cleaning XBOX - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 10-16-2006, 10:28 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Negotiator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Playing in the band GLAY
Posts: 1,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Ok, am gonna sell my xbox. Does the xbox have a hard reset or factory settings so that i can wipe all my details off the hard drive?

"I can't carry a conversation when I'm alone with Hisashi. That cool Hisashi becomes shy. Probably we become too conscious of each other because we're similar."

Negotiator is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 10-16-2006, 10:33 AM
 
frostbite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: West Lancashire
Posts: 4,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Open it and look for a cmos reset

Roads? Where We're Going, We Don't Need Roads!

Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

frostbite is online now  
post #3 of 5 Old 10-16-2006, 12:01 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
DiagnosisDirt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 128
You can use a reformat code. There specific to what model you have so you have to call 1-800-4MY-XBOX, and give them the serial number ,and they'll tell you.


Go Forth, to linux you must.
post-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gif



DiagnosisDirt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 10-16-2006, 12:04 PM
Moderator
 
gonX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Odense, Denmark
Posts: 28,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1156
Quote:
Originally Posted by DiagnosisDirt
You can use a reformat code. There specific to what model you have so you have to call 1-800-4MY-XBOX, and give them the serial number ,and they'll tell you.

He's in the UK

Chimp Challenge Participant 

gonX is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 10-18-2006, 12:21 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
There's no CMOS reset jumper on an xbox.

For many but not all xboxes, do this.

Reformat Hard Drive
**WARNING** Reformatting the hard drive will delete all of your saved games and soundtracks.

If you must reformat your X-Box's hard drive, go to Settings > System Info and press Y, Up (left stick), Down (left stick), X, A.

Otherwise just use the memory management to delete all the data piece by piece.

StepsAscend is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off