32-bit or 64-bit? - Overclock.net

View Poll Results: 32-bit or 64-bit Vista
32-bit 2 5.88%
64-bit 32 94.12%
Voters: 34. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 29 Old 03-06-2008, 12:54 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Ok... so I have finally found a way to get my paws on Vista installation media (seeing as I am stuck with only a key)...

M$ is willing to send me Business 32-bit on CD's (lol), or 64-bit on DVD...? What would the current Vista users recommend...

Have a lot of fun... laughingsmiley.gif
thenailedone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 29 Old 03-06-2008, 12:55 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Sydney , Australia
Posts: 2,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 132
64 bit all the way

U can upgrade to 4gb memory in the future.

Also its faster than 32 bit and performance in games is better !
Criswell likes this.
Benny99 is offline  
post #3 of 29 Old 03-06-2008, 12:55 PM
a.k.a. TutenStain
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 646
X64 all the way.

Please ignor my spelling and grammar!
FAQ:s


I reject your reality and substitute my own. -Adam Savage
i_ame_killer_2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 29 Old 03-06-2008, 12:55 PM
Hipstersaurus Rex
 
Marin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: I'm near Silver Lake
Posts: 17,153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1012
Vista x64 is the way to go over x86, it can support over 3 gb's of RAM and offers other gains.

Sinar F | Toyo 45CF (Rodenstock Grandagon-N 75mm f/4.5| Rodenstock Sironar-N 135mm f/5.6 | Nikkor-W 180mm f/5.6) | Profoto Acute2 1200w (2xD4)

OCN Team Fortress 2 Group
|How Marin got her new mouse!|Filco Majestouch Tenkeyless Tactile Click Otaku|Happy Hacking Professional 2
Marin is offline  
post #5 of 29 Old 03-06-2008, 12:56 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 153
i have vista 32bit, the only drawback i see is it doesnt use all my 4gb ram. when they work out nice and new drivers n stuff for vista 64, ill get it. until then, im keepin my vista 32bit.

System: Gateway FX P-6860 CPU: Core 2 Duo T5550 1.8GHZ Memory: 4GB DDR2 5300 667 MHZ
Graphics Card:
8800M GTS 512MB DDR3 Hard Drive: 320GB
OS:Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit SP1 Battery: 9 cell lithium ion Weight: 9.1lbs ouch
mnishimura00 is offline  
post #6 of 29 Old 03-06-2008, 12:56 PM
2.4ghz
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I vote 64bit... but not 64bit Vista....... 64bit XP
Meecrob is offline  
post #7 of 29 Old 03-06-2008, 12:57 PM
Your Good Times Are Just Beginning
 
SZayat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1816
Save yourself the x64 headache. Get Vista 32-Bit version.

SZayat is offline  
post #8 of 29 Old 03-06-2008, 12:57 PM
Sup'
 
Duckydude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 2,963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 434
Drivers used to be the big issue with x64, but thankfully it's not an issue anymore as long as your not using any components that are quite old. It's been working perfectly for me for the past six months since I've had x64 Vista, seems even more stable then the x86 version I was using for the six months before than.

Duckydude is offline  
post #9 of 29 Old 03-06-2008, 12:58 PM
4.0ghz
 
SANNIN3Xjima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 3,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 219
64bit.

javascript/ジャバスクリプト:profit calculator
SANNIN3Xjima is offline  
post #10 of 29 Old 03-06-2008, 01:00 PM
Freeze It
 
MADMAX22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: WA
Posts: 7,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 582
I dont have a single issue with 64bit vista. It works great.

Those that say there are headaches and drawbacks to 64bit vista did you try it a long time ago or do you have a specific issue.

E6400@3856E4300@4158E6600@4510,Opti148@3102,opti170@2918,UD3P&9550@4692
UD3P&84005304,UD3p&85005567

MADMAX22 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off