wipe system - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 04-01-2006, 10:30 PM - Thread Starter
rsx
733mhz
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Send a message via AIM to rsx
i have a amd 4200 x2 processor with 1 gb of ram (not enough i no)
in the last week as soon as windows boots up im using 50 % of all avliable memory with no programs open at all just the desktop..i looked it up in the task manager and exsplorer and 3 other progams r usin most of it..ive tryed all i can 2 reduce this...being that it used 2 only use 25-30 percent/ is this reason enough 2 wipe the entire system and start new?

rsx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 04-01-2006, 10:35 PM
Semi-Retired OCer
 
PROBN4LYFE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 10,394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 603
Send a message via AIM to PROBN4LYFE Send a message via Yahoo to PROBN4LYFE
yup...I just wiped mine this morning...

PROBN4LYFE is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 04-01-2006, 10:39 PM
4.0ghz
 
metalkobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: tx
Posts: 4,794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 234
Send a message via AIM to metalkobra Send a message via Yahoo to metalkobra
i just whiped mine 2 minutes ago when i got off the toilet .

did you try scanning for virii and spyware?
metalkobra is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 Old 04-02-2006, 12:13 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Send a message via AIM to DanNEBTD Send a message via MSN to DanNEBTD Send a message via Yahoo to DanNEBTD Send a message via Skype™ to DanNEBTD
i do a reformat about bi monthly . . . well id like to. i just like to work on a clean slate and not have all the programs i try floating arround my registry. start new . . . a couple hours and its sooo much better. (make a slipstreamed CD and just let it run over night. . .)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GuardianOdin go_quote.gif
Overkill doesn't exist on OCN. It's what we do.
DanNEBTD is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 04-02-2006, 01:20 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pacific City, Oregon
Posts: 824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Or just use Ghost or ADS (imgdeploy) or whatever...
Can restore an image to a known good state.

I'm too old to be governed by fear of dumb people.
satansmurf is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 04-02-2006, 11:28 AM - Thread Starter
rsx
733mhz
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Send a message via AIM to rsx
thax 2 all/ i did a wipe it helpd a little..

rsx is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 04-03-2006, 04:36 AM
Forum Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: England,UK
Posts: 61,933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1329
Quote:
Originally Posted by satansmurf
Or just use Ghost or ADS (imgdeploy) or whatever...
Can restore an image to a known good state.
Yes Norton Goback is an exccelent program that takes a snapshot of your harddrive and you can restore your hdd to a previous time very easily.

Welcome to Overclock
grouphug.gif Fold for the Cause, Fold for the People grouphug.gif
 
 
 
ENTERPRISE is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off