Overclock.net banner

Watercooling risk, etc..?

2K views 30 replies 13 participants last post by  Soggysilicon 
#1 ·
I'm a complete noob when it comes to watercooling, I want to build myself a small cpu loop (rasa kit) as a base and I want to know the risks involved when doing a custom waterloop. Like, what are the chances of the pump failing, leakage, etc?

#2 ·
Well, assuming you use distilled, which you should, there shouldn't be any ions in the water, so, if it does leak, no parts can short, because the thing in water that can make electrical devices short is small particals, called, ions. This is why distilled water is great, because as far as I know it's de-inoised.

There are a few risks, things like during installation breaking certain components. If you do it well and take your time, and if all goes well on the equipment end, then you should be able to sleep well at night
smile.gif

#3 ·
Depends on how carefully you check your loop. The risk is - it leaking, going all over your expensive equipment, and then needing to buy all new components
smile.gif
But that is just my own personal experience b/c of a leaking cpu block
smile.gif

#4 ·
Pump failures, pretty uncommon and most the ones I have heard about you could see coming. (noise, heat, loop performance declines), to solve that most quality pumps provide a fan speed header 3pin connector which you can monitor pump rpm's with, many bios's allow for a setting that if that rpm = 0 the pc shuts down, otherwise third party software like CoreTemp may be used to shut down the pc if it gets beyond a user defined threshold.

Leaks, you want to use some teflon tape/plumbers tape on fittings to prevent gauling of the threads, different people feel different ways, but generally, 24hr testing using a psu with a jumper or dummy plug to run the loop before power is applied to the pc will reveal any poorly installed fittings/leaky blocks/rads (though a rad should be cleaned before use).

Those are the 2 big ones...

#6 ·