Virus causing high CPU usage. - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 04-13-2010, 04:37 AM - Thread Starter
*cough* Stock *cough*
 
Toonshorty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Posts: 2,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 86
I think I've picked up a virus from somewhere

My computer felt like a Celeron this morning so I checked task manager and guess what I found:

Crazy CPU usage, it jumps between 40-90%. The usage is jumping around 70-90% on Core 1 and it's all over the place (20 - 100%) on Core 2.

Malware bytes just finished a quick scan and got the following:

Trojan.Agent Folder C:\\Windows\\System32\\SYSTEM32
Trojan.Agent Folder C:\\Windows\\System32\\SYSTEM32\\DRIVERS
Trojan.Agent Folder C:\\Windows\\System32\\SYSTEM32\\DRIVERS\\._rtl818 7.sys
Trojan.Agent Folder C:\\Windows\\System32\\SYSTEM32\\DRIVERS\
tl8187.sys
Trojan.Agent Folder C:\\Windows\\System32\\SYSTEM32\\DRIVERS\\RtlProt. sys
Hijack.DisplayProperties Registry Data HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\SOFTWARE\\Microsoft\\Windows\\Curre ntVersion\\Policies\\Explorer\\NoActiveDesktopChan ges


The CPU has just come down quite a bit after running the scan, despite it claiming no action was taken.

Anyone got any ideas?

...

Toonshorty is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 04-13-2010, 04:42 AM
1.3ghz
 
BrokenSpring_12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Manchester
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
download spybot search and destroy and run the scan.

what process is running high load?

BrokenSpring_12 is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 04-13-2010, 04:47 AM - Thread Starter
*cough* Stock *cough*
 
Toonshorty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Posts: 2,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 86
System Idle seems to be the biggest one there - of course that isn't important.

It's a process called System which has the description NT Kernel & System. This will suddenly sneak up with very high usage. The usage only creaps up if I scroll on a page, reload a page or do anything on my computer. It's fine when it's idle.

...

Toonshorty is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 20 Old 04-13-2010, 04:51 AM
1.3ghz
 
BrokenSpring_12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Manchester
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it's probably nothing but just to be on the safe side i would run the spybot scan. (make sure to update it before scanning)

BrokenSpring_12 is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 04-13-2010, 04:54 AM - Thread Starter
*cough* Stock *cough*
 
Toonshorty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Posts: 2,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 86
I'm certain it is something.

My computer was fine last night and now it's lagging almost as badly as IWNet.

My mouse delay is insane, my keyboard input lag will be instant one minute and then up to 3 seconds the next. Youtube videos seem to go normal speed then lag into slow motion.

It's a virus, I'm certain.

...

Toonshorty is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 04-13-2010, 04:57 AM
1.3ghz
 
BrokenSpring_12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Manchester
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you see any processes that should not be there in the list?

Also if you do a selective boot up with just windows components does the computer behave the same?

BrokenSpring_12 is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 04-13-2010, 05:04 AM
4.0ghz
 
maxextz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: at the gates of hell
Posts: 1,674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 79
get or run avast anti virus, my sister had norton and avg sitting on her pc and when i scanned it with avast it found some virus"s happily running in the background.

heart.gifASUS P5Q-Ewubsmiley.gif
Light Prevails



YOU ONLY NEED TWO TOOLS IN LIFE - WD-40 AND DUCT TAPE. IF IT DOESN'T MOVE AND SHOULD, USE THE WD-40. IF IT SHOULDN'T MOVE AND DOES, USE THE DUCT TAPE.
maxextz is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 04-13-2010, 06:02 AM
Droid Fanatic.
 
Mr.Pie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6,629
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 262
use malabytes anti-malware

i used it when I got infected with that stupid Windows 2010 Antivirus which was a virus that kept sending fake infected messages to buy software that doesn't exist

Mr.Pie is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 04-13-2010, 06:06 AM
Live Life Living
 
SmokinWaffle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kent, South East UK
Posts: 11,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 435
Send a message via Skype™ to SmokinWaffle
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toonshorty View Post
My computer was fine last night and now it's lagging almost as badly as IWNet.
Haha! Sigged!

Also, boot in safe mode and scan.

♪ ❤ ♫
SmokinWaffle is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 04-13-2010, 08:08 AM
PC Gamer
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: HockeyTown Michigan
Posts: 790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Send a message via AIM to pravius Send a message via Yahoo to pravius
Try to run Malware bytes as others have suggested. I work in the industry and this software has saved me more times than I can count.

http://malwarebytes.org

Want to backup your game-saves? Introducing...
GameSave Manager

Steam ID = Pravius
Xbox Live = Praviux

PS3 = Pravius

Quote:
Originally Posted by funky882 go_quote.gif
i can still turn the computer on, it just catches on fire when i do...
pravius is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off