Windows 10 explorer.exe process using 45% CPU - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 31 Old 02-21-2016, 10:28 AM - Thread Starter
 
Dyson Poindexter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Looks good to me! I do have a network drive mounted, it's on my 1 Gbps LAN.


Why do we mount round fans on square radiators?
Dyson Poindexter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 31 Old 02-21-2016, 11:03 AM
WaterCooler
 
xioros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Send a message via Skype™ to xioros
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dyson Poindexter View Post

Looks good to me! I do have a network drive mounted, it's on my 1 Gbps LAN.


Try unmounting the network drive (for diagnostic purposes)
xioros is offline  
post #13 of 31 Old 02-21-2016, 11:17 AM - Thread Starter
 
Dyson Poindexter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Alright, I tried that. My server showed 2 opened files that made no sense, but I closed them and then dismounted the share, also rebooted. No change. As fast as I can open up task manager, explorer.exe is using between 44 and 47 percent CPU.

Why do we mount round fans on square radiators?
Dyson Poindexter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 31 Old 02-22-2016, 02:44 AM
Overclocker
 
Rob27shred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Hmm something doesn't seem right there IMO. Now I am running a 6700K so that may just be a quirk of a 2500K on Win10 but I highly doubt that. Here is a pic of my CPU usage with Chrome, Steam, Windows explorer, & task manager running.
Rob27shred is offline  
post #15 of 31 Old 02-22-2016, 02:58 AM
Programmer
 
ronnin426850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Europe
Posts: 9,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 574
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob27shred View Post

Hmm something doesn't seem right there IMO. Now I am running a 6700K so that may just be a quirk of a 2500K on Win10 but I highly doubt that. Here is a pic of my CPU usage with Chrome, Steam, Windows explorer, & task manager running.

Even if it is CPU related, it's not typical for 2500K, I haven't heard of other 2500K owners reporting the same issue.

Also, it's worth noting that ~50% utilization on 2500K means two threads on full workload, which is also not typical for a virus, most of them are single-threaded.
ronnin426850 is offline  
post #16 of 31 Old 02-22-2016, 10:36 AM - Thread Starter
 
Dyson Poindexter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 209
I can set the priority/affinity to run on only a single core and low priority, but it still uses ~30% CPU, and UI elements hang up until I change it all back.


I'm about to just go to Win7, 10 has been a mess so far.

Why do we mount round fans on square radiators?
Dyson Poindexter is offline  
post #17 of 31 Old 02-22-2016, 10:55 AM
Programmer
 
ronnin426850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Europe
Posts: 9,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 574
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dyson Poindexter View Post

I can set the priority/affinity to run on only a single core and low priority, but it still uses ~30% CPU, and UI elements hang up until I change it all back.


I'm about to just go to Win7, 10 has been a mess so far.

I'm sorry this has to be your experience with Win10, I had various other problems with it but now it's all fine. I don't know why that is happening, but perhaps it would be wise to revert back to 7 in your case.
ronnin426850 is offline  
post #18 of 31 Old 02-22-2016, 01:44 PM - Thread Starter
 
Dyson Poindexter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 209
I haven't been a big fan of it, but I tried to stick it out as long as I could. Windows 7 it is!

Why do we mount round fans on square radiators?
Dyson Poindexter is offline  
post #19 of 31 Old 02-27-2016, 10:59 AM - Thread Starter
 
Dyson Poindexter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Win7 has been reinstalled and I forgot how much I liked it! Thanks to everyone who helped out in this thread! thumb.gif

Why do we mount round fans on square radiators?
Dyson Poindexter is offline  
post #20 of 31 Old 02-27-2016, 11:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
NeoReaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom - England
Posts: 2,501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 88
I have had the Explorer.exe bug multiple times since way back in early builds on various machines, the only way I ever managed to fix it was a fresh usb image and a reinstall unfortunately.

NeoReaper is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off