leak testing and bleeding - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 12-27-2010, 01:59 PM - Thread Starter
Intel Overclocker
 
jam3s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 5,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Hey guys,

I've sucessfully set up my RX360 RASA Kit.

How long should I leak test for and how do I bleed the loop?

Do I simply leave the cap for the fillport open?

I've decided against using the feser uv dye and I used silver kill coil in my res/pump.

Thanks guys,

Jam3s

jam3s is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 Old 12-27-2010, 02:03 PM
Still Standing
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 37°782'Nx122°506'W
Posts: 19,910
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2560
Send a message via Skype™ to Syrillian
Hello. smile.gif

Some peeps leave the cap of the reservoir loose or off, but the loop can be bled with the cap of the reservoir on as it is a closed system. Regardless, you will have to top-off the loop periodically as the loop looses air.

Running the loop (alone) over night generally does the trick.

Fwiw, on several occasions I will go ahead and use the computer before it is fully bleed (tiny air bubbles adhering to the tubing wall) as the loop will sort itself out fairly quickly.
jam3s likes this.

Custom Case building, dream and build

Custom Cases: Obsidian Silence, Silentium, Halcyon, Anvil, Indigo
Case Mods: Liquid Chameleon, LC-Lan Box


"Semper Fidelis"
Syrillian is offline  
post #3 of 23 Old 12-27-2010, 02:10 PM - Thread Starter
Intel Overclocker
 
jam3s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 5,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Syrillian;11794785 
Hello. smile.gif

Some peeps leave the cap of the reservoir loose or off, but the loop can be bled with the cap of the reservoir on as it is a closed system. Regardless, you will have to top-off the loop periodically as the loop looses air.

Running the loop (alone) over night generally does the trick.

Fwiw, on several occasions I will go ahead and use the computer before it is fully bleed (tiny air bubbles adhering to the tubing wall) as the loop will sort itself out fairly quickly.

awesome thanks syr.

The loop will bleed it self out , and i should just top off the loop periodically correct?

also I used homemade distilled water lol is that going to be ok?

jam3s is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 23 Old 12-27-2010, 02:29 PM
Still Standing
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 37°782'Nx122°506'W
Posts: 19,910
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2560
Send a message via Skype™ to Syrillian
Yes, once the larger air pockets are purged the residual air bubbles will work their way through the loop and end up in the reservoir.

Most larger air pockets seem to build up in the plenum of the radiator (varies depending upon orientation and brand-design), and sometimes in the pins or surfaces of the blocks involved.

While the larger bubbles are being purged, topping off may need to be done more often. Once the loop is mostly bled the final top-off will be minimal. During the lifespan of the loop you will also need to top-off the liquid every once in awhile (I find that every other month I need to add a little liquid).

The efficacy of your homemade distilled water (insofar as purity) is dependent upon the distillation process you executed, and the cleanliness of the components you used... at the very least your loop will function up to par.

2cents.gif

Custom Case building, dream and build

Custom Cases: Obsidian Silence, Silentium, Halcyon, Anvil, Indigo
Case Mods: Liquid Chameleon, LC-Lan Box


"Semper Fidelis"
Syrillian is offline  
post #5 of 23 Old 12-27-2010, 02:33 PM
Fold Among Us
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 7,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 425
I leak tested mine for all of 2 minutes. Leaks appear pretty quickly if you have one. Usually just need to tighten down a barb or clamp and you're good to go. I've never really had to bleed my loop. I fill up my microres and bump the pump till the res gets low then refill my res and repeat till the loop and res are full.

skull.gifFolding Team: The Misfitsskull.gif
SIX TIME CONTINUOUS TEAM COMPETITION CHAMPIONS

VW_TDI_02 is offline  
post #6 of 23 Old 12-27-2010, 02:56 PM - Thread Starter
Intel Overclocker
 
jam3s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 5,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Thanks syrillian and vw_tdi

I'm gonna leave it testing all night and put her together in the morning

Jam3s

jam3s is offline  
post #7 of 23 Old 12-27-2010, 03:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bardstown,Kentucky
Posts: 17,939
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 960
I thk i leak tested for a few hrs but when i redone my loop i only tested it for a few mins and moving your case some and getting your pump to make the gurgle noise will help get air out. From what i been told once your pump wont make any gurgle noises most of the air is out of your loop.
Bal3Wolf is online now  
post #8 of 23 Old 12-27-2010, 07:32 PM
5.0 GHz Club
 
charliehorse55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 5,933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 778
You can leak test for as long as you want. Let it run for however long makes you feel safe. I skipped leak testing all together and just booted up my rig because I was confident that I didn't make any mistakes. I would suggest that you leak test around 1 hour or more, as this is your first time setting up a water cooling loop.

The reservoir fill cap should stay on, as it's unnecessary to have it off and it risks spills (especially when you shake and tip the case to bleed).

Your homemade distilled water is probably fine because you really don't need top quality distilled for your loop. The main idea is to reduce the amount of dissolved minerals to lessen algae growth and mineral deposits. Your home made distillery probably got a good portion of the minerals out, making it safe for use in your loop.
charliehorse55 is offline  
post #9 of 23 Old 12-27-2010, 07:59 PM - Thread Starter
Intel Overclocker
 
jam3s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 5,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Edit: second time water cooling. Thanks bal3 and Charlie

jam3s is offline  
post #10 of 23 Old 12-27-2010, 08:31 PM
1.3ghz
 
Snips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You know, one extremely quick way to bleed your system is to take a short piece of your tubing and cut it in half along it's length. Then push that tube into your reservoir and position it under your reservoir inlet.

Bubbles will bounce to the top of your res and exit. Almost all of the bubbles were gone within a minute of me turning on the pump XD. Credits to Dazmode for recommending this method of bleeding in one of his youtube vids
Bal3Wolf likes this.

Snips is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off