Overclock.net banner

Lian Li Case causing shorts/shutdowns?

541 views 6 replies 3 participants last post by  suitaroh 
#1 ·
I'm relatively new to building computers, and have been looking at case reviews. My favorite case so far is the Lian Li PC-X900. Everyone rates the Lian Li PC-900X very highly, but one review had this to say:

------------------------------------------------
I ran into a number of issues when building this machine, the biggest one was an electrical short caused by the stock screws and power supply mount. This was remedied by removing the removable power supply bracket that came with the case, this bracket was used to make the power supply mounting tool less.

The other culprit of the electrical short circuiting was the thumb screws that came included with the case to mount the motherboard to the standoffs. When you mount the motherboard with the thumbscrews it causes random losses of power which will cause system restarts every few minutes without any major blue screen errors leaving you scratching your head. The fix for this was to replace the stock screws with standard computer mounting screws.

http://www.techwarelabs.com/lian-li-...casechassis/2/

-------------------------------------------------

No one else mentioned this issue in their reviews, and I was hoping someone else could explain what he means. Is this a true cause for concern, or did this reviewer just make some errors while preparing the build? Would the type of power supply and motherboard be a factor? How could thumb screws cause a short? I've only built two computers, so I'm not very adept at this. It seems strange that a company as venerable as Lian Li would have TWO issues in their case design causing shorts and random power loss.

Is this reason enough to avoid this chassis? Or would nylon mounting screws do the trick?

Thanks!

See less See more
#2 ·