damn today is just full of goodness for me. First, I shot a deer 6 times in the head with a recurve bow, then I saw a guy at the gym wearing shiny MC Hammer parachute pants, now this! God is just looking out for me today.
fazio93 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off