Benefits of XP-64? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 12-29-2005, 07:55 PM - Thread Starter
Internet Veteran
 
ShawnMcGrail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Just wondering, I'm on the verge of installing it, But before I do, Just wanted to know if there are any benefits to it?

IE; Better benchmarking, Better gaming, Drivers and such?

Or is it drawn down by bugs/glitches?

ShawnMcGrail is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 12-29-2005, 07:58 PM
4.0 GHz
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Canada, New Brunswick
Posts: 4,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 202
I would say there are too many bugs/gliches right now to even bother with it, i would stick with nowmal windows xp if i were you.

tylerand is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 12-29-2005, 08:04 PM
OJX
Mmm, transistors
 
OJX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 303
It's too buggy as of right now, you will have a hard time finding the right drivers for all your hardware and it's just not worth it as of now.

If you are looking for something a bit new in windows try the Media Center edition and get a TV tuner if you don't already have one, it's like TiVo except much less expensive.

There are benefits though like Farcry and HL2 now both have support for 64 bit CPUs. I'm not sure about if there are any visual improvements in Half Life 2 but there are in Farcry. And both games supposedly run faster.

OJX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 Old 12-30-2005, 01:12 PM
333mhz
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: @ Home
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
are there Splinter Cell Chaos Theory for XP64...?

can`t find it nowhere....

Soundblaster is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 12-30-2005, 01:32 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pacific City, Oregon
Posts: 824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Make sure you check *every* driver you need ...

And very few printers are supported. Very little consumer peripherals (usb cameras, etc.) work yet either.

The lack of scanner, etc. drivers drove me back to Win32.

I'm too old to be governed by fear of dumb people.
satansmurf is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 12-30-2005, 02:00 PM - Thread Starter
Internet Veteran
 
ShawnMcGrail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Oh god, So many problems...

As soon as I ran 3dmark01/03/05/Aquamark, The computer would just reboot, Even on stock, lol.

Moved back to XP Professional, All is fine now after a VERY long night.

ShawnMcGrail is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 12-30-2005, 02:46 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pacific City, Oregon
Posts: 824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 124
You can beat 3dMark05 into working.

Aquamark I never figured out how to get it to work - must be a core issue.

But yeah, expect lots of headaches

I'm too old to be governed by fear of dumb people.
satansmurf is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off