How to chat with other computers within my local network on Win 7 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 03-13-2011, 11:11 PM - Thread Starter
1.7ghz
 
YanYan001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario, CA.
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hi I would like to know if there is a way for me to chat with other computers in my local network without using AIM, or Yahoo messenger, but using a chat program built in the windows 7 OS.

"I have proven that
1017030936107506 people on the internet
are too lazy to read that number".
YanYan001 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 03-13-2011, 11:13 PM
3.5ghz
 
gdawg33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: in your computer
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
There are tutorials using CMD. I don't have time now but if this is still not answered by tomorrow I will help.

Hidden Text Below! (Click to show)Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by hitoriko go_quote.gif
i dont need a cpu i just have ex-foxconn workers yelling out 010101000010100000 at incredible speeds....
Quote:
Originally Posted by papcrap go_quote.gif
The whole mobile market is like a cheap hooker seems ok on the outside but on the inside not what she said it would be.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaredvcxz go_quote.gif
Circles are gay because they're not straight.
Quote:
Originally Posted by enmariack go_quote.gif
Magnets and boobs: Two things that are never close to the computers of the majority of people on OCN. wink.gif
Quote:
Originally...go_quote.gif


lachen.gif
gdawg33 is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 03-13-2011, 11:21 PM - Thread Starter
1.7ghz
 
YanYan001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario, CA.
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdawg33;12723306 
There are tutorials using CMD. I don't have time now but if this is still not answered by tomorrow I will help.

Do i chat through command prompt or do i just enable a program through cmd?

"I have proven that
1017030936107506 people on the internet
are too lazy to read that number".
YanYan001 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 18 Old 03-13-2011, 11:22 PM - Thread Starter
1.7ghz
 
YanYan001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario, CA.
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I'll try to google windows 7 cmd chat and i'll see if I can get it to work.

"I have proven that
1017030936107506 people on the internet
are too lazy to read that number".
YanYan001 is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 03-13-2011, 11:28 PM
3.5ghz
 
Razinhail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: In my computer chair!
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 64
http://www.winsentmessenger.com/

This is a program all to itself that sits in the taskbar. This is what I used to use. You have to type in the computer name, but it works pretty well in small networks like home or small office. It would probably work just as well in a large corporate environment, but remembering all those computer names could get crazy.

EDIT They took NETSEND out in Windows 7 (at least I haven't gotten it to work that's why I started using winsent). If you find a way to chat with Windows 7 using the cmd line command NETSEND (like you can on XP machines) then I'd like to see a link if it's not too much trouble. thumb.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoCables go_quote.gif
...I might take off my shirt and pants to avoid extra static build-up. ...
the discharge is usually not even felt; only the larger amounts are felt. Fortunately, it doesn't have to be felt for it to be effective.
... smile.gif
Taken only SLIGHTLY out of contextlachen.gif
Razinhail is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 03-13-2011, 11:31 PM - Thread Starter
1.7ghz
 
YanYan001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario, CA.
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razinhail;12723428 
http://www.winsentmessenger.com/

This is a program all to itself that sits in the taskbar. This is what I used to use. You have to type in the computer name, but it works pretty well in small networks like home or small office. It would probably work just as well in a large corporate environment, but remembering all those computer names could get crazy.

Ah thanks I'll give it a try.

"I have proven that
1017030936107506 people on the internet
are too lazy to read that number".
YanYan001 is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 03-13-2011, 11:50 PM - Thread Starter
1.7ghz
 
YanYan001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario, CA.
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razinhail;12723428 
http://www.winsentmessenger.com/

This is a program all to itself that sits in the taskbar. This is what I used to use. You have to type in the computer name, but it works pretty well in small networks like home or small office. It would probably work just as well in a large corporate environment, but remembering all those computer names could get crazy.

EDIT They took NETSEND out in Windows 7 (at least I haven't gotten it to work that's why I started using winsent). If you find a way to chat with Windows 7 using the cmd line command NETSEND (like you can on XP machines) then I'd like to see a link if it's not too much trouble. thumb.gif

Sure no problem, I am testing this right now. They said net send was changed to msg in vista and 7, but I'll test it out.

Edit: there is also this using Task manager, but cant see other users under Win Task Manager/Users.

Edit: They also said that there is no net send in win7, but they replaced it with MSG
I was able to message myself by inputing this in command prompt C:\>msg username Boooyah! your computer will explode in 60 seconds!

it basically searches the username that is logged on a computer connected in local network.

I'll come back tomorrow and test it with the other win7 computer in my local network, but for now i must sleep.

"I have proven that
1017030936107506 people on the internet
are too lazy to read that number".
YanYan001 is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 03-14-2011, 11:25 AM - Thread Starter
1.7ghz
 
YanYan001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario, CA.
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Still no go using the command prompt and I haven't installed the winsent program. I would prefer it if I can do it without installing a third party software.

btw I didn't set up a homegroup, I just setup the network so everyone is able to share files if that will help. Still waiting for other suggestions/solutions.

"I have proven that
1017030936107506 people on the internet
are too lazy to read that number".
YanYan001 is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 03-14-2011, 11:01 PM
3.5ghz
 
Razinhail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: In my computer chair!
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by GianCCD;12728257 
Still no go using the command prompt and I haven't installed the winsent program. I would prefer it if I can do it without installing a third party software.

btw I didn't set up a homegroup, I just setup the network so everyone is able to share files if that will help. Still waiting for other suggestions/solutions.

I'd check and make sure they're all on the same homegroup. I'm pretty sure that they all would be already, but that might help with msg. Thanks for the link, I'll check it out tomarrow when my eyelids aren't so heavy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoCables go_quote.gif
...I might take off my shirt and pants to avoid extra static build-up. ...
the discharge is usually not even felt; only the larger amounts are felt. Fortunately, it doesn't have to be felt for it to be effective.
... smile.gif
Taken only SLIGHTLY out of contextlachen.gif
Razinhail is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 03-14-2011, 11:05 PM
4387 point(s) total
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 65,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4426
Send a message via MSN to DuckieHo
Use the command: NET SEND

It open a pop-up box on target computer. It's funny if you send a message like "CRITICAL ERROR: Restart your computer now!"

To answer most of your questions: (1) a fridge cannot cool a PC (2) 64-bit OS for over 3.4GB (3) If a PCIe card fits, it should work (4) Resolution, not screen size (5) Report, not respond to Spam (6) Single-Rail/Non-Modular PSUs are not always better than Multi-Rail/Modular (7) Sequential does not matter as much as random for OS drives (8) Requirements come before hardware for servers

DuckieHo is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off