Overclock.net banner

Dual Monitor setup for Gaming and video editing

531 views 1 reply 2 participants last post by  billbartuska 
#1 ·
Hi Guys,

Newbie here.. Gotta couple questions. Main one being about monitors, so posting here.. Hope that's ok, instead of posting different threads... Ok, so I am more of an admin, and don't game nor do video editing, so I am not sure what to get here, as usually cheap monitors work just fine for me.

I am trying to price a custom rig for my brother. He wants to be able to game (CS, Overwatch, etc), and edit videos. From what I am seeing, it would be best to get an IPS (for video editing) and TN monitor (for gaming). So I want to know, should I get 1 of each? One thing I want to try have happen is the frames mind of match up (like how 2 same model screens would, I know chance of lining up perfect or slim to none) as it will be on a monitor mount. I want to keep monitor cost under $500 (preferably 400) for both. Is G-Sync really worth worrying about?

Also, for specs below, is it really worth getting the 1080 over the 1070? Should I spend the extra $50 on the MB..

The specs I have for the rig so far are.....

• Cooler Master Storm Stryker (White) ATX Full Tower Case
  • Intel Core i7-7700K 4.2GHz Quad-Core Processor
  • Asus MAXIMUS IX HERO ATX LGA1151 Motherboard OR Asus PRIME Z270-A ATX LGA1151 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance LED 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 Memory (32GB Total)
  • Corsair H115i 104.7 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler
  • Samsung 960 Evo 500GB M.2-2280 Solid State Drive
  • EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB FTW2 Gaming iCX Video Card OR EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 8GB FTW2 Gaming iCX Video Card
  • EVGA SuperNOVA G2 850W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply
  • Elgato Game Capture HD60 Pro, stream and record in 1080p60, superior low latency technology, H.264 hardware encoding, PCIe
  • VIVO Dual LCD Monitor Desk Mount Stand Heavy Duty Fully Adjustable fits 2 /Two Screens upto 27" (STAND-V002)
  • Win 10 Pro