Posts by wingclip

LOL Yes! That's what it was I was thinking of! I couldn't remember the exact name. I appreciate you helping me out there. I'll give that search term a go. In the past, I've tried several of the higher rated TIMs and I found myself always going back to Arctic Silver.I use only a very little bit, which is meant to fill in the 'micro-gaps' of air pockets trapped between the two surfaces. As a machinist, I tend to prepare the water-block's mating surface by hand...
"I use liquid metal between the Die and IHS, I might not have spread it enough?" Would you explain what you mean when you said you use "liquid metal". I need to find out more about this if what you're referring to is the kind of "Liquid Metal" that I know of, (which is a material repair & adhesive). I must guess that you're referring to a new type of thermal paste and I haven't been reading much on the latest products. However, this liquid metal seems to be doing a great...
I don't know what the max is, (or what's considered extreme), but for my everyday use profile, (4.7Ghz), my VCCIN is no less than 1.888v and max's out at 1.904v. My LLC/Ring voltage is stock for this profile, (my default Ring multiplier is no more than 40, if I recall), and the voltage to that is 1.254v. CPU Core voltages is a maximum of 1.320, and the VID is 1.330v. I must point out that I may have used the Turbo Boost auto-OC option for that profile, which will usually...
That makes a lot of sense and explains a lot as well! I'm not the thread starter nor am I trying to achieve this state of idling that he is but your explanation helps me understand the C States in general. I personally disable the C State power management selections through my UEFI so I can maintain a more stable OC when clocking at speeds at and above 4.8Ghz. However, I have several 4.7Ghz profiles, (my preferred "typical, everyday-use" CPU speed), with a variety of...